Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

I believe he shot himself in the head, is that correct? I wonder did Harbison do an autopsy, he was probably sick of the area at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I am aware of this. Tomi Ungerer was also known for his statements on sexuality as well as his interest in BDSM practices. In 1985 he was known to have visited a "lady" named Domenica Niehoff who ran a brothel in Hamburg's red light district. She often played the role of a dominatrix.

It is not known if Tomi used her services this way, but there were certainly certain influences in a certain book of his in 1986.

https://www.diogenes.ch/leser/titel/tomi-ungerer/schutzengel-der-hoelle-9783257020168.html?srsltid=AfmBOopacXsiV-lcUw2ExPy3l5fwFit3mVRDekDWf6iNNP49frUzJlO5

Other than Sophie sitting down with him on the day before she died, she had not really met him aside from the odd greeting as she went past. She had been eager to meet with him, he was fairly renowned at the time. She was more friendly with his wife. He discusses the meeting in his statement. It is possible she would have discussed him with others close to her I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭PolicemanFox

I don't know how you can say a male DNA profile found on the body of the victim is irrelevant. That's some mental gymnastics.

By your logic, DNA on the scene is irrelevant unless it belonged to Ian Bailey. In fact I believe the Gardai have the same narrow minded approach. I bet if Ian Bailey's DNA is not found on the block, we will hear no more about this fancy M-VAC machine. I wonder if a FOI request would be possible.

I am embarrassed to even ask this question, but why would you assume interest in BDSM is evidence of murder? You might as well accuse Bill Hogan, because he was a cheesemaker - maybe she insulted his cheese? She had conversations with him too, I think she knew him better than Tomi too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think the general point is that it is not evidence of murder, but people have tried to link Bailey to the murder for less… and this shows there were many characters in the area who such dubious links could be drawn.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

One thing that still gets me is the rage with the block. There were other items to kill her. It's called overkill I think.

Ian Bailey I think he was too much of a dufus to do it

Helen male violent past Helen female would explain rage but prob not physically able lift breeze block

Ungier into weird sht

Two lads suicide seems like a no

Randy guard Gemma o Doherty had an inkling it was this

On that point why was case so screwed up to hide what or was it to not stop freight train wreakage of chasing Bailey for it.

I doubt the guards wud wreck so bad for any one other than a high up politician doctor or guard.

The mind blowing part in this case is unraveling the corruption from the incompetence..

What's "dubious" about BDSM?

EDIT,, Ok you're saying the link is dubious, fair enough. Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭tibruit

You need to take yourself out of current day forensic science and back to the forensic stone age that was 1996. Eugene Gilligan said in the Netflix doc that he required nearly a teaspoon of blood and hair samples. Now if you are Bailey, you know you are a suspect, you know you will almost certainly be asked for a sample, you know that refusing to give a sample will look suspicious.

Sophie didn`t grab her killer by the hair, she didn`t scratch him. There was no sexual assault, something that Bailey knew and wrote about before it was confirmed by Harbison. Bailey`s injuries were a scratch on his forehead and possibly scratches on his hands. Not enough to leave behind the quantity of blood required by Gilligan. Not even close.

Worst case scenario, if they did happen to find a trace of him in the vicinity, no doubt he would argue that of course he was in the vicinity, sure he was a regular visitor to his pal Alfie`s house. There are plenty of contributors to this thread who would happily accept that excuse and let him off the hook.

How did he know where the scratch came from in a so called frenzied attack?

Hair and blood could easily have been left behind on the body, under nails.

Bailey had some knowledge of forensics from court cases.

Does that mean he would be aware of such exact limitations of Garda tech in 1996? Nope.

But even a basic knowledge of forensics of the period you would be aware the tech was advancing all the time.

And we have seen samples were retested elsewhere with more advanced tech.

As for no evidence of sexual assault, that was reported by other media outlets too at the same time. Where is your proof Bailey was the one to release that info?

I am not aware of a DNA profile found on the body of the victim. Only one found on her shoe. If there was a profile found on her body specifically, then that would be relevant and I am interested to hear about it. If there wasn`t, then it is yourself who is bopping about in the gymnasium. Either way, I`m not.

The DNA on her shoe is by and large irrelevant unless you can conclusively show when it was deposited there. They are old and worn shoes and the sample could have been present for some considerable time before the murder. It could also have been deposited afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭bjsc

Thanks for your valuable judicial prowess @tibruit , if there was hundred of unknown samples of dna showing up you might have a point but go ahead and ignore the only forensic lead that showed up in the last 25 years of the case.

