If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Home heating automation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23 dodge challenger

looking for some advice on what system to install. Currently have EPH R27-RF running a grant vortex oil boiler and an unvented hot water cylinder.

The EPH programmer is on the way out and I was never a huge fan of it. Its the RF version so no wires through the house. I'd prefer Hive/Nest/Tado but the EPH cylinder thermostat seems to be the only temperature control on the tank (not sure, I have limited access). So I believe my options are limited since there doesn't seem to be many RF thermostats on the market. I know Hive/Nest/Tado can be used to heat the cylinder but I don't understand how they could prevent the tank from overheating? Or am I missing something obvious here?

All advice appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,179 ✭✭✭deezell

If the zone valves which controls the HW heating is located in the same cabinet as the HW cylinder, you can easily fit a cylinder attached mechanical thermostat wired to the zone valve to close it when a set temperature is reached in the cylinder. This stat can be an insert, slid into a water sealed copper tube which is manufactured into the cylinder, or else a surface contact thermostat, located about two thirds of the way down on the cylinder, usually by cutting away a neat stat shaped rectangle of the cylinder insulation.

If the zone valves are rooms or floors away from the cylinder, I would suggest leaving the EPH as your HW timer/thermostat, and just replace the CH control of your system with a wireless smart stat like Hive or Tado.

In systems with HW timing only, there are certain protections available to prevent overheating. One is to program as few timer events or segments so that HW heating is limited to these short bursts. The other is to have your boiler temperature control set to a value just above your HW safe temperature, say at 62-65°. The boiler will stop burning when its jacket temperature reaches the limits, but will continue to pump to the cylinder if a HW timed event is on. The heat will transfer to the cylinder domestic hot water, but won't exceed the boiler setting, and HW is unlikely to reach this temperature as the heat transfer slows as the temperature difference in the heat exchange coils lessens, lowering the rate of transfer.

One final option to enable the use of mechanical cylinder is to purchase a remote relay transmitter receiver set, something that EPH actually make. There's also the option of trying out Sonoff thermostat probe and wireless receiver switches. Setting of HW temperature is something you set and forget, so electronic remote control systems are bit of overkill when a €15 stat on the tank can call off the boiler when HW temperature is reached.

Post edited by deezell on

deezell that's brilliant mate thanks, a load of useful info there. The zone valves are downstairs beside the boiler (cylinder is upstairs) so maybe leaving the EPH programmer in place is the way to go, but how do smart CH stats work in that situation, would I need to wire the new system's receiver in to the EPH programmer?

Just remove the CH Switched Live from the EPH controller going to the CH zone valve, and replace with the new stat receiver's SL. You'll site this receiver near the valves. It's the valves' relays that fire the boiler.

brilliant, yeah I understand how it works now. Thank you so much!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,155 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Bit long winded but looking for advice.

Recently bought a house and the heating//HW is all on old mechanical timers which are not working for the timing but on/off work ( well they do now that we have replaced 4 motorised valves)

I want a smart heating/HW system and the plumber/electrician are recommending the EPH Ember system, it does seem ok, maybe a bit basic and will cost nearly 1k for the hardware.

One issue I have is that we don't currently have thermostats in the house, the rads have TRV valves, so a few questions!

Is EPH a good option

Will the TRV and stats fight against each other

Any suggestions for a good setup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Latro

If you are into home assistant you could go with Zigbee coordinator, 2 temp/hum sensors and 2 two-way switches and then create automation for the group. From here you could extend into immersion control etc, sky is the limit.

Total cost about 80 euro if you have HA already running.

I did have a look at that, but it's not that straightforward, or not that I've seen anyway. Ideally I want something that the whole family can use easily primarily a smart setup, but with options for standard controls too.

