Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭tinytobe

That's probably the reason why. Still, it's odd, or something unique in Irish law. However I am a bit suprised that in stead of a judge a police officer can pass a sentence. I would still have thought it would have to be a written statement

taken by the police that the suspect confesses and presented in front of a judge to pass the final sentence. Judge, jury and executioner in one is a bit strange for a European country.

I don't know if there is anything interesting and new which we haven't explored or discussed by now.

I am a bit careful about books or films. They are written or made by people who want to make money but don't admit to wanting to make money and pretending to care for Sophie's family kind of talk….

Somebody overheard something Bolger said, somebody seen Wolney talking to someobody, somebody allegedly made a pass at Sophie in the pub, no proof anywhere. And that apart from expensive French bottles of wine or men with unshaven faces and dark coats loitering in dark alleys…… And then there are still the secret phone calls of Bailey to Sophie's office getting her interested in his poetry. Bailey behaving strangely, Bailey howling at the moon at night, Bailey taking walks at night….. Neighbours arguing over property and open gates, and grazing animals.

As far as I know there are no new revelations in the case. A cavity block examined for DNA once again, nothing on that one, a trip to France and a questioning of one of Daniel's friends, but nothing new as well. This friend probably denied everything and the police had nothing on him other than some odd connection to Sophie, maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,334 ✭✭✭chooseusername

What we do know is that the Hellens really disliked Alfie.

Do we know how the Hellens and Bolgers got on?

As I see it you had Alfie and the Bolgers on one side and Sophie and the Hellens on the other side.

Leo was looking to buy land from Sophie and Sophie was allowing Finbarr to use her land for his horses, but maybe the land he was using was the commonage Finbarr shared with Sophie. That could have caused bad feelings. The Bolgers were in the process of selling up their place in Dunmanus East up near Hellens and moving to larger premises down near Schull.

"Was that picture of Leo?"

I don't know, but @bjsc posted it to show the rubbish bags taken from Shirley's car, and later commented on it when @MonkieSocks put it up again. It appears she has the same files as yourself.

Post5489;

Post 5625

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Post 5625 above was a respose to my post below Post 5622 below

Where Shirley stoped the car ( white peugeot )

Bags at the side of the road........note man walking in field...

Car Again ( white peugeot ) Man in cap talking to Garda

Man in cap on the right side of what looks some reporters

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Just wanted to mention that the back door is beyond the back gate of the house with respect to this route. Leo would have been able to walk past Sophie’s without interfering with the scene in any way, unless he moved passed Sophie’s gate itself. I would think that that gardai had identified nothing of note on that outside of the house, and didn’t keep it cordoned off.

Having said that I’m assuming they did keep the bloodstained back door cordoned off, probably at the gate I would think, but perhaps that’s giving them too much credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭PolicemanFox

No, you misunderstand. If the defendant pleads guilty it is all over in one sitting and it then goes for sentencing. That is all presided over by a judge and the judge decides the sentence. Yes I guess it still counts as a "trial" but the evidence is not presented because there is no need. That's what happened at the Macarthur trial. His counsel did a deal with the DPP. He had killed two people but the second charge of murder of Donal Dunne was dropped if he pleaded guilty to the murder of Bridie Gargan. This avoided a massive media circus but Dunne's family were rightly incensed by this.

I think this was all a part of the “salacious” side of the reporting, champagne and exotic lovers etc. Given what we know now, it is really just trash reporting, and Bailey was happy to do it too, along with the others. People nearby were obviously happy to spread rumours too, probably including those closest to her in Ireland, which goes to show that she really didn’t have many friends here. Not many to stand up for her at least. The barman is one person who really seem to care very much about her and what happened, and the priest, I’m sure there were plenty more who didn’t talk to the press, but it never really came across that way from many of the others that did, neighbours, employees or many of the other people in the area.

David Dukelow (heating guy), John Scully (electrician)

I think I may have heard of the electrician maybe, but that’s the first time I’m seeing the heating guys name, which is pretty wild to me at least. Did these people ever give statements to the Gardai?

