Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭older by the day

Well thankfully we have michael Collins and his rural TDs in the independent party to vote for.

Ye have no excuse, the bigger parties have clearly no respect for you. The biggest surplus in irish history and not one new scheme to help rural Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,452 ✭✭✭Grueller

Yet we hear that the shinners will finish us. FF/G have that job well started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Is there any reason the Apple billions wasn't earmarked for a big ticket item for the country, be it offshore wind at a scale never seen before or the like.

Something like Ardnacrusha was in its time, something tangible that at least the idea sounded "bigger" than normal day to day spending.

Look what Microsoft did buying 3 mile Island in the US it might not be right but its shows what can be done in terms of securing the future and not betting so much on the interconnector like we are currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭Suckler

At least they've stepped up and formed a party. Too many independents previously promising things they could never do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭older by the day

Very true, I would be hoping for a FF FG IND party government.

Probably ff and fg will stick together for the next while, they seem to pull away well. Usually before an election they would be already shuffling for position, and trying to deferentiate themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭leoch

They are all cretins as far as I'm concerned and no need for any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Tileman

and what’s your plan for ruling the country.
    everyone for themselves or a dictator.

The democracy we have is the foundation of society. Not perfect by any means but prefer it to Chinese or Russian rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭leoch

The civil service its them who do most of it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

9 million euro being allocated forpouches for mobile phones in secondary schools. Wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

While hotels charge e3.50 for 200cc bottles of mineral I have no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,272 ✭✭✭amacca

Yep...total and utter nonsense...its not that I don't agree with the idea that phones/tech/social media etc can be detrimental to students/educational outcomes (they can also sometimes be beneficial)

It's the idea that sticking them in pouches is going to solve any real problems and spending 9 million on it somehow isn't a misguided idea at best is amusing.

Shows you the calibre of loon making decisions at the top...I assume its a norma brainwave that must not be questioned…or else a civil service/dept brainfart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I heard on the radio that 9 million equates to €246 per student. They must be savage pouches. Whatever happened to telling students they aren't allowed them and confiscate them if found with one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

No phones allowed in our school for over a year now. Works well. No need for pouches

In a lot of places telling students what to do is becoming a thing of the past

It's the students telling you or their parents what to do

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,343 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Crazy money to essentially generate a headline and to appear to be doing something about “them phones”.

What politically well-connected company will get the €9m?

Will the material used for the pouch be recyclable? Or will it be more consumer plastic from China?

Every minister seems to spending money like a teenager at the ploughing.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

I think that person on the radio should have spent less time on their phone while in school. The CSO states the number of students in secondary school last year stood at 406,392, 9M/406,392=22.14. That's a grand total of €22.14 per student its hardly braking the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That would only mean 2.14 per student for the physical pouches and 20 quid per student on training the teachers on how to use them

It seems to be fashionable with ministers to be seen to have done something...anything

Regardless of what merit or value that something has...

A succession of ministers making a balls of things that seemingly weren't working half as badly then as they are after their influence...

Our political system rewards/incentivises the wrong things and thus leads to sub par outcomes imo and its frequently change for the sake of change....rather than change that benefits all "stakeholders"

I have no doubt the majority of public representatives work hard, in fact I think they probably work extremely hard.....but like a lot of jobs that doesn't mean they are being effective...they are probably too inundated with shite like so many other roles nowadays to actually do the job they should be doing or too busy ensuring they don't get shafted at election time to do the right thing etc…in fact I'd say in many cases doing the right thing probably leads to not being elected

they are probably too inundated with shite like so many other roles nowadays to actually do the job they should be doing or too busy ensuring they don't get shafted at election time to do the right thing etc…in fact I'd say in many cases doing the right thing probably leads to not being elected

This. The electorate have no appetite for the 'right thing' and only what they can instantly gain. We get the politicians we deserve because of our short sightedness.

This reminds me of all the 'We should start a revolution' types back in 2008/2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Edgardo.

Politicians in a true democracy are a representative of the people. They reflect the wishes of those who vote for them.

Too easy to scapegoat the politician.

As the saying goes. Nothing as queer as folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,376 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

On the flip side what is occurring today re wasted spending and most likely to favoured contractors would not have been tolerated in the 1980's.

The gap between those with power and accruing money and those without power and no money is growing.

Policy is being brought in by people with the power and money just to suit themselves. There's never been such a selfish attitude among the Irish population as of today imo and I feel it comes from the top down.

It was incredibly worse in the 80's. Everything being 'hardcopy' only meant the documentation wasn't as easily verifiable/transmittable. Unless a diligent journalist got wind of something, wanted to make a name for themselves and, crucially, had little to lose, a lot more was gotten away with/brushed under the carpet. 'Social media' was the pub or mass, anything said outside those largely got fed back to the same 'institutions' one way or another. The values we see today are more these days compared to the 80's but in comparison to what people earned, the 'nod & wink' stuff in the 80's was worse. We had the church force through the building of an airport in an isolated bog and *we all went with it (the royal we).

There's never been such a selfish attitude among the Irish population as of today imo and I feel it comes from the top down.

It's bottom up. The government & Public sector aren't faceless unknowns, they're the people you know and see every day. There's been several points in our recent history that should have triggered a greater wish for a 'reset' but people aren't interested as it would mean short-medium term losses for a long term gain. We're a 'new money' electorate still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭cjpm

Regarding the airport in the bog, as Christy Moore famously sang…..

🎵“Just as well she didn’t appear in the next field - it’s full of rocks” 🎵

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭roosterman71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Of all the things to criticise the church for the airport in the bog shouldn't be one of them.

It's a great asset to anyone living over west.

Ireland west needed an airport but their were far better locations. It's an extremely limited airport with little further potential. Quite simply it should never have been built in that manner, and never built there.

It was the way it was pushed through by the church for that exact location that was an example of 80's frivolous spending. But money was found for it despite the country being a lot poorer than today. And there was plenty of cronyism in the development & building of it.

Granted the church has a lot more to answer for but that's another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I would say at least they got it done and it covers a fair number of destinations especially in the UK. I'm not sure the demand is really there for something much bigger anyway. Additional destinations would be nice but would they be economically viable.

It was suggested airlines could fly there for Christmas with the passenger cap at Dublin airport - the objection was it's too far for most passengers who would be returning to Dublin/ the commuter belt. Anywhere west of the Shannon would have the same complaint

If it were left to the state we'd probably have billions spent on consultations and reviews, no site selected and no hope of seeing an airport in my lifetime and the airport was just about open before I was born.

It was left to the state to pay for, cronyism, back handers and all?? This is why we deserve a 300k bike shed.

The church bullied the state in to it, it's a bad location, badly planned and executed but we're willing to forget all that because we convince ourselves the state couldn't have done it better?