Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

sports biographies are terrible. Pages of crap in the hope of finding a nugget of interest. I hate when a big rugby one is released as there’s Aunties rubbing their hands together thinking that’s Christmas sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ersatz

You can see from the actual video that when Sexton engages with Ioane (who is a complete tool if online rugby gossip is to be believed) Scott Barrett is literally shaking Sexton's hand as Brodie Retallick is waiting to do the same. Instead of focussing on those two who have come directly to him with respect no doubt, he drops Barrett's hand and goes for more nonsense with Ioane and has to be restrained by Conan as Ioane walks away laughing. F*cking grow up Johnny. There's two idiots in that encounter while elsewhere there is nothing but respect being shown on the field. Pathetic and embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭thePigeon_

Very easy for Barrett and Retallick to be model athletes, they just won the game. They’re not in anything close to the same headspace as the Irish players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Agreed. Both Ioane and Sexton were acting the bollocks in that situation. Ioane does appear to be quite arrogant with a lot say on the pitch but from what I've heard he's a popular team mate and good bloke off the field. Much like Sexton, POM, Itoje, Farrell or a number of other players.

Sexton just comes across as a bit of a hypocrite complaining about that incident. Does he mention what he said to ROG after that try in the Heineken Cup semi? Was it something along the lines of "hard luck mate, good game"?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He does talk about the latter in detail to be fair.

You're right though - in essence they both just look like twats. I do think there is a fundamental difference between what's said during the game and afterwards and it was completely needless from Ioane (unless he had some history with Sexton for some reason?). But then I found Gregan's "4 more years" sledge funny so I'm probably just a hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Winners need to be graceful. Losing hurts. Losing players are less in control of their emotions. Needle during the game is fine. After it, it stops.

If he does talk about the ROG then fair enough. Does he say what he said?

Agreed that verbals and sledging during a game are fine but after the final whistle, that should be it. I imagine Sexton had said a fair few things to AB players in recent years and Ioane took the opportunity to have a dig. It was petty and unnecessary, as was Sexton's reaction.

I actually appreciated Gregan's "4 more years" comment. Great sledge. And then the kiwi fans chanting it in RWC 2011 semi was a great comeback. I also liked POM's "you're a **** Richie McCaw". And I'd have no problem if Cane said something back at the end of the 2023 QF. As long as it was clever and not as crass and basic as Ioane's comments.

Post edited by Yeah_Right on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

In fairness, Gregans 4 more years comment was during the game.

As was POMs "you're just a **** McCaw"

As was Sextons shouting at ROG in '09

During the game I think these things get a pass. I'm not above sledging and I think it adds a dimension to the game. After all a rugby game is a thing of players tackling and hitting lumps out of each other.

Once the whistle goes you I think its left there.

Ioane let himself down here.

Sexton could have done better but I understand where he came from. This was it for him. This was his last chance. His last game. And here comes a fella with the world at his feet rubbing salt in the wound. I can't begrudge him having a weak moment in a time like that. I'm not convinced there's a person here who wouldn't do similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭conquestscarer

First thing you're taught is when the game is over to be respectful. Shows Ioane is an utter tosser IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,017 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Mod: Folks, can we tone down the “utter tosser”, “complete tool”, “prize prick” type comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,085 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Why, its exactly what he is?

Do you wish us to temper our opprobrium for him just to appease some abstract sensibilities?

What he said to Sexton was vile, unnecessary, unsporting, and an unbecoming stain on his team, family and nation.

Personally I hope he is selected in the starting XV for the Test at Lansdowne Road next month. I want to see what happens when Joe McCarthy and Andrew Porter, in particular, get a hold of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭roverjoyce

https://x.com/SENZ_Radio/status/1840995063540892111

This is the New Zealand side and they are correct.

Israel Dagg speaking the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭FtD v2

There’s no actual perspective or analysis in that at all - just their blinkered version of the same incident.

There is banter and sledging that goes on on the field, and then there’s an utterly classless comment like Ioane made, at a time when winning teams are usually graceful.

I’ll tell you something - we, as in Irish rugby, are a long way removed from the days when they literally didn’t even know any of our players’ names.

Mod: As per the charter:

"Calling players and/or Pundits and Commentators derogatory names is not tolerated on this rugby forum."

Post edited by Yeah_Right on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭thePigeon_

When the Autumn International v New Zealand was announced I have to say I was starting to think "we play these lads too often", "some of the essence is going out of it" yada yada yada..

6 weeks out, it's full Dennis Reynolds:
    I have contained my rage for as long as possible, but I shall unleash my fury upon you like the crashing of a thousand waves! Begone, vile men! Begone from me! I am untethered, and my rage knows no bounds!

Yeah it should be a cracking game (if the ABs can get their **** together). The QF the ABs were looking for revenge after the 2022 tour. This year Ireland is looking for revenge after the RWC. Got myself a ticket. It will the first match I've gone to in about 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭roverjoyce

Irish Rugby still has a long way to go

Daggs opinion

"You win in between World Cups" and "Yous Bottled it"

This is what the other countries think of Ireland until they do anything in a World Cup

Worth remembering this is how NZ were perceived prior to 2011 (albeit getting further than Ireland obviously).

We'll eventually break the QF glass ceiling and I think that'll go a long way to psychologically getting the monkey off our back. A bit like when we first beat NZ.

As funny as they think they are, the sport will eat itself alive if the major competitors continue with this narrative that only a handful of games that occur every 4 years actually matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭swiwi_

What goes around comes around. Everyone knows sexton was a mouth. If you’re gonna give out you’ve gotta take it too. Guy is probably the most unlikeable Irish player since I’ve followed Irish rugby. Outside of his Leinster fan base he has little support. Ask Scottish English Welsh kiwi even French supporters. Not excusing ioane, but it’s 100 % certain that sexton had previous. Guy should just enjoy his retirement but has yet another whinge. Insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,576 ✭✭✭✭phog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭OldRio

Well the more you and the English, French, Kiwi Scots and Welsh supporters write and moan about it the more books he sells. Great bit of publicity.

I’d imaging the guys moaning about Ioane are way more likely to buy the book than any of the English, French, Kiwi Scots and Welsh supporters moaning about Sexton tbh…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

people realise that Sexton has a book coming out, right? And these are extracts from said book? Like, he didn’t just randomly come out with this stuff.

My favourite bit is posters who haven’t been here in months rushing back to stick the boot in on Sexton over this pretty minor tiff then bemoaning his bitterness and inability to move on. Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭OldRio

Its called all publicity is good publicity. His publishers are playing the game. Some of us realise that. Others..... meh.

I think most people realise that releasing an excerpt like that is done to help promote the book. Does that mean it can't be discussed? Are we only allowed to discuss things that don't promote the book? What are the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

I don't get the need for so many ex players writing books. You'd assume they're all basically alike.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm fine with discussing it. You get plenty of people complaining that all player's books are completely anodyne, so its good to see some "controversial" statements about how he really felt, whether it reflects well on him or not. Ultimately it was a highly emotionally charged event, so people are bound to see it quite differently depending on how that emotion effected them.

On the ROG event - he said he apologised for it a lot over the years but now he's actually happy he did it as it was true to himself. I think that's a fairly good introspective view of himself.

https://www.thetimes.com/sport/rugby-union/article/johnny-sexton-autobiography-ronan-ogara-obsessed-ksdbhd0zx