Vice President Kamala Harris vs Donald Trump 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Also important to note, their "endorsement" also comes with a caveat, because neither "endorsed" him until they were effectively added to Trump's team. Gabbard is now a member of Trump's campaign team, and RFK Jr has been promised a role in Trump's administration if he gets in.

I think there's some sort of Latin term for when you do something for mutual benefit.... Quid Pro.... something....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Now that's both weird and really sad,

Trump is such a narcissist that he's blowing campaign money to run ads in the Mar a Lago district simply because he likes to see his own ads on the television there. Nevermind that the area is more than likely going to vote for him in the general election. A total waste of donors money.

https://www.mediaite.com/news/trump-campaign-reportedly-wasting-money-in-florida-because-hell-be-mad-if-no-ads-on-tv-at-mar-a-lago/

A 5-figure ad spend may not sound like a lot (and Lincoln Project does it all the time in the same market, for the same reason of knowing it drives Trump insane) but that's money he's not spending picking up any more votes where he needs it, such as in Georgia, where he lost by 11,780 votes in 2020.

Real tortoise and hare stuff, while hare lazes about at his house, rolls around in his golf cart and admiring himself on TV, team tortoise is hitting the road on the "Ground Force One" bus tour.

image.png

https://www.startribune.com/tim-walz-heads-to-georgia-this-week-to-campaign-with-kamala-harris/601131654

https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/2024-election/kamala-harris-tim-walz-georgia-convention-momentum-rcna168039

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,093 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Female POTUS? Let’s throw in Female Ethnic background POTUS for good measure. And in the midst of our discussion we see the real problem - one candidate has to “prove” to well many people I’d argue, that she’s up to the job, is the correct gender for the job and the correct ethnicity for the job.

The other gombeen, will try and tear her down- that’s essentially his “job”- thats the 2024 presidential election in a nutshell.

For Harris to convince her voters and persuade a section of the undecided she needs to act and speak presidential- but she has an amount of barriers and prejudice to overcome even before addressing the idiot Trump.

Trump on the other hand needs to do everything legitimate but mostly underhanded he can to illustrate that she’s not presidential 😀

And after writing that I’ve really now realised how fcked up that country is - I need a lie down 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Debate rules seemingly agreed for ABC debate on Sept.10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,997 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The only downside for Harris with that system is that, she'll use up some of her time rebutting the lie Trump has just told, each time.

Until the Harris camp confirms this I'll assume this is just Trump's latest attempt to control the narrative. Is there any indication for example they have agreed to debate him with the muted mics where he can just interrupt her during her responses with the audience at home being none the wiser for example.

I don't think she's going to spend much time playing Defense, if the convention was any indication. Rather I think she's going to invest her time going on the Offense and forcing him onto the Defense, eg. "say Donald you know a lot about planes since you flew with Jeffrey Epstein 7 times," calling him 'weird' etc. and doing other things she know will cause him to unravel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭chooseusername

She just needs to stick to the first lie, and stick to rebutting just that one, again and again.

RFK's sister Kerry

Daddy was the attorney general of the United States, the chief law enforcement officer. Donald Trump raped E. Jean Carroll, has 34 felony actions. He has contempt for the poor and suffering, for ethics, democracy, and healing. His cruel sneering at human rights for suffering people in America and around the world, the cause that was so loved passionately by my father Robert Kennedy. So I’m frankly outraged and disgusted by Bobby’s, my brother’s gaudy and obscene embrace of Donald Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

She doesn't have to do anything for her voters except turn up and not completely screw up as they are as you said her voters, she just needs to convince the people that I already mentioned.

Could you see Trump or Vance try this?

I think “just turning up” is a very naive approach - just my view

His running mate swore it was because of "5 key issues" that Trump allegedly agreed with RFK - and then she named…. "chronic health" and "food cap economic policy," "free speech," "no more censorship" (which is the same as the 3rd one), and "anti-war" (which Trump was definitely not, and is not: 'hurry and finish the job,' Israel, 'do whatever the hell they want,' Russia). He's not even free speech, just yesterday he called for a new (and unconstitutional) law to criminalize flag burning.

https://www.mediaite.com/tv/rfk-jr-s-ex-running-mate-insists-shes-not-a-trump-republican-says-endorsement-is-based-on-five-key-things/

They either think their own supporters are really **** stupid or they really have brain worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,451 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Or, they ran out of money and needed to secure something from the whole thing and DNC weren't interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭threeball

I think the social media platforms are keeping their powder dry but I expect so see them rolling in heavily behind Trump in the final weeks leading up to the election. Scumbags like Zuckerberg and Musk know who's better to keep feathering their billionaire nest and there'll be a concerted effort to get him over the line. It's perhaps one of the reasons Trump is so confident of victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Honeymoon is truly over once the debate happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Harris wants corporate rate at 28%, Trump at 18. Main reason de big guys are rowing behind Trump which would be bad for Ireland with the US more competitive. I'd say your right about Zuck and Musk.in the coming weeks

Why? Trump lost the debates to Biden in 2020. 2016 is a long time ago and Trump is still playing the same hits as back then.

Trumps 2024 debate performance was pretty awful, what saved him from deeper review was the sheer awfulness of Biden.

There is no reason to think that Harris will not perform much better than Trump at the debate.

People are clinging to the debates in 2016 as if nothing has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

No audience is very good for Harris. Trump thrives off the cheers and boos he can elicit. It's crazy that the Trump campaign actually wanted muted mics. Just shows that the adults running the campaign know that Trump cannot control himself for even 90 minutes. Not exactly the type of person you'd want in charge of the US military!

huh

Harris is over 35 days and counting without an interview, off script she will crumble, whatever people think about Trump at least he faces he media.

complete drivel.

She’s been answering press questions: all of them are Trump theme questions. Why sit down for an “interview” which will just be a “react to Trump saying weird things” session, and not an interview of the candidate. She’s going on bus tour in Georgia meeting voters, not wasting time for a singular interviewer to edit and spin and take her off message, good for her. Complaining that she doesn’t do a formal interview is the latest fake controversy, mustard on a burger level stuff.

Trumps idea of facing the media is going on senior rants to Fox and friends over the phone. His idea of responding to actual challenging questions at NABJ was to call the question “nasty” and engage in DARVO. Talk about crumbling, he went on a rant that Harris wasn’t black and ripped on Republican state governor Kemp, at a Georgia event.

What questions did he actually give a good answer to at the debate? I can’t think of any can you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

And in perfect timing it's been announced that she and Walz are doing a joint interview with CNN.

Trump may face the media HE CHOOSES TO