1. Find evidence,

2. prove that it got there through nefarious purposes,

3. only then should you investigate further

It is obviously a million times more efficient to cross-reference the dna against the people associated with the case, and ask them how it got there.

If you continue to pursue this ludicrous line of thinking I can only assume that you have no interest in finding true justice for Sophie, which includes by the way identify why this case is such a shitshow when it comes to those same investigative practices carried out by the Garda.

Well we can give Harbison a pass for that one so.

Thanks, though, I appreciate all your contributions

He told Jules that he got the scratch from a stick. It`s in her statement. She disowned that under oath in Bailey`s case against the state. Then she contradicted that by saying he did say that he got the scratch from a stick when she was interviewed by RTE in 2017.

I never said he was the first to release that there was no sexual assault. I said he knew before Harbison made it public. I`m pretty sure that article was published on the 26th, so if he got that information from another outlet it would have to have been an article published on the 24th. No papers on Christmas day.

What was the point of mentioning Baileys report of it ? Should we suspect the Irish Times journalist too by your declared standard of suspicion? Well?

This article is dated the 24th.

"No attempt had been made to conceal the body, according to gardai, and there did not appear to be any signs of sexual assault."

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/murder-investigation-as-body-of-french-woman-is-found-in-cork-1.118736

Bailey killed turkeys and cut down an xmas tree. He got nicks and scratches, some of which may have only become visible when healing, or if hair tidied away. You are trying to make a case out of whether what minor injury was caused by exactly what in the course of a hectic day… a stick or branch of the tree… or during the messy turkey killing.

You are reading way too much into thin gruel.

"3. only then should you investigate further."

Investigate by all means. But it is only of value if it belongs to someone who claims they never met Sophie and I`ve said this already.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It's strange how you readily seem to believe in Bailey's guilt despite a clear lack of convincing evidence against him, and yet you dismiss a potentially crucial piece of evidence just because!

The DNA may or may not be relevant. However, to dismiss it before we even know is pretty stupid especially when you have absolutely nothing else to go on.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

By all means, wow, well thanks for that I’ll go and tell the gardai who’ve sat on their arse for 12 years on this evidence, and instead have been spending their time trawling the archives for a videotape of a supposed red herring meeting on a island, or talked to some random nobodies in France.

"Should we suspect the Irish Times journalist too by your declared standard of suspicion? Well?"

Absolutely. But only if he had a history of violence and was out and about in the vicinity on the night of the murder.

"He got nicks and scratches, some of which may have only become visible when healing, or if hair tidied away."

Well the first problem he has with the forehead scratch is his lack of consistency. He clearly first told Jules that he got it from a stick. Then he changed that story to say he got it from the turkey. The second problem he has is that nobody saw the scratch on the day he claimed he got it. Nobody within the family unit, nobody in the pub that night. He turns up in Jules`s bedroom the morning after the murder and lo and behold, Jules notices the scratch for the first time and even asks him how he got it.

"You are reading too much into thin gruel."

The longer it stews the thicker it gets.

That makes no logical sense. Imagine you had a magic DNA wand and you could find out who that profile was, would you not race up to that person and ask "where were you on the night of the 22nd of December 1996"?

Instead you would ask that person "Did you know Sophie?" and if that person said yes, you would walk away? There are lots of people who openly knew Sophie. They are not all ruled out as suspects.

The male DNA profile found on the body is the only forensic evidence linking anyone else to the scene.

It does not match Ian Bailey (reddit link).

The investigators were actually quite careful with the body (and the shoes/clothes!). Nobody touched it before the 24th - even to check if she was still alive, which I still cannot fathom. The body was wrapped in plastic before it was moved. The undertakers wore gloves, John Harbison wore gloves. It's the rest of the crime scene they were stupidly careless with. You quoted that eejit Eugene Gilligan, I can't take him seriously. This is the guy who said that because Sophie didn't have curtains upstairs "She was a French woman, she was comfortable with nudity" - WHAT?? - surely you must have had a double-take when you heard him say that - what does that tell you about the mindset of the Gardai?? I am surprised Netflix didn't edit that out. He is also wrong about the "teaspoon of blood", yes even in 1996, the DNA tests performed by the lab in Northern Ireland in 1997 got lots of valid profiles from the bloodstains on small pieces of Ian Bailey's old clothes. The Gardai told Bailey they had found these during his interrogation and he still volunteered a blood sample. Yes, they didn't have touch DNA at that time, but they didn't need a teaspoon. Also the Gardai were aware advances in DNA were coming, that's why they held onto the exhibits, that's why you always hold onto exhibits. The fact that they disposed of the gate before properly identifying the blood on it is inexcusable. (It's a lie that it was proven to be Sophie's)

Whatever way you cut it, this DNA profile is strong evidence of Bailey's innocence. It can't be ignored and if the Gardai are serious about finding the killer, they need to attempt to repeat this sample, and try to find who it belongs to. If they take your view - that it's irrelevant - then forget the cold case review, it's still a corrupt & prejudiced investigation.

