Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your best and worst customer service experiences [rant & praise]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

As someone who had to change many details with Irish Companies in the past six months, I was able to do all via their websites or email without a hitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,571 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

BIG shout out to Electric Ireland for using none of that €380 million after tax and exceptional items profit to hire more staff to answer their phones. I don't doubt for a second it's deliberate. Mother, recently widowed, rang to get the bill changed over into her name. Smart meter installed but not on a smart plan. Half an hour wait to get through to 1 of 3 options (wasn't anything to do with the first 2 options, the 3rd is "all other queries"). The man took details and had to transfer her. Another half hour wait (at least without the annoying "we care" BS you hear while on hold), for the person on the other end of the phone to tell her she needs to give a meter reading (defeats the purpose of the smart meters, no?) before it can be done. She's 74 and not very mobile. But wouldn't do a single thing more until she got that.

So I tried, but we don't have the tool and the lad who put in the smart meter looks to have welded the thing shut, no matter what I try I can't open it. So I rings them to ask why we need to give one. 24 minutes on hold, through to a Dub who said the same, had to transfer me but when I asked if I'd be waiting another half hour he confidently said "oh no" and transferred me. 34 minutes later I get through to a foreign sounding gentleman, one I suspect of Indian descent but had to know with the few words he said when he asked for the account number. I gave it and asked if the last person didn't forward that to him, and he just hung up.

So, Electric Ireland, ye are a disgrace of a business. Just like the rest of them. Will 100% be moving as soon as possible from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,142 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Instead, they reinvest their massive profits into sponsorships for Sport etc. for Sportswashing essentially

They are a grimey company, there’s no two ways about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,227 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

In fairness they gave customers a €50 credit before Christmas. I wish my gas company had done that!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Agree re Electric Ireland, one of the worst when it comes to customer service, imo.

And I would say the exact opposite. I've found them to be perhaps the best of the utility companies to deal with,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Good

Worst: Virgin Media

Their broadband support was appalling before, but I'm in the process of trying to transfer my mobile account to them and the incompetence is just staggering.

Put in the new SIM and immediately get two texts.

The first is a link to set up internet APN settings - it opens a page listing various handsets, clicking on any of them just brings up an endlessly loading window. There's no link to just view the correct settings. Have to google separately to find the correct APN settings.

The second is to port my number. The link supplied is wrong, it just redirects to the main VM mobile sales page which mentions nothing about porting. Google again to find the correct URL for porting.

Fill in all my details, get a text a few minutes later saying there's a problem because I've chosen the wrong current provider (spoiler: I haven't). This text comes from a random 089 number and includes a shortened bit.ly link that could be going anywhere, which I'm obviously not going to click on. Check the link on PC to confirm it's legit, and try porting again making sure details are correct, get the same text again.

Ring 1908 as advised to try porting that way and start wading through automated menus. First, have to enter mobile number with prefix so type it in exactly as on the welcome letter (including the 353 prefix). Get a recording saying the number isn't recognised, I should talk to customer service ... by calling 1908 again, which requires a number before you can talk to anyone.

Try again omitting the 353 prefix and number is accepted. Then told that the current wait time is over 20 minutes.

Filling in the cooling off cancellation form now, figure that's a bullet dodged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭forumdedum

UPS. Wow. There are no words. It would take me so long to describe how bad they are at delivering 1 small package. They provide me with a phone number. I can only speak to a robot. The robot asks me to read out the tracking number but even though I'm speaking clearly it misinterprets some of the digits, even on repeat. So it tells me I've to wait minimum 20 minutes to speak to someone.

Also on same issue I emailed them over 10 times, not a single response.

Technology is not the solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Good

Worst: Revenue

Sent me a letter about a change in status which included a note to "notify this office immediately" with any queries.

First the phone number provided at the top of the letter is no longer in use.

