Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French man accused of drugging his wife and inviting men to rape her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭aero2k

Oh boy. The OP references the chief suspect admitting that for every 10 men he invited to rape his wife, 3 didn't go through with it. So, for 72 rapists, there were 30 would-be rapists who got cold feet at the last minute.

I might be reading it wrong but the 20,000 videos refers to a much wider investigation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭rogber

That's a completely separate issue. In this case biology will define men and women, not what they "identify" as

@rogber

Lovely idea, but who vouches for the women who are vouching for the men?

And, in this case, it seems that the victim would have vouched for her husband until she was made aware of his crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭rogber

You're right of course and I'm exaggerating for effect but the basic point is valid. Just imagine what laws men would introduce against women if, say, women constantly poisoned men or stabbed them in their sleep or whatever. And I mean with deaths every day the way men kill hundreds or thousands of women every day. Men would reduce them to the status of mere slaves (as they've often done in history). But basically men regard the vast majority of violent male crime with a mere shrug of the shoulders, unless it's committed by immigrants.

Men ARE the problem and just saying "not all men" is not good enough a response.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

I can’t really begin to discuss the matter seriously with you when you are using such hyperbolic examples.

I’m sorry but there is no way that 100’s of thousands of women are killed daily by men on purpose let alone including accidental death.

I think to have this discussion and to be taken seriously there needs to be a certain level of responsibility in what is being claimed. To suggest women are being slaughtered in the hundreds of thousands per day is ludicrous and just not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Indeed. As would the partners of several of the others accused too, it seems. Yet heaven help any woman who dares suggest on here that maybe plenty of men who seem to be decent and normal actually aren't that decent at all, and that therefore women in general should perhaps learn to be a lot more sceptical of "normal-seeming men" - right?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Skeptical to what end?

Even if the victim had recognized several, many, or even all of these men, even been skeptical of them and kept them at arms length it was the husband, whom she trusted (regrettably), who drugged her then let them into the home. That's what's so shocking about this case, it required no trust by the victim be placed in the majority of the perpetrators, she didn't place herself in a position of trust with any of them the same way as might be the case if eg. we were discussing abuses by the priesthood through confessionals or 'private counseling' sessions in the back offices of the church etc. or even to trust a stranger to hold one's drink in a nightclub. I would encourage practice healthy skepticism in those examples of course, I just don't see how skepticism of men more broadly would have helped or prevented something here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

In a lot of the world, women dont need to be commiting heinous crimes for their freedom to be restricted. Look at the taliban, they just banned women from speaking in public at all. God forbid though that anyone acknowledge the fact that most male rapists often seem like normal guys, that's the worst kind of discrimination and misandry

I think it's a given that countries that are overtaken with the taliban, shariah law etc. are not part of any solution on discussion.

I don't think it's been disputed rapists in civilized society seek to blend in, even seek out positions of trust within the community.

Well, I'm sure the poster is using hyperbole for effect, but just on this: you may be overstating the detectives' role a tad. It was actually women who reported the upskirting to the security guard.

Now I have been the first on here to give credit where it's due to the police, but to be perfectly frank, one could equally say that I'm giving too much credit to the police just for doing their job, and that the fact that so many police forces would NOT have done as much is really not the same as saying "Oh it took a man to solve the crime for you". I think that's not a fair comment. Apart from anything else, do you know whether the security guard and the police officers were all male? I don't.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

I already did: for instance, do you still think the men were recruited from all over Europe as you claimed earlier?

And that will be why the New Zealand Cricket team are happily playing Afghanistan and posting lots about how much fun they're having with their Afghan friends.

That's NZ which is so progressive that - like the UN to be fair - they think that those Afghan women risking arrest simply if unrelated men hear the sound of their voices are only identifying as women and presumably have just not chosen to be men like them?

That's how much men in western countries too actually care about women - even men who pretend to. But not to the extent of sacrificing something important like sport.

Do you have a point here or is it just more personal abuse?

Sorry is this about rape or is this going to be a thinly veiled thread about the TERF agenda. I don't understand where you went to with this post.