In the case that Bailey did it, since he is dead, how would you hold the police or anyone else to account, who literally dropped the ball on a murderer who walked up to them out of nowhere 4 hours after he did it, admitted he did it, and still lived free in the community for 25 years. Criminal negligence perhaps, coercing of witnesses, and destruction of potentially crucial evidence, what do you believe, should they be prosecuted for their f*ck up? Bailey can’t be prosecuted, but they could.

I notice that you are now saying "lack of convincing evidence" but previously you were saying "lack of evidence." Small steps and we`ll get you there.

I didn`t dismiss the DNA evidence completely. I said it was by and large irrelevant and I also set out a scenario where it might be relevant but that would be undermined by it being impossible to establish the time of it`s deposition.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Should I edit my post to keep you happy? 🙄

Nobody here is saying Bailey did not do it but only a fool would believe the "evidence" put forward by AGS is of any value in terms of proving his involvement despite whatever nonsense you try and raise about scratches or teaspoons of blood & hair (none of which belong to the drunk & messy person person you allege was involved).

As for any evidence being undermined, it's funny how you fail to see how the "evidence" AGS use to point to his guilt has been undermined by the DPPs office. Even your star witness (Gilligan) appears to have undermined his own evidence by not even putting it forward for trial!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Except the longer it stewed the thinner it got! All the evidence which looked so good in February 1997 all fell away to nothing. From the Garda point of view I can kind of see how they were 100% convinced when they arrested him. They had bloody clothes!

The phone-times from Eddie Cassidy showed Bailey didn't know anything he shouldn't have.

The statements showed it was known to be a murder at 1pm, they showed it was known she was French at 2pm.

Editors of the Sunday Tribune backed up his story about cyberpubs article.

The DNA tests on Bailey's bloody clothes came back negative.

The "Murder he wrote" allegation was comprehensively disproven. He didn't reveal anything in his writings that he shouldn't have known, not in the papers and not in his diaries.

Four witnesses said he had scratches on the 22nd, before the murder. The Christmas Swim video showed no visible scratches on Bailey. None of the journalists or Gardai who saw Bailey and spent a lot of time with him on the 23rd saw scratches.

Jules Thomas retracted. Marie Farrell retracted. Patrick Lowney retracted. The Bandon tapes dropped proved the Gardai playing games with the evidence and playing psychological games. Tapes proved they were bribing Martin Graham.

I am sure it must have been frustrating for the Gardai, but they have only themselves to blame. If they focused on proper investigation instead of silly psychological games to "break Jules Thomas", they might have had more success.

I think you are being unfair to tibruit here. She/he is not a fool for claiming that Bailey is guilty based on the evidence. That's a bit insulting, tbh.

Gilligan could surely have done a better job but he was a Garda, it's not his job to put evidence to a trial.

You say nobody is saying Bailey didn't do it. Not true. I am saying Bailey didn't do it. Like anyone I could be wrong, but that is what I am saying. I am saying he doesn't fit. We've tried to make him fit, but it doesn't work.

EDIT. I would go further and if someone has watched all the documentaries and read the books, read the papers, it is perfectly reasonably to believe Bailey is guilty! I would say most people would believe that. The problem is that they are all biased, they leave out important caveats.

"the DNA tests performed by the lab in Northern Ireland in 1997 got lots of valid profiles from the bloodstains on small pieces of Ian Bailey`s old clothes."

Good for them. Unfortunately they didn`t get the clothes he wore on the night of the murder because they went into the bonfire.

"The Gardaí told Bailey that they found these during his interrogation and he still volunteered a blood sample."

Of course he did because he knew that they would find nothing because the clothes he wore on the night of the murder had all been burned in the bonfire.

"Whatever way you cut it, this DNA profile is strong evidence of Bailey`s innocence."

Don`t be ridiculous. Unidentified DNA, deposited on an old shoe at an unknown time. Come back when you can conclusively show that DNA got on that shoe on the night Sophie was murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Bailey is no Graham Dwyer.

Well, that would be motivation for a violent narcissist to impose himself into the existence of his fantasy figure by virtue of a late night visit or stalking behaviour.

Remember, there was nothing logical or planned about this killing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,777 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Dwyer got life- Bailey didn’t even reach a trial