If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

There laws in the country for everyone id be afraid of no one a group thretened me once i got the ringleader on his own one day he was very quite on that occasion never had any bother since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

well Cute George should know he is a resident in the same parish… i know very little bout it.. but you hear rumours when it does appear on daft.ie as being for sale…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Tirlan trying to hawk off all the family silver off their latest brainwave, the exchangeable bond due on top of that in 2027 i think, their some messers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭pureza

Quite a large spinout with this SGM

€7013 worth of plc shares per 1000 co op shares

Your signing away the right to the board to sell of your remaining co-op shares to be converted to plc so they can have carte blanche how to invest your stake in the company

Subject to the CoOp shareholders un electing the board if it does wrong though

Its their largest spin out ever in a year thats been very difficult for farmers,clever time to pitch it I suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

I would agree there especially farmers who are full time or of an older generation will always ensure that debt is paid to everyone...some other's will string everyone along. Bar the banks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

Could you explain what this means and will entail and who will benefit from it cheers ...... I haven't a notion of what it is about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,172 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It Has very limited advantage to a farmer. You can really only transfer it in at what was it last revenue recorded value or else you trigger a capital gains tax bill and if revenue decide to value it you may anyway.

Therefore if you inherited/purchased the land ten+ years @7k/ acre that is what you try to put it into the company at unless you have a significant capital loss or allowances from elsewhere.

The risk is after doing it revenue value it at 15k/acre and you have to stump up 1/3 of the difference straight away.

Then if it in the company and you want it or part of it back out you pay 1/3 of the rise in value to revenue.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If you inherited recently and had revenue accept a higher value than reality (which most would try to do) then you'd be in the green. There would also be plenty who inherited during the Celtic Tiger who'd have maxed out their allowance and for which the land is still nowhere near that in reality

I was merely explaining that there could be other reasons for company structure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,322 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Had a cow with tetany earlier

Basically the 29% shareholding tirlin have in glanbia plc shares is owned by co-op members, the ratio is every co-op share is worth around 6 plc shares….

The board are going to give their members around 14% of their current holdings in co-op shares as converted plc shares, on the stipulation you allow them to sell off your remaining plc shares so they can basically go gambling with your money, theirs already circa 15 million plc shares that will be taken from co-op members in late 26/27 to pay for the 250 million euro exchangeable bond that was taken out in 2022 to fund the buyout of the plc…

They also have 150 million already in reserve to do what their rambling on about why they are pushing further trying to reduce the shareholding to under 17.5%, somethings not adding up, why they need to do this their trying to get a cashpile of over half a billion, that will be taken from co-op shareholders, a member with 4000 plus co-op shares will be down well over 100k

was up the country yesterday… Portarlington to be precise… Big mill there in the village… presume its run by Paul & Vincent or Glanbia?? and i was surprised at how few dairy cows around.. looks to be mainly tillage… passed through a place called Emo i think as well…

odlums factory, in portarlington, the land around their and between emo was never really a dairying area, especially emo very few tillage men converted in that general area either to dairying

I feel like they should spell out what they are at

But if they've a purchase or a merger in mind,they can't tell us

Looking for permission to do what they like with the plc shares without further consultation seems dangerous,you're right there

That said,those shares are worth a lot more in farmers pockets,all of them,than what the CoOp divvies out from them

Why are they always spun out as a bribe to get something passed?

Why not spin out the shares because it's the right thing to do in a bad farming year?

Why not transfer all of the shares to the farmer members ?

At least if you and I squander ours,its our mistake

The information meetings on this one will be interesting

Dosent sit right what they are trying to pull, lost all faith in the board when i brought up the leprino takeover of the portlaoise plant, asked what the situation was re product supply to the plant if milk volumes keep falling, the co-op is tied into a 5 year rolling contract indefinetley i was told….

Biggest fear is they cash in the plc shares and go into a joint venture with the plc on a project which is probably what they are planning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭straight

Best of luck to this young man. Adding value with 60 to 70 cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I have 5 or 6 cows that have nearly gone dry with very little milk, anyone same problem or could it be fluke? I wormed them in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

Best of luck to him is right. He has a lot of money spent.

I would love to see actual figures and hours worked when I see these videos. I know glenilen and glenisk have big profitable businesses grown, but starting off is tough

I would be a negative sort, but the story of I can go off to work and the business and the cows will all be grand till I come back. Like ever video on YouTube, the ould lads were put a hide

I actually met his father before, a nice man.

His father had a nice tidy, neat yard and made a grand living from 70 cows. It's getting harder for the next generation I think myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

A lot of it is pressure put on oneself. I have only ever milked 50 cows, I make enough.

It's outside commentators that make a fella seem small. But unless they tell me their costs I pay no heed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

Youll survive away fine at them numbers but people like nice things now and if the farm can’t provide them young people don’t want to know about it.

You're probably making around 50k p.a. which is fair enough in a way considering the smaller workload. Imagine guys with 100 cows on 50 acres and making the same as you or alot less. Now, that's what I call a busy fool.

That owens lad has the job sharing well set up for himself. Thurs/Fri one week, Mon Tues Wednesday the next week. Busy man though.

Despite your views on high stocking rates I doubt there are many people milking 100 cows on a 50 acre platform making sub 50k from it they always have other support blocks and I doubt many are stupid enough to carry on the way you described I’m sure they can use a calculator, even though that kind of stocking rate is madness.

Is a person farming, working off farm and running a business any less mad then the person milking 100 cows on 50 acres?

Calculators are very dangerous in the wrong hands. Man over the road here has 60 acres MP - 120 cows. Huge feed bill, feck all milk. He's a messer anyway in fairness. 40 acres came up for sale beside him and 30 acres at the other side of him a few years later and he couldn't even think about buying them.

The farmers wages to manage 100 cows Vs 50 is alot higher, especially at a higher stocking rate, also infrastructure costs are alot higher. It's not as simple a calculation as profit per cow imo.

Tbf if he was milking 60-80 cows I doubt he’d have come up with the 300-500k to buy either of them blocks either, surely he has more than 60k a year out of that setup either way. I know a guy with similar setup who went to 15k on a decent sized block bounding him so some of these guys must have their heads screwed on if your man is a smear it’s a different story.

Ya, he's a smear in fairness. All stock bulls then and he selling surplus stock. The yields are disgraceful. Still though a farmers wages needs to be way higher to calve and manage double the number of cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭visatorro

If you can see the nose flairing abit its ibr, according to the vet anyway. I'll have to dose cows again because they are coughing.