Then the new number was answered with a solid three minutes of recordings about all the other ways I can contact Revenue for various things (bizarrely all in different voices)

Then finally got through to a hold queue of over 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,979 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Bought a usb stick from Amazon which was faulty. Went through the returns procedure last night and will be posting it back later today. Got an email this morning confirming a replacement has been dispatched and will arrive tomorrow. Can't beat that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Vodafone. I was leaving them for broadband having been out of contract since 2015 !!!!!. They sent me a "we are so sorry to hear you intend to leave us" message and proceeded to tell me why I should stay, will do you a great deal on fibre etc etc. Could you please contact us on the following number.........so rang the supplied number and yes you guessed it......."this number is no longer in service".

Says it all really, a pathetic company.

I had their home broadband until 2008. The product was sh*t and the service crap.

They still call me every couple of months trying to tempt me into "signing up for our great home broadband deals"

No matter what I say, they won't take me off their lists.

I know Eir take a lot of flack but I reported a fault on our phoneline on Saturday and a technician arrived at the house at 9.15 Sunday morning. The fault was an extension box in the house which he replaced. He called at 5pm just to check all was still fine. Excellent service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭JayRoc

My local Aldi has stopped supplying baskets for some bizarre reason.

You've basically a choice of manouevring one of those stupid clunky yokes with wheels around a busy shop or nothing.

Irritating.

And no explanation offered by staff when I asked about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,299 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

My local has two different types of wheelie ones. The blue ones are ok but they have grey ones with a fixed handle that either take the calf off you or you trip over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Ordered a LED light component online click & collect from a certain photography / videography "enthusiast" shop in a street near Stephens Green.

Received confirmation email ok.

Rang the store today to find out when the device would be ready for collection from the store.

The unit I ordered is not in stock and will not be available from the supplier. I was offered an alternative brand. I accepted. However, the agent said that they had "tried to ring" me about the situation. (No missed call on my phone)

There's no update to my account with the store that I made. Oh, and when I try and access the "Tracking Page" for my order on the site, it says

Page Not Found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,571 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Oh 48Mobile, and as a result Three.…....

Changed to 48Mobile a month ago. €12.99/month for unlimited everything on the network that has the best coverage for me. No brainer. Well, it is, as long as there are no issues. Which there weren't until today.

I set up the auto-renewal, but it failed. It failed at some point, but didn't tell me until I was on the road to work at 6.55am this morning. As a result, I had no data, calls or texts. So basically, I had nothing. The 48Mobile app or website doesn't work without it. No one to call. I couldnt buzz in the back gate at work because no credit to ring the number which opens it. According to Google, 9am chat support on BHs. No. Was closer to 10 before the facility was available. Before then, yet another chatbot that seems to think if it can't help me it's done a good job... and I couldn't log in online because it wasn't taking my standard password for everything. And to reset it, I meed access to email. And to access email on a new device, I need to authenticate it. On my phone...

Anyway, eventually get through to someone in Mumbai. To say useless is an understatement. Allegedly, they can't add data or credit. Allegedly. I worked for Three. They can. Anyway, they wouldn't. I told them, and this is honest, that I'm using a work desktop to chat with them, breaking the rules doing so, but I had no other option. The reply? You need to log in and top up.... so I explained my opening message again. The next suggestion was to use the gift top up service. Grand. Except I need to authorise the payment via my banking app.... so the next suggestion was to contact a friend or family to do it. Even though I can't do anytging on my phone. This suggestion was repeated a few times, and even assumed I was on work wifi (we don't have wifi and if i had wifi i would have been able to farking top up!!!), point blank refusing to try and help me basically. The end suggestions were to wait until I finish work and get home. At half 7 this evening....

So at lunch I popped down town and changed over to Three. Which I realise I'm now paying more for less, but I couldn't wait. Now I'm planning to move to Tesco mobile, even though I hate Tesco too, they're the only other crowd using 3 as the provider, as VF are just as useless and also only hire in Mumbai, and Eir have terrible coverage where I am (and also only hire in Mumbai for PAYG support).

So, 48Mobile. Great until you have a problem and then completely and utterly useless and unhelpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭gussieg

left standing in b and q Liffey valley for standing up for myself when the girl on the check out is blatantly overcharging me and giving me dirty looks . Asked other customers if they had their b and q cards but not me . And the rest of the queue giving me daggers looks.

still left standing .

and still here

in the end was left standing 25 minutes because I pointed out on overcharge of 2 euro. Then the manager tried to refuse me a refund , and when I scanned the card , my revolut card got scanned so I don’t even know if I will get that money back. It was really disappointing and I’ve never had treatment like that there before. I reckon the problem was that the girl was unwilling or unable to ask for help .

Post edited by gussieg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭mondeoman72

AVOID OPODO online hotel booker.

Got a great deal for a hotel for Friday and Saturday night in Liverpool. Arrived at the desk and told it was cancelled within 30 mins of the booking being made. That was four days previously. Rang OPODO, offered me refund plus four extra euro. Told her no, give me a hotel. Then elevated to next department for call back. Hong fecking Kong!. Cannot do anything, hotel should have notified you, they never told us blah blah. Turns out hotel did tell them, and OPODO does not pass on contact details to notify the guest anyway.

Long story short - Hotel sorted me out for Friday night, had to pay again, but a special deal, but was full for Saturday. Flew home instead. Big shout out to the Dixie Dean Hotel - Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭RobertM

Oral-B

Purchased a fairly expensive Oral-B electric toothbrush last year. Few months ago all of a sudden it started then immediately stopped. Quick google prompted me to a site to RMA it.

The RMA process is very confusing to start with as it covers both UK and Ireland. So I was given an address in Dublin. Shipped it to them only to find out they ship it themselves to the UK service centre. Couple of days later I get an e-mail saying the unit has been fixed and will be returned to me.

What I received back took me by surprise.

• My repaired toothbrush handle.
    • A new toothbrush handle
    • A new shaver worth about €130 euros online.

Downsides is that I had to pay customs charges on the items received which amounted to around €12.

Not sure they messed up with the orders/repairs but I was happy with their online responses and quickness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,573 ✭✭✭TheChizler

The local Aldi had replaced a load of staffed tills with self service tills, unfortunately they seem to think this means you can get away with only having 1 member of staff in the checkout area. Did a big shop tonight and had to use the self service, the poor solitary assistant was trying to juggle handling all the exceptions the tills threw up and go out to empty the stupid machines outside. The self service couldn't handle us using 4 reusable bags for our shopping and kept throwing weight errors, the shopping couldn't fit in the tiny packing area, and it took about 5 times as long as usual between us being slow to scan and having to wait for the assistant constantly. If this is going to be a regular ocurrence I'll be swapping to Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 ᏴᏫᎪᎡᎠᎦ ᎥᎦ Ꭺ ᎦᏥᎥᎢ ᏔᎬᏴᎦᎥᎢᎬ

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭JayRoc

That's interesting, in that one of the biggest complaints about my local Aldi is that they don't have any self service tills. I've often walked out after seeing the queues at the tills, especially if I'm just getting a few items .

On the other hand, my local supervalu has taken out all but 3 of their checkout lanes and replaced them with self-service tills. I wonder is a lot of this simply down to an inability to get staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,573 ✭✭✭TheChizler

They're great for just getting a few bits, not so much for a weekly shop. Even if they had one staffed till open I'd have no complaints.

You could be right about staff, I don't recognise any of the faces in there recently there seems to be a high turnover. This won't help, the one guy dealing with everything seemed stressed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,299 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I boycotted my SuperValu except for emergencies when they got those bloody things in. Usually only one or two tills open while the rest of the staff are flutering around trying to sort out peoples problems with the squawking self service yokes.

I heard the best and worst of Ryanair today . A friend flew with hand luggage from Kerry to Dublin , Dublin to Krakow and back with a case as hand luggage.

The size only became an issue for RA coming home , Dublin to Kerry where they wanted her to check it in at the cost of €75 . The plane was 1/3 full, so wasn't a space issue.

Not to be beaten , she transferred everything into 5 shopping bags, left the case at the gate and boarded the plane with the shopping bags. Oddly enough , they weren't an issue. Seems the 1 small bag rule didn't apply today.