Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What whisk(e)y are we drinking? (Part 2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,278 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Actually have you a link to this can't find it on Amazon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,270 ✭✭✭con747

UK or NI delivery only on alcohol though. You need to change your delivery address to a UK/NI one for it to show.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bushmills-Single-Whiskey-Bourbon-Finished/dp/B0D1SKG7BV

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭FlicFlak

Picked this up last week and opened it at the weekend. Not a massive fan of the "original" Ardfallen, but this is completely different altogether! I assume its a heavy single grain blended whiskey, lots of creamy vanilla and butterscotch. Its really good, and even though its only 40% gives a very nice finish. Definitely getting another one just to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Any thoughts on here about Hyde whiskey?

At Taste of Kildare over the week-end, I tried a couple of small samples of the Single Grain cask strength & #4 President's single malt rum cask finish. Thought they were both OK, so picked up a bottle of each. They were €45 per bottle (not bad for cask strength). The guy said they were usually €60 retail (the #4 was actually only €51 when I checked online after).

Haven't opened the bottles yet, but will post when I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,748 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I really dislike their marketing and lack of transparency. I don't think I've tasted any of their products and I probably never will.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

Their site is pretty up-front that they are bonders, sourcing their whisky. That's better than some, I would have thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭FlicFlak

I have tried alot of their stuff, and anything they have have that isnt single malt from West Cork distillers is really good. Their peated malt is really nice, their new blend is actually very tasty, and the pot still is good. But any of the single malts all i can taste is rubber and burnt plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,748 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

It certainly was not that way in their early days.

I just looked there. They've certainly changed their marketing tune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭fmul9798

I see Redbreast PX is back and now a regular stock item. At least this hits the exorbitant pricing in some places in the South….

95 is too high IMO

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Doesn't it usually fetch over €130 or more at the auctions? Been a while since I tried to pick one up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Stuff often sells at auctions for above RRP. I picked up a couple of bottles of it in O'Briens, when it was going on auction sites for much higher. It'll clearly drop now that it's easily available again.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

Given Redbreast's recognition among the general public as a "nice whisky", I'd say the odds of being gifted a PX this Christmas is not bad.

I've gotten so many gifts of Redbreast 12, it has become one of those default picks for people, along with Green Spot.

Of the core range, the PX is probably the only one I'd be interested to try at the moment. The rest are all fine (although I still feel like the 15 lacks an identity), but just had them too many times at this point.

Ended up grabbing one more bottle of Paddys share before deal ended

Have had black barrel proof and tbh between the two I would sway towards the Paddy's share

Not amazing whiskey but solid whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 samwise94

The rugby lads in The Bridge have released a Two Stacks 10 yr old. Any thoughts?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,247 ✭✭✭SteM

I see the 8th edition of Dingle's Wheel Of The Year is out. I wonder how well they've sold. Most seem to be still available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 samwise94

Seems to be gradually less hype with each release. (I have the first 2-3 then stopped)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,712 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

On principle alone, I try to avoid anything even tenuously associated with Jamie Heaslip like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭2011abc

Feck it ! Finally found a SuperValu with Paddys Share to see it had gone back up from €25 to 46 at midnight .Still this €27 Tesco ( with Clubcard) BlackBush is going down nicely

Folks can anyone enlighten me about Bushmills Red ? It seems to be the VERY poor relation of the range .Ive had literally every Bushmills product under €60 apart from it …Original ( white ) Black , Caribbean Cask , American Cask ,Malt 10 ….Why does it seem to have so little appeal ? I just imagine it’s ‘weird’ for some reason .Maybe sickly like / for American scene ( apologies I’ve only ever had Jack Daniels and an ‘Irish ‘ whiskey made in USA -‘Five Points ‘ ? - NOT Irish American which is mighty stuff .But I’m so put off American I’m not in a hurry to explore it - and while I’m in the rant scotch is ‘riskier ‘than Irish too in my opinion .EG Teachers is a far bigger ‘let down ‘than Tullamore …

Anyway who drinks Red Bush and is it actually any good ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,373 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I tried Red Bush once when it was on offer... Black Bush much better. Wasnt weird as such ... unnecessary maybe.

Its nicer than basic Bushmills but didnt justify the price versus Black Bush.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭head82

Likewise, I'm hesitant about pulling the trigger on the Bushmills 10 year old single malt. I'd only be picking it up because it seems like a good deal. But is it really a good deal?

I know it's only €30 at the moment in the O'Briens whiskey sale but I'm wary of Bushmills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Bushmills 10 is lovely and for 30 quid is definitely worth it. Lovely juicy Apple bomb. It would probably be incredible at 46% bit it's definitely a cut above any normal whiskey you'd get for that price. E.g powers (which is class), Jameson stout etc

Ah yeah Bush single malt 10 is grand stuff but in a tough price point .Teelings is better for a ( sadly increasing ) bit more while there are some nice Irish single Malts like Tyrconnell and Busker etc that are as nice or nicer and a bit cheaper usually .At 30 it’s unbeatable though unless something else is also on special

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Was just thinking about the cask strength edition of John's Lane. Didn't Powers plan to do annual releases of it? Any whispers of a 2024 batch coming out?

I also thought we'd have had another Thomond Gate release by now. Think their first release made with Limerick-grown barley is due soon as well, but fairly sure those bottles were reserved for investors in the program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Isn't the cask strength John's Lane just a part of the core range now?

Seems to be. It looked at one stage like they were going to release it annually in the same style as MVR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Just opened a stashed bottle of John's Lane there. **** it's gorgeous. The cask strength is waaaaay more sherry but still wonderful. Bit at the same time, you can't beat the OG

In the hotly contested thirty something euro price range the €35 Busker ( Royal Oak Distillery , Carlow )Single Malt at 44% is a very solid performer even more so considering SuperValu have just pushed up Bush American and Caribbean Cask to €33.Nice honest , simple fruity , malty bite and American oaky notes .A very poor man’s Barry Crockett but nevertheless a clear step above most budget bottlings .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Finally settled on a wedding whiskey. The Celtic Whiskey Caoga-a-do cask. Wanted something that was a limited run, fine it’s done. Recommended by the Celtic Whiskey shop (staff are always fantastic in there).
    https://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/celtic-cask-caoga-a-do-52

On paper it sounds good, reputation is good. Curious if anyone knows who distilled this in 2007?