Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

I can only presume you didn't see the incident or the video. He shoulder charged McCabe. Twice. Why are you arguing about an incident if you don't know what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭etuzyuk

I saw the incident. Verbals and barging. Never did I condone it. I called him a fool, a nut job. Said GAA need to clamp down on this BS and he should be banned!!

But it is not justification for what the players did and people on here making little of serious assault need a long word with themselves. I hope none of ye are involved in coaching with that attitude. Not much mention of the treatment of the ref either. But sure maybe the rules on the field are different and if you go on the field you are assuming a level of risk that goes beyond the rules of the game. Maybe Clarke should have stayed on the field and took his medicine like a man, instead of running off like a chicken ****. Man enough to take the field and all that.

Your story is changing now, it was purely verbals in your last post. It's now increased to verbals and "barging". You clearly have an agenda here if you're referring to being stood on as "serious assault"

More nonsense. From the start I said Tynan should be ashamed of himself, disgraceful behaviour, should be banned. But that doesn't excuse what the players did nor did he "deserve" it like some of ye on here are implying. Not surprised you're trying to shift the goal posts from that utter shite you've posted the last few posts. Walk away from the keyboard lad and have a word. Only person here with a clear agenda is you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

I'm not sure. I was at the Arva Vs Drumlane a few years ago, and there was a decent crowd on a Saturday night under floodlights, probably a bigger crowed than the following day for the intermediate final (weather does play a part). People will pick and chose depending on cost, time and weather & you probably will get a collectively bigger gate over the three fixtures than you would for a intermediate / junior double header and senior separate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭rrs

That would have been well attended. I think it was at 7 or 7.30. The game this Saturday is at 6 so won't be needing floodlights. Why not just play it on Sunday ? Sticking the Junior at 6 on Saturday is like they are just getting it out of the way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

There are minor games before the matches. The Div 2 minor final between Butlersbridge and Bailieboro is on Saturday evening now at 5. It was meant to be Sunday but Butlersbridge have a number of players who play both minor and senior so requested a change.

The Div 3 final between Blackwater & Drumgoon is now on Sunday at 2 before the intermediate game.

if you ask me it’s a low act by the county board to be charging €15 into these juvenile matches. Laragh & Killinkere parents at the weekend had to pay €15 into the Div 4 final to see their kids play because it was before the senior matches.

I also think this was the first year the county board charged into minor semi finals. €8 an adult.

You're the one whose story is changing. You went from calling it "purely verbals" earlier until it was pointed out that it wasn't. You have made accusation of punches being thrown (no evidence of that at all) and "serious assault" again no evidence of that.

I've changed no goalposts. I'm sure the pitch invader regrets his actions - hopefully he has no lasting injuries and enjoys the final. The players involved responded to aggression with aggression and should have no case to answer either from the GAA or elsewhere. Calling for the book to be thrown at either side is pearl clutching nonsense, these things happen when tempers flare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

Why do you hope none of us are coaches?

I know personally a man who as a ref suffered a serious assault when a supporter ran onto the pitch and assaulted him. If someone runs onto a pitch aggressively towards me as a player or coach and I would lay him out and wouldn't be waiting around to see what he does 1st. It's a bit of a joke how you get super animated about the gowna players yet clearly way less so about the man who started it. As someone said you clearly have an agenda on this. Over and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭mogue77

any body know what players played for Cavan v Kildare out in mullahoran Saturday?

Mickey Graham stepping down in Leitrim a few months after being appointed manager

https://t.co/4x3OHLlDBb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭quidel7

What’s the story there?

Reads like something personal, hopefully everything is OK with him and his family.

Lies lad. If you're going to use quotation marks learn to read please. Plus there were clearly punches thrown. More lies.

And he wasn't running towards anyone. He was assaulted from behind. You can be disgusted with his behaviour and still call out the players for their actions. Only ones with an agenda are you two, that's clear from your posting on the matter from the start.

Awful pity Pat Clarke didn't have a tough guy like yourself standing beside him at the end of the game. You could have dispensed some more justice old west style on issues so close to your heart.

You're getting very personal over this, which is further evidence that there's some agenda here on your part, I'll leave it there.

If only the thread was this busy every weekend discussing the actual matches. My own opinion is that the pick of the games at the weekend will be the minor game between Butlersbridge and Bailieboro. Bailieboro weren’t fancied to go this far but they are a well setup team who you’ll get nothing easy off. Get in early Saturday evening folks - and don’t forget to remain in your seats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭piplip87

Looking at the fixtures there, surely worth putting the ladies semi final between Crosserlough and Lurgan on before the senior final with the minor final kicking off earlier?

What ladies semi final? The ladies final between Crosserlough & Lurgan was already played so I’m confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭piplip87

I don’t think that’s feasible because it’s a League game and also the LGFA and GAA are still separate entities so you would have no way of separating the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭tazman06

You can't go honestly be asking for the ref to stay on the field and meet lads running on towards him? Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭ipitydafool

Looks like they have moved this game to the following Saturday the 19th as a standalone fixture, not massively surprised as even if not playing it on the same day as the Intermediate final this Sunday, given the 48 hour guidelines for lining out in underage matches and then a senior fixture then this wont have to be trampled on. Joe Dugdale has made a big impact for the seniors and one of the Bridge's best minor players so was always going to play in both.