It's not personal abuse to highlight your posts all thrust at a misandrist agenda of hating men, so much so that your posts even find it tortious to thank the security and law enforcement for their efforts in bringing this rape sex ring to justice, for fear those security and law enforcement might be men, and rub against the thesis that men are to be distrusted as perverts etc.

I didn't say "it took a man to solve the crime for you". That's a misinterpretation at best - at worst you're misrepresenting what I said. Apologies if I misread the thread, there's a lot of info to keep track of, but I was under the impression that a man made the decision to dig a bit deeper into this sick pervert's history. I only pointed it out as a rebuttal to rogber - in other words an example of a man doing something good, and well, not saying that a woman couldn't or wouldn't have done the same thing in the same circumstances.

Do you mean Lucy Letby? You realise it's becoming more and more probable that she has been the scapegoat for terrible failings in the hospital she was working in?

It seems very likely that there were no murders at all in that hospital.

Another point about this constant "It's misandry!" whinge is that even if it were, the consequences for men are just not on the same level as what women put up with - even from men who claim to live them.

As I forget now who said, When a woman says "I hate men" she just goes ahead and lives her life, avoiding men to the best of her abilities. When a man says "I hate women", it often means he will shout and abuse random women in the street, if not far far worse - hurt, rape or kill them.

And yet men seem to think the two "hates" are mirror equivalents. They're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatever.

Women who insist that it is more than a minute minority of men who are prepared to rape women if they think they can get away with it are part of the problem. There is a real problem with women who commit "minor" abuses against men, and a FAR bigger problem with millions of women, their friends and families, who ignore or dismiss that as minor, instead of seeing it for what it is, namely women who are actively abusing men and who will go farther and farther if they feel that other women are happy to ignore their behaviour or even secretly admire them for it.

The above is what you are doing, engaging in the sexist misandry driven behaviour that nobody approves of and using a victim as your shield

Women have agency and independence, you're describing them as all victims and reinforcing the view that women are inferior and cannot function in society without male support and protection

You manage to be sexist and derogatory to both sexes at the same time which is some achievement

I actually think you're projecting anger you carry from an ex partner or relative. It would be in your interest to think about this for your own self worth, mental stability and future

Well, you said "the detectives who unearthed this crime were men" - we don't know that, and they didn't exactly unearth it. It wasn't like they were going through cold case files or something.

First, we don't even know that the security guard was male. Probably, since most are, but that's all I know - and I've followed this pretty closely. And as I said, the security guard didn't actually detect the upskirting anyway, merely responded to women's complaints (I don't think that's been posted on here before so you may not have come across it, but I've seen it said explicitly elsewhere)

Second, you assume that the detective who pushed for further investigation was male. I don't know that, so I suppose neither do you, though I have read in today's testimony that the order of events was that when he was arrested for upskirting, a psychiatrist (who was male, TBF) was automatically brought in to speak to him, and it was this psychiatrist who was immediately convinced that Pelicot was doing a lot more than that. That's why it was taken further this time, contrary to the time 10 years before that when he was just fined and nothing more was done.

That, clearly is a mistake that our society needs to stop doing, dismissing or minimising "minor" sexual assaults like upskirting or flashing.

@RMCInfo L. Layet expert psychiatre explique avoir été mandaté dès la garde à vue de #Pelicot pour l’affaire de captation sous les jupes des clientes d’un supermarché il avait confié à l’officier de police judiciaire sa conviction que ce n’était pas une première #viols #Mazan @RMCInfo  

So, we have a psychiatrist who did his job well, and a procedure that had him called in automatically it seems. That's good too. I wonder what the procedure is in Ireland or the UK for someone caught upskirting women at the local Lidl?

I didn't assume anything. I mistakenly believed that to be the case. You yourself have made comments about misogynistic police forces, there'd have to be a fair few men there for that to be the case. At any rate it seems that if I was to assume that there were some men involved in the investigation, that that would be a reasonable assumption. rogber wants all men removed from society, I just attempted to suggest examples where maybe some men were making useful contributions.

That seems to have landed wrong - grand.

No worries, I realise my own post sounded a bit harsh, and I didn't mean it to be.