A few people have recommended Nest, but it seems very difficult to get someone to install it…

Drayton wiser all day. If he does Ember then the Wiser Kit3 has an identical physical setup, 3 Zone controller receiver for 2 CH and 1 HW zone, plus two wireless wall or table stand thermostats. The Wiser is on a different level of smart than the Ember, which is only their legacy zone controller with the stats wireless instead of wired, an app and the same limited number of on/off segments per day. Wiser can be extended to include radiator thermostats, a diy job if you already have mechanical thermostat knobs on the rads. Wiser app can also control power plug outlets, to control fans or say an electric heater. Kit3 is about €202 on Amazon, with a duty deposit which may be refunded. €260 odd in Screwfix here. Is the €1000 just for the Ember hardware? Phew.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Drayton-Wiser-Thermostat-Heating-Control/dp/B075GNJ7ZN

How many zones btw, you have 4 motorised valves.

4 zones in the house, well 3 heating and one HW

Yeah, EPH kit 14 or 16 is the one we need, 4 Zone controller, gateway, 4 stats (3 heating, 1 HW) it's nearly 900 from what I could find, but then needs a few more bits to connect, fused spur etc so was nearly hitting 1k

It looks like the Wiser stuff can only do 3 zones, at least what I can find so far anyway...

You need an extra Wiser Kit 1, a stat and single zone receiver, €127 from screwfix. Both kits from Screwfix will set you back €400, half the Ember cost. Better option too from Screwfix rather than Amazon for warranty etc.

Hive mini works our similarly, €177 for CH/HW kit, then €101 each for two more stats and receivers, total of €379. Hive active kit for 3 CH and HW a bit more, €494 for the active CH/HW and two extra Active stats and receivers.

Tado can only support one wireless thermostat in an App ' home' so two would have to be wired. The wireless CH/HW kit is a giveaway at €110, less than the €115 each for the two additional wired stats, total of €340 which if you can wire two of the CH zone valves back to the stats, is by far the best value, and probably the smartest featured system of them all.

Tado, Hive and Wiser all offer smart TRVs, and all can integrate with alexa/google/Home etc. Automation.

Thanks very much for the info!

Tado sounds good but we have no wired stats in the house so doesn't sound like a runner.

Wiser does seem like the next best, just curious how the two receivers would work together, I might pop them an email and see.

The stats are paired to the receivers (HUBr) using Zigbee low power wireless protocol which provide immediate control of the zone valves without WiFi or Internet. The HUBr are in turn connected to your App and the Internet by wifi to your router. Afaik more than one hubr can be accommodated in the app, you would need to open two accounts with different passwords to operate them separately.

With Hive it's more obvious at the physical layer, there's a seperate Internet hub device to bridge to the router, and you only need one, so your first hive kit has three items, stat, receiver and hub. Subsequent stat add-ons have stat and receiver without a hub.

Tado also used a hub, they call it the Bridge, but it can only take one CH/HW receiver (extension kit), the other stats need to be wired. Tado started as a smart replacement for existing zoned systems that had mechanical wall stats and possibly a zoned timer controller such as EPH. You just popped the Tado wired stats in place of the old mechanicals, and turned the zone timer(s) to always on, as timing and thermostatic control resides in the wired Tado wall stat. Their new TadoX model may go some way to enabling multiple wireless CH zones but it's heavily focused on zoning by TRV's rather than zone valves.

This model can be used in your system, whereby you open two (or all three) zone valves with one stat receiver, and add smart TRVs within the original zones to break it up with some or all individual room TRV control. This can be more cost effective than getting in a plumber to add zone valves. As the saying goes, there's more than one way to skin a cat.

Just heard back from Drayton Wiser and in a nutshell they don't recommend more than one hub in a premises, so will have to think about the approach.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Hi all, I have a few automated bits around my house but I'm a bit clueless when it comes to heating. Can smart thermostats be used with air to water pumps? I have a Aquarea High Performance All in One Compact J (Model WH-UD07JE5). Thanks