No that would be crazy. It was a sarcastic response (lowest form of wit and all) to a quote from one of the posters "the rules on the field are different and if you go on the field you are assuming a level of risk that goes beyond the rules of the game".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭mogue77

anyone hear anything about the match v Kildare Saturday?

Michael Brady , Peter Devine, Mark Wilson and Sean Clarke free taker from Shercock were some of the players that featured.

As rrs says back of the Celt mentioned those four lads but did say "among the new faces" so there could be more. WAC to do a feature on it this week and more in the Celt next week.

I've not seen as many games this year of the championship, but Luke Molloy and Michael Brady were two players not on the panel that I thought would be worth a look. Midfield is still our problem area at county level, and barring this young fella lining out for the Gaels that kicked two monster points agains the Lough (was his name McKiernan???) I haven't seen anyone up for the task.

I thought county teams weren't allowed organise in this off season or is it just they are not allowed to train?

December 7th is when the County teams are back training. Maybe they are allowed a few get togethers to trial the new rules. They could be passed later in the year with little time to get up to speed ,with no pre season comps.

40 metre scoring arc and new scoring system

The introduction of a new 40 metre scoring arc around both sets of goalposts would facilitate a new scoring system. Points scored from on or outside the 40 metre arc would be worth two points with points scored from within the 40 metre arc worth one point. A goal would be worth four points. Converted 45s would continue to be worth one point.

The referee would raise both arms to signal to their umpire that a two-pointer has been scored and a coloured flag that would signal a two-pointer is also under consideration.

These potential rule enhancements would encourage teams to attempt more long-range points and try to engineer more goal-scoring opportunities

1v1 throw-in to start the game

At the start of both halves the referee would begin the game by throwing the ball in to just one player from each team. This would encourage the skill of high fielding and produce a contest for possession that would be exciting to watch for supporters.

Kick-outs

Kick-outs would be taken from the 20 metre line and must go beyond the 40-metre arc. Players can be positioned behind the 20 metre line when the goalkeeper kicks the ball out. If an opposition player interferes with the goalkeeper or intercepts the ball within the 40 metre arc then the ball would be brought forward 50 metres.

Requiring goalkeepers to kick the ball beyond the 40 metre arc would lead to more contests for possession. Allowing players to remain behind the 20 metre line would speed up the kick-out.

'Solo and Go'

A player who is fouled has the option of continuing play by taking a ‘solo and go’ rather than pausing play to take a free. It doesn’t have to be the player who is fouled that takes the ‘solo and go’. For example, if a player was grounded by a foul they could hand the ball to their nearest team-mate who could then take the ‘solo and go’. Still being teased out by the committee is when the player who takes a ‘solo and go’ can be tackled by the opposition. Options include allowing the player who takes the ‘solo and go’ to take four steps before being tackled, or to carry the ball a d

Advanced mark

You can claim an offensive mark if you field a ball inside the 20-metre line that has been kicked from outside the 45 metre line. But, rather than stop and claim the mark, players can instead continue to play and attempt to score from open play. The referee plays advantage and if none accrues then the ball is brought back for the mark. Rather than limit an advantage to five seconds, consideration is being given to allowing referees to give advantage for as long as there’s positive momentum.

This potential rule enhancement combined with a four-point goal should incentivise teams to kick long into forwards and would reward the skills of kick-passing and high fielding. It would also potentially lead to more goal-scoring chances.

Limits on passing to the goalkeeper

A player may only pass the ball to their goalkeeper if both they and the goalkeeper are inside the large rectangle or if the goalkeeper has advanced beyond their own 65 yard line. The goalkeeper can still move up the field to challenge the opposition kick-out or attempt to intercept a pass from the opposition. This potential rule enhancement would cut down on back-passing to goalkeepers, incentivise teams to push up on opposition defenders, and create more contests for possession.

3/3 Up/Back

This rule enhancement under consideration would oblige both teams to always have a minimum of three players inside each 65 yard line. So, if you’re the defending team, you must keep three outfield players inside the opposition ’65 and defend with a maximum of 11 players outside it. If a defending player retreats beyond the ’65 to give his team a numerical advantage then they would concede a free on their own 13 metre line to the opposition. If a player carries the ball past their own ’65 and leaves less than three team-mates behind them then a free is given to the opposition at the point where they crossed the line.

By having to keep three up and three back, space should be created for the attacking team. If the defending team turns the ball over they’d have an opportunity to kick in the counter-attack to which should lead to more end to end action.

Luke Allison is a cracking player as well and he plays for both.

Wonder how they will play out. Can't make the Railway Cup games unfortunately, would like to see how they play out. Some of them seem complicated and will be hard to manage, and hard to see how to manage them at club level. Going to be seriously confusing for players and refs, but what about us poor supporters? :)