I just think the idea that "men saved women from this" is kind of a weak - actually deeply ironic - argument really. It's a bit like claiming, as I've seen elsewhere, that if men all disappeared, women would have nobody to protect them from danger … ehh - what danger?? 😏

But it wasn't meant as a personal attack on you.

Fair enough, but I never actually suggested anything like " men saved women from this" - in this case the woman wasn't saved as so much harm had been done by the time her husband was caught. I'd be more inclined to accept the suggestion of hyperbole on behalf of rogber if it wasn't for the number of similar posts elsewhere.

Hopefully I can clarify: some men do good things, some men do bad things, some men do a mixture of both. Removing men from society might cure some problems, at the cost of also removing all the good.

Likewise with women on the good and bad, though on the whole they are not as physically violent.

The Spiritan thing prompted a discussion with some fellow past pupils- one of the cruelest teachers was female ( and not a member of a religious order). I accept that your OP is not about that, but rogber appears to be saying all women good, most men bad, and only women get to judge. That's as sexist a position as the reverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭carveone

I wonder what the procedure is in Ireland or the UK for someone caught upskirting women at the local Lidl?

For most of the nauseating era that was the 2000s, the procedure was to publish in a magazine like Heat or some other grubby tabloid and get paid. It's only been criminal since 2019 in the UK. No idea about Ireland (do we have more cop on in this country anyway?). The behaviour was rampant in the UK and US, if anything ramping up after Diana died.

Tabloid journalists like Perez Hilton and paparazzi photographers of that era should all be in jail. When they weren't actively commiting criminal acts (Eg phone hacking) they were training an entire generation of young men that treating women like meat was the Done Thing. I know, I was there, I saw male employees behave in ways that would get you instantly P45ed now.

It set such a hostile environment for women that assuming every man could be a dangerous lunatic became a necessary life skill. After all, what were you going to do? Report him? Good luck with that.

That stuff about the Spiritans (aren't they the Holy Ghost Brothers?) is awful. I haven't been reading it because it's all just never ending. Although when you look at what's come out elsewhere in the last couple of decades, I've got to the point where I wonder if Ireland wasn't actually somewhat ahead in beginning to deal with abuse in schools? Maybe because it was so blatant, but all the same.

But no I would never say that all women are perfect, or anything like it.

I forgot to mention this the other day, when the accused were all briefly allowed to speak on the first day:

A 55 year old male nurse who claims to be unaware that having sex with an unconscious woman might involve issues around consent?

Does anyone else think there's a risk that somebody might need to consider the possibility that some of his patients may have been abused too?

oh I imagine suppose and hope all their lives are being examined under the microscope.

his attitude will probably wither to a jury but then again, Brock Turner got away with Affluenza, so it’s not unheard of... Hopefully the French courts don’t water down their sentencing simply based on their day jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Imagine my surprise last year when I saw Perez Hilton picking up his kids from the same school my child attended. He has daughters and I really hope he appreciates now just how bad he was, and how damaging his articles were to the young women who were his primary targets, and primary audience tbf. You're right, a lot of that stuff is no longer acceptable, thankfully, but it seems like there are so many new ways now to target women and girls instead

I didn't know who he was so I googled him just now. It seems he had his children via surrogates, so I'd be dubious that he sees them as much more than designer accessories.

Separately, I hadn't realised that you're in New York. (I'm assuming PH hasn't moved to Dublin or Galway!)

I'm not at all convinced that the 50 will all get long sentences. I suspect there are so many that it will be seen as enough to give Pélicot a longish sentence, and the others will vary but in practice I think many of them will probably escape a severe sentence. I posted up about a judge a few years back who got a suspended sentence for planning to have his 13 year old daughter drugged and raped.

So I fear that they will feel that if they make an example of Pelicot, that will be enough. Possibly also some of the worst of the others: the one who was HIV positive, and the one who used the method to drug his own wife, whom he and Pelicot then raped about 10 times. Maybe a few others.

In comparison, the bog-standard ones will probably get off lightly. I hope I'm being unduly pessimistic.

Maybe women will riot in the streets if they do? Or is that just my misandry again? 😏