Amazing, that in all this time, I hadn’t seen these guys mentioned (I expect they have been though, prob many times) and I’ve had much more than a passing interest in this case, and they are certainly more important than most names in the story. Im sure perhaps they hadn’t even met Sophie, but they had seen inside the house, prob left fingerprints etc. How many more like them are there?

Photo 3 is Superintendant J P Twomey talking to possibly Martin Malone, Taken sometime 2:30-4:30pm 23rd

Photo 4 was taken after 4pm by Dan Linehan from left, Unknown photographer (possibly Mike Browne), Ian Bailey in 3/4 length mauve jacket. Eddie Cassidy, J P Twomey.

“Leo would have been able to walk past Sophie’s without interfering with the scene in any way, unless he moved passed Sophie’s gate itself.”

He would have had to go through the gate at the back of Sophie’s house to reach Alfie’s shed and field where the horses were.

Edited to add photo;

Post edited by chooseusername on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭champchamp

Surely this is significant given the detailed description the article has about the other items on the table?

Thanks. It's all presided over by a judge and the judge decides the sentence. All understood. Makes sense now. In your first posting it seemd you wanted to say that the police would pass the sentence and that surprised, even worried me.

Understood thanks. I had misread your route map thinking he was going to Alfie’s house.

There are two different locations then which Leo probably went to, Alfie’s house to see Alfie, and Alfie’s shed to manage the horses. Both could be interpreted to be under the umbrella of “Alfie’s”. I’m surprised there was no other temporary route set up to get to the shed, even if it was more circuitous, and rougher terrain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭Deeec

Unfortunately for Sophie that part of Cork where she bought her house is home to a strange bunch of characters. The local people involved or those who courted the media are all odd in some way. They also all seem to have personal relationships and grudges against each other and this leads to lies being told to suit their agendas. Virtually all of them have odd dubious backgrounds.

Its very hard to judge who is actually being honest.

I personally see this pretty much the same way. The whole area can be decieving in many ways. To be frank, the South West coast of Ireland is one of the most beautiful regions of the country, if not Europe. It's unique. It's therefore understandable that one either wants to buy a property there, spend holidays there or retire there.

However one shouldn't be fooled. The area also attracts transients, individuals who do a bit of drugs here and there, happy go lucky individualists and artists and people with odd or say "unique" lifesyles in every sense. Failed marriages, somebody seeking a change, starting over in some alternative way, etc…. And then there is the incompetence of the police which in my mind also contributed that the murder was never solved. Murder would be a rarity there anyway, at least back then. They may have had a certain training but never had the experience for such a murder.

Economically the whole area offers limited choices if one is looking for a career. Property prices don't reflect the economic reality at all and the view of Fastnet Rock hardly can justify the price. Thus it's locals selling, asking astronomical prices in hopes some foreigner and future "blow in" will buy.

Even if one considers buying closer to Cork, property prices are more reasonable, have more infrastructure, shops, and also a better choice of doctors medical choices if needed. And if one likes the Mizen Head or like to see Fastnet Rock one can always drive out there, hike in the countryside as well etc…..

Don't get me wrong, I would recommend a visit to the area at any time to anyone, but if one is interested in buying a property, I'd gladly advise anybody, look closer to the city of Cork and not on any of those peninsulas.

The only other route would involve going via Hellen’s land, and that would be a non starter. Basically the field was landlocked between Sophie’s and Hellens properties. Alfie’s only access to the shed and field was either along the back of Sophie’s house or up through her lawn at the front of her house. The shed and some of the field have been sold/transferred to Pierre- louis some years ago

Yes they all gave statements. Josie Hellen would let them in to do work while Sophie was away. There were also plasterers and house painters working there in Summer 1996. The Gardai gathered all their fingerprints but considering there were 7-10 house guests in months before the murder, it's not surprising there are unidentified fingermarks.

