Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Absolutely no question cows are much better now than 90 s going in calf .0even herds that were feeding on couldn't get them in calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Just looking for a bit of info on rotational grazing and as ye guys seem to be the best in the business at it i said id ask here.

I keep sheep not cattle but planning on doing a good but of fencing over the winter months to introduce a rotation where they move more regularily and improve the grass.

Q: How long of a "rest period" do you give a paddock?

Q: As your leaving a paddock do you top & spread fert/slurry each time or only at certain times of year?.

Q: any reccomendation on best type of reels?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I'm no expert but rest period depends on time of year. Grass will be ready for grazing again after 20 days in the summer but it'll be maybe 60 days in spring.

If you have sheep, then you probably won't need to top it. But make sure the fencing is good or you won't be able to get them to graze it down properly. Re when to fertilise: same as grass growth and rest period - it depends on the time of year, soil pH, type of soil, clover versus no clover, and 10 other farm-specific aspects. Whatever you're doing at the moment is probably not far off the mark.

Some lads will swear by a particular brand of reel but unless you're dogging them or moving them every day, then most reels are grand. Are you planning on using a wall of 3-4 to set up electric fencing?

I would say get the fencing right first on boundary ditches. I say that as someone who didn't and now doesn't have any sheep! After that, I think the recommended paddock size is 25 ewes (and lambs) to the acre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Rest period will vary from time of the year. In the spring it could be 60 days and in peak growth it could be 15-21 days.

Beef farming here and keeping the costs down is key. Urea in the spring and and mid to late August. A bit in early mid May. I just tend to blank spread a large portion as it bulk bags I'm working with. Slurry is out out to couple with silage cuts and what would be left over when a tank is stirred up, focus on the proper indexed ground

Reels. This it what could keep you going. The question I would have beef farmers is how many reels do you have. Here it's 15. It's great for splitting paddocks and and back fencing. They get great use breaking up silage ground to temp paddocks. I have a good few different ones, about 3 geared pels but mainly the short 200m cheap black and orange ones get serious use. Had some geared ones from the coop and they didn't last. They need to take a bit of abuse from being thrown into and out of vehicles etc

This year threw the baby out of the bathwater with all of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

yah but they’re breeding a cow for indoors. Not a cow that has to walk and go back incalf while at peak milk. A lot of the cows across the world are in a year round calving system and they don’t have to stick to rigid calving season

I’ve relations that are breeding for milk and type for the last 40 years and our cows are every bit as good as there’s production wise and we never bred for type or litres. Both me and my father have never picked and looked at its conformation figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I was looking at the banding in relation to stocking rate, does it make more sense to up cow numbers and reduce volume through less meal fed, cull after scanning in September, dry cows up once they reach 4400 litres. Meal bill would be drastically reduced with higher milk solids counteracting lower litres. Feed bill here was pretty substantial last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

At least 85%management... about 10% external factors and 5% just because.. .

Now that's with using bulls with proper fertility figures and not a throw back to the great bull in every way except fertility. Straws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭visatorro

Might work with big numbers. I'm the only person I know that went back in numbers the last ten years. 20% less cows and the same milk goin out the gate. My average milk price is slightly lower. But less work and less crowding in the shed. I think I'm as far on anyway. There was no opportunity to increase land block and will be none either.

I dropped 20 percent myself last year, I'm well down on milk too tho unfortunately. Would solids increase much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,258 ✭✭✭straight

I had an awful load of shite cows around the place. Just running a bull across everything. He didn't mind whether he bulled a good one or a bad one! There's no AI straw high ebi bull going to improve shite cows. I would have been over stocked, not enough feedspace, poor grass, bad lane. Too long standing in **** parlour. Not there yet but I think there's 600kg ms in the herd here without doing massive litres. It's expensive get there. and whether iv the Interest in it anymore is another question.

Was it the conversion to robots is why u reduced? The banding is mad when u look at it, are they trying to reduce concentrate feeding the way they have set it up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Or do the opposite and try to maximize milk once you go above 6300l.all that being said the sweet spot is probably 6200 litres while minimising management.

Part of it. Something had to give. I took over the reigns. Would have been excommunicated if I rented the place out. Knew I couldn't handle workload so ran beef bulls for a couple of years. Got rid of everything. I didn't have to look too hard for yokes to cull. Tightened up calving to 2 blocks and bought better replacements where I seen value. Ish! Still don't like giving big money for stock. Dairy boys are greedy bastards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

We keep sheep along with dairy cows and store cattle,

The secret in getting regrowth is to keep the length of time the stock are on the paddock as short as possible ( ideally no longer than 48 hours ) after that you will be slowing down your regrowth,

sheep grass should be a little shorter than for cattle so I would be aiming at 17/18 days in peak growing and extending as growth declines or to build a wedge for the winter

It's something you won't master in a year, we were changing for 20 to 30 years but cows numbers were increasing and more land became available .

the only topping we do is for thistles , sheep take care of the grass and docks, we spot spray nettles

no preference for reels , geared is essential , we use 4 strands for sheep and lambs and 3 at other times , solar fencer which works well even in shortest daylight hours

fym going out here next week on very bare ground next week which will closed for ewes and lambs from about third week of january onwards, an odd year the cover might be a bit too heavy but they will skin it off especially if no dirty butt present ( secret have the ground bare b4 fym applied) it will be strip grazed and back fenced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

is the back fence a big help?. Just conscious of water but i could give them a mobile ibc i have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭cosatron

jesus ormond your a martyr for punishment. fair play to you

Do you use the sheep to clean up paddocks after milkers at any stage? Or they on an out block?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Had no choice but make a little pit because we’ll be out of maize in 3 weeks. Destined for grain but we’ll just do the first round of several fields to give the forage maize a chance to ripen. It’s at 26%DM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

1 cob versus 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

Well in fairness our 2 cobs are filling away OK. Where there is a third cob it is struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,983 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

walked thru mine yesterday …still good 3 weeks away …2 cobs per plant but think there on small size

bd04e77d-dbbe-43ea-ab24-e89a3670561b.jpeg

Yes seems to be running later this year. We had a few rows of a very early variety came in the seeder from the previous job. Was supposed to be ready by end of 20th September but even that will be later.

Would you ever consider a foliar feed. I think it would increase the yield big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/122624918#Comment_122624918

He is but he's obviously good at all aspects of management.

dawg doesn’t need to worry about yeild. He has couple K acres under him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah now. Even I never saw much in common at times with the person. But that's still a bit of a low blow. You get the impression from the person that they are still striving for excellence in their profession which happens to be farming. It keeps as does here the old grey matter ticking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Risk management is more of a concern in a more volatile climate

maybe it is but I’m only repeating what he has said here himself, if he spread on his crops what we spread here it would cost him a solid fortune for the acres involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

What part of France are you in Dawg? Down near Mt St Michel at the moment and drove around that area, it looks like some of the best Tillage land in the World. Worth checking out on Google Earth for anyone who's interested