Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭GSF

if he’s going to use instagram he needs to be a bit more professional- could you at least buy him a selfie stick so that he doesn’t always look like a middle aged newly divorced dad struggling with life living away from home in a bedsit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Never too impressed with overtly positivism TBH, really tells you very little.

There is a guy that I have come across lately and he is endlessly positive no matter what is suggested, he's massively positive to the nth.

I came across him at an event, it was really strange. He was getting pictures with this the great and the good. Later posting them on twitter and I assume on other social media platforms.

He spends his time going around Dublin to events getting photos with well known people.

Nothing against the man at all, but his he lives in a world of cotton and candy. Which is fine, if that is his outlook.

Anyway, I had put forward a very strong question to a person giving a lecture at the event (Bob you can imagine what I was lecturing about!)

So this guy works in company that I happen to have contact with and I struck up a conversation with one of his work colleagues (all very random).

Anyway he said to his colleague about the event "it was all very well until someone starting giving out about Tubridy". You think Tubs lives rent free in our heads, however from what I can remember of the event Tubs' name was never mentioned once.

Certainly not by anyone causing the supposed kerfuffle.

Having followed the guy on social media, he says nothing negative about anything he goes to, even the supposed issue of everyone talking about Tubs! To me it is bizarre, and he just grins and bares it all!

Post edited by RoTelly on

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

I know of this guy who is overtly positive no matter what he does on Social Media, but in private he's actually quite negative, but he doesn't let on.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

You carry on like you have an inside track on this stuff, but you haven't a clue. The budget per ep is 1.45m, not 2m, which is standard enough for any high-end drama series. S481 bump also taken into consideration. If you don't know why production of a second season of a show like Obituary costs this much, you don't know the game. S2 of Obituary is backed by Hulu, and was picked up by Netflix, both of whom have deep pockets. We should be celebrating this as a home-grown success, instead of begrudging them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Ryan comes across as a friendly and agreeable guy, all smiles, handshakes and finger pointing, but he doesn't follow through on his promise, like paying back the money he owes. If he paid back the money it might put an end to all the negative publicity he's getting  and preserve his image..Maybe it's too late for that.

Obituary isn't that good a series, is my point. There is no real reason for it to be costing 2m per hour to produce, in a market the size of Ireland. I understand it is backed by all of these companies but that is not a reason to sink nearly 9m into it. And if it is backed by both why is the sound and vision fund even considering providing 4% of its total budget to it? When it could provide a lower end drama series a start.

No begrudgery at all. But sure if you agree with Dee Forbes you agree with her, what can I do.

CnaM under the sound and vision fund awarded 4% of the estimated budget to Obituary, a total of €350,000: -

• 350k/4 = 87.5K
    • 87.4K * 100 = 8.75m
    • 6eps * 45mins = 270mins
    • 8.75m / 270 mins = 32.4k
    • 32.4k * 60mins = 1.94m … per hour
    Post edited by RoTelly on

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,182 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭rightmove

Your saying he is a hypocrite.

And he is. I cant forget his bekind shite during covid whilst he was greasing his till with illicit coins.

Also he cant pay it back now as it would mean admitting he knew it was wrong in the first place and wanted to brass neck it aslong as he could.

That ship has sailed and his judgement with it. However we see another clown using all this evidence and knowing the whole story as the leader of this country and YES he STILL went on a bloody podcast for this snake oil salesman.

this country is some kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Expunge

The local presentation of RT Show on Q102 is still a bit of a mess.

Just put it on there around 11:50 on the website.

The last ad for Baldoyle Blinds (!) played, followed by a few seconds of silence, followed by a Sting Song faded up mid track.

The tracks playing/played information is all wrong also.

It's as if the local Wireless management are not too bothered about this thing succeeding on their flagship Irish station!

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Expunge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Wow, getting An Taoiseach, that is some coup for ‘The Bookshelf’! Looking forward to listening to that!

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,182 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The interview is like looking at a man interviewing his reflection in a mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭yagan

It's a rather silly move by Harris, Barter backhanders is still too recent in the public mind.

The best word I can think of for the public mood is febrile, and rekindling last years denouements risks rekindling lasts years outrage.

Nothing about his time as Minister for Health, Children's Hospital or the promise he made to people with Scoliosis, any hard questions put forward?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭yagan

I just find it weird that Harris would risk putting himself into the spotlight with a beneficiary of mismanagement and subterfuge of public finances.

It's like for him last year didn't happen and Tubs is still relevant as a media node.

Edit to add, why would anyone seeking election in Ireland willingly put themselves into the frame with a disgraced broadcaster who couldn't get a gig in Ireland?

So why did he talk about his childhood, his reasons for going into politics, Zelensky and protestors? Did he recommend a book about Zelensky? Has he an autobio out?

Of course this podcast won't ruin Harris' career it was a nice sit down to chat about not being An Taoiseach! while his choice of books had nothing to do with the leaders of the opposition!

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,937 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Convenient how one of his favourite books of all time is a book that makes SF look bad.

You'd nearly think there was an election on the horizon.

Very cynical move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The book is called Say Nothing by Patrick Radden Keefe, it is quite a good book, but I've no doubt that it was carefully selected by his media team for its "they haven't gone away you know" properties.

Tbh, I'm slightly surprised that he appeared on it. Okay, I think most people are largely indifferent to Tubridy and don't care about what he does now - but there's still a bit of a whiff of dodginess and financial mismanagement from the oul RTE ball of wax and while it might be viewed as an easy softball opportunity to get a carefully curated image of Simon - the real man - out there, but it will stink a bit in the eyes of some. But chances are it won't even register amidst the torrent of noise once the GE is called.

I think its largely forgotten about at this point TBH.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭jmcc

One gombeen interviewing another. Must be a General Election due.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,937 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

To be fair, one guy who ran off with a mountain of taxpayers money interviewing another who is overseeing a government which can't waste it fast enough in recent times.

Peas in a pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭jmcc

That George Orwell quote about FF and FG from Animal Farm might be apt here. :)

Regards…jmcc

disgraceful that the leader of this country went on a podcast for a clown that had to appear in front of a gov committee about his financial misdemeanors which disgraced rte (Ryan Tudridy Extra's). Its basically 2 fingers to the public of ireland.

And to pick a book called "say nothing" which comes from a seamus heaney poem about informing. "whatever you say , say nothing"

I wonder does the renault money come to mind when that quote comes up or are they both to stupid to see the irony. Probably not - probably laugh about it.!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭HBC08

The RTE scandal was the biggest story in the country last year (although some famously claimed it was a " nothing burger " haha!)

However most people are more concerned with having half competent people rather than SF running the government, so I don't think it did Simon any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭GSF

I don’t think the fate of some exiled former tv presenter is going to decide the result of the election.

Post edited by GSF on

the public do care. I resent having to pay for a corrupt rte and their BS presenters and woke shite. Its the law dont you know. Truth matters dont you know. Well actually you know but you choose to "say nathin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

What’s the “woke shite” your paying for, R?

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Do you think the public should just butt out of RTÉ affairs? Leave them to it?

______

Yesterday