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Mannesmann

It was likely the same object. Odd that it is still missing and I'd say you are correct that Sophie took it with her to confront someone. Probably used by her and against her too. Disposed of in some stream or thicket or even in a fire unlikely to have DNA on it now anyway.

So what did the killer do after the murder, where did he go to clean up.

He could hardly return to a house where he had family as they would see his clothes with blood on them.

Maybe he lived alone and could clean up without anybody seeing him.

Or maybe he did live with family but had somewhere were he could clean up, ditch the poker (trophy) and then return home

That is indeed a very good question. I've thought about this often as well.

The kind of injuries that were inflicted would indicate that the murderer himself was full of Sophie's blood. Driving a car would not have been a choice if he left blood stains inside the car. ( Bailey's/Jule's car was examined as far as I know ) He would have to clean up alone and be very careful about it. He would also have to ditch the poker / hatchet if he took it from the crime scene as it would also incriminate him.

Things would actually point to Bailey here but that's because he's the only one I know a bit more about. He had the studio, and that is a separate house close to Jule's house. He could clean up there, change clothes and possibly burn anything in terms of clothes and Jules wouldn't have noticed anything in terms of blood stains etc…

If the police would have found clothes with Sophie's blood at Bailey's studio, it'll be very convincing evidence. I am sure they searched the studio thoroughly.

Also wondering if any of his clothes were missing or no longer part of his wardrobe after the murder? Not that it proves anything but it'll be an interesting indication.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'm also of the view that she went to confront someone. However, would she have gone out without keys trusting that leaving the door on the latch was enough? After all, it could be hassle trying to get back in if she got locked out (no mobiles and her in pyjamas)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭flanna01

Of course the Guards went through Baileys 'Studio' with a fine tooth comb…

One droplet of Sophie's blood there would have sealed the deal…

The studio was the only place Bailey could have cleaned up in.. He was hardly going to return to the family home drenched in blood now was he..?

Note.. Bailey was drunk on whisky the night before the murder.. Not one jot of evidence has eve tied him to the murder scene.. No blood splatters, no hairs, and no clothing fibers, absolutely nothing..

The car was forensically inspected, the studio was, and the Family home too…

Not one iota of evidence was ever found linking Bailey to the crime scene.. And by Jesus the guards were looking for it!

Bailey had no part of this murder, he could never commit such a horrendous act and leave not one trace of evidence behind him, its crazy to to think otherwise.

Drunken people don't think straight.. Tell me I'm wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Xander10

Is it on record that the garda forerensic team carried out both searches. And on what date(s) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

If I had my way and deep pockets then somewhere along the coast between Courtmacsherry and Clon would be my dream location (seven heads). Close enough to Cork yet far enough to enjoy the spectacular scenery of West Cork.

Further west and you do indeed meet all sorts of quirky characters. It can be very isolated down that direction in Winter.

That's exactly it. It's possible that Sophie was not properly consulted when buying a house or her priorities were different from our or my thinking. After all, a view of Fastnet Rock was so important she even had her bed raised high enough to see it. If I wanted to see Fastnet Rock a drive out onto the Mizen head would have done it as well, sometimes they offer boat trips around Fastnet Rock as well, as far as I know.

Seven Heads would be the way better choice, Courtmacsherry is nice, Kinsale probably the best choice. Plus you have the chances of having better neighbours with a higher intelectual level. Sophie would have made better friends and gotten more value and a better property for her money. Neither Alfie Lyons, Leo Bolger or Ian Bailey are individuals whose company I would have enjoyed.

Series on BBC 4 starting tonight based on real events; "Sambre: Anatomy of a Crime" how the French system works. In French with subtitles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭dmc17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

I'm not sure anything has really been confirmed with this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Mannesmann

No. Could have been a man or woman or more that one person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Ms Robini

Has it been confirmed the killer was human?! Has it been confirmed there was any killer at all?!! Some people suggest it might have been an accident, others that the crime was committed by a woman! I think the profile indicates it was a man of physical strength in their 20s or 30s, most likely local, and that it was a rage killing.