In theory they will learn the response times of the heat source, the rate of change of the thermostat located room temperature after a call for heat, the rate of overshoot, (hysteresis) and the rate of cooling. This will assist the stat in responding to a falling temperature, or to a change in scheduled temperature. Tado also has a feature to manually advance the schedule time to compensate for heat up delay. With heat pumps often comes UFH, and the combination of these tends to be a very slow heating response time. For this reason, HP/UFH installations are better always on, with modest adjustment of room temperature. This implies a high level of insulation if you don't want to be robbed blind with high electricity bills. They definitely don't suit modestly insulated homes, where occupants tend to heat in bursts, but with fairly quick response from hot radiators. The slower release of lower temperature flow UFH causes cold occupiers to manually crank up HP thermostats, to little avail except to the Electricity utility.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Thanks. We moved into our new place over the summer and only turned the heating on last week to try it out. We don't have under floor heating. We have radiators. The radiators did take quite a while to heat up. The current thermostat display wasn't very intuitive when I was using it. Took a bit of figuring out. The tado sounds interesting with the heat up delay feature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭bren2001

I've a nest controlling my boiler. I setup home assistant on an old computer in my house yesterday and integrated nest and the Google text to speak SDK. Was looking at buying the TPLink smart TRV and bridge for the 6 rads in my house and using the home assistant to trigger the Nest on/off when all rooms are at/not at temperature. I have temperature sensors in the relevant rooms.

Would the above work or am I trying to do something silly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,701 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Thought I'd post this for interest's sake.

Ive an older non-condensing boiler, 2002 Vokera 28e. It has a temperature dial on the front but is effectively left running at 70C as it's heating the hot-tank in the early morning and the rads then later on in the day. In the past I have knocked it back from 70C to 45C when I've just been heating the house alone as the boiler doesn't have a good modulation ratio, so it cycles constantly when at 70C.

So this week I made a set-back controller. It's an external variable resistor which is in parallel with the variable resistor in the temperature control dial. The variable resistor is controlled through a relay on an ESP32, so it's not in-circuit when the relay is open (normal state), but divides the resistance (drops the temperature to a pre-set set-back temperature) when the relay is engaged. It's controlled by ESPHOME and I have it setup so that when we call for radiator heating in Home Assistant the relay closes for the duration of the heating session and then goes back to an open state. It effectively means that only the radiators get 45C while the hot-tank gets heated at 70C.

The little black box is a mini 5v/3W power-supply.

https://makershop.ie/Electronics/Power/HLK-PM01

20241002_160042.jpg 20241002_132343.jpg

Haha, ye Mad yoke ye. I find that the low water jacket temperature required for more efficient condensing is more or less achieved as the return temperature from all the rads keeps manners on it, then the Tado modulation does the rest. It only rises to the boiler cycling temperature when HW only is calling, and I find 65-68° is ideal for heat transfer to the cylinder, but definitely, if you're using UFH, or lots of TRVs where you may have only a couple or radiators open, then low flow temperature maximises condensing efficiency. Caveat though, one of the lads here turned his boiler down to about the 40s°, to see if a heat pump would heat his home with low flow temperature. He nearly froze to death.

Post edited by deezell on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,701 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Yes, 45C is low, but fine in these evenings. I can ramp up the temps easily by twiddling that variable resistor knob by a few degrees. 😁

Not at all, go for it. Sure look at @10-10-20's shenanigans below your post. Whatever works for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

After too many calls i have finally decided to give this a go myself ! Do i have to purchase WC1 box, some wires and the TR1/TR2 receiver to get going ? Also are there any steps in which i should do this…e.g get the TADO receiver done first and finally do the TR1/TR2 switch. Also assume i take live and neutral from the immersion wiring in this case ? Dont see anything else in the hotpress.

Tado single smart TRV is 40.98 sterling on Amazon prime deals right now…may help anyone looking for a setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭bren2001

TP-Link Kasa Smart TRV with H100 Hub available for £41.

Any benefit to the Tado single smart TRV over the Tp-Link one? Both work with the kasa bridge.

Not an expert but tado one is more for anyone who is on the ecosystem

I think there's confusion here between Tapo, an opportunistic brand name for TP-Link products, and Tado, the German heating control manufacturer. Tapo uses the Zwave protocol. Tado uses the 6LoWpan proprietary protocol, which runs on the same European Z wave frequency, 868 Mhz. I'm not aware of Tado TRV's communicating with Z wave hubs.