Shannon Airport Thread [Mod Warning in First Post]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Tiernster7

Kerry ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AnRothar

Taxiway 11, 12, H1, H2

Area 9, East Parking and Light Aircraft Park.

if you want to get creative old runway 09/27 has space too.

Suspect it won't be that big a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

Long term 4 car park be grand as Well😉🤣🤣. Jp will be prob flying them in the heli to adare anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,018 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

At the moment there is parking for 20-25 privates max. There will be multiples of that arriving for the ryder cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AnRothar

And how many will actually wait?

Some will reposition and do other things for the duration.

20/25 would be a large cohort to wait around.

Charters yes absolutely but a lot of the players own their own jets. They can't reposition anywhere else in Ireland for 4-5 days.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

The players won't be coming by themselves. They'll be traveling as teams, so the Americans will arrive via a commercial charter.

And the event lasts a week, so if any of them did use private jets that's how long they'd have to be parked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭BZ

Considering a couple of years ago when Monarch and Air Berlin went under there was at peak 53 commercial sized aircraft parked up there will be no issue taking 100+ corporate aircraft.

For events like this everything will be racked and stacked across the many taxiways. Signature have two lektro tugs for moving corporate and am sure will bring in mor equipment when the event is on along with universal and Westair. Parking won't be the issue the issue will be where will crews stay when on the ground in SNN, taxis, rental cars etc.

American Airlines are due to announce Summer 2025 new routes today. Itll be a shame if Shannon misses out on getting Philadelphia back

No mention of Shannon unfortunately, there were plenty of rumours around the airport that it would be back but doesn't look likely now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

They havent announced XLR routes so maybe theyll announce it with that. Edinburgh is a 787

Delete

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,542 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Jaysus I wouldn't put it as alarmist as that.

There hasn't been much announced lately in fairness, but they're not dropping services either. Sustaining services is more important than picking up new routes to lose them again a year later.

Well it just looks a bit desperate and sounds like Shannon are pleaing for new routes. Knock and Kerry arent half as bad and dont come out with such nonsense.

My post didnt mean to sound alarmist. But any one with half a brain would realise how silly the articles sound

The end justifies the means I guess. Is she pleaing for public purse/ political support that she believes could create additional traffic.

Ryanair schedule for this winter and next Summer has some promising nuggets..

Winter

Manchester having showed as 4 for winter until recently is now at 5, Birmingham 2 to 3.

Considerable school break flights available inc extra flights on Turin which Ive never seen before.

Next Summer

Alicante looks to be 6 times per week vs 4 this year.

Malaga 4 to 6

Edinburgh 3 to 4

Krakow 3 to 5

Wroclaw 4 to 5

Corfu 2 to 2 , but with October incd as 2 vs 1 in 2024 and April included

Manchester 5 to 5, Faro 6 to 6, Budapest 2 to 2, Girona 2 to 2 , Liverpool 2 to 2, Kaunas 2 to 2 , Porto 2 to 2, Malta 2 to 2 , Birmingham 3 to 3, everything else I checked is same but a few not filled yet too, London all the same

You can see Sept 24 vs 25 for all of the above.

anyway…

Post edited by Tiernster7 on

Where did you see this? Nothing loaded on their site for next summer yet

Mobile app, it always seems to land there first. None on sale but you can see the schedule

Turin was increased to 2 weekly during Winter2021/2022

Can't remember that @Avgeek2255 ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭d1980

Do you know how long it stays in that state? I've booked flights for fuerteventura for July, August 25 but in the app, looks like the days have changed so will need to rebook. Do you know if the give you the rebook option as soon as the flights become available or try and sell a few seats first.

Tks

I do, it went twice weekly over the Xmas period that winter. The aircraft operated Shannon-Gatwick and then onto Turin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Great if those route increases come through wonder what the timings will be like. Hopefully can get 1 or 2 new routes as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

An issue with routes to and from SNN is that it’s all well and good if Ryanair throw on a flight down to Lanzarote a few times a week, no doubt it would sell seats, but what do they do with the aircraft for the rest of the day? Therein lies the bigger problem for SNN (and other regionals in Ireland and the UK)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

The plane doesn't need to be Shannon based. It can fly base - Shannon - sun destination - Shannon - base.

Or a Shannon based planed does the Canaries in the morning and a shorter route in the evening.

It's not rocket science and happens all the time.

Theres no issue or any problem. Only one that you have assumed yourself.

Shannon has three based aircraft that have packed schedules. They are defo not lying idle. Ryanair defintely wouldnt do that. Same With Cork. It has 4 aircraft based and full schedules. They have over 30 routes each. Shannon-Lanzarote operates 3-5 times a week and does sell very well. Its been operating for years. Same with Shannon-Las Palmas, tenerife and Fuerteventura.

Assume you are unaware about what routes Shannon and Cork have ? They have been Ryanair bases for years also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Exactly, they have 3 based frames and the schedule is packed, adding more routes means utilising another aircraft, but it also means packing its schedule too which if they can do they will no doubt, but they’ll need more than one other short route, they’ll need two or maybe 3 to justify basing a 4th aircraft. They could use an aircraft based somewhere else of course. But the same issue exists that they’ll need space in a schedule and if they have the room in ACE for example, then they’ll send that aircraft to wherever they can make the most money, which more often than not, isn’t SNN. They could use a W pattern with EI use, but I suspect if that was something that worked for a bucket and spade route, they’d be doing it already.

I’m not actually trying to deride SNN at all, I love the airport and a quick look at my log shows I used it 12 times last year, I’d love it to grow but it’s not just a case of we can fill a plane from A to B 4 days a week etc!

I’m very familiar about what routes ORK & SNN have by the way, and hope for even more in the coming years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Why is the Ryanair flight to Birmingham at such a crappy time? Gets in at 12:50 am and makes shite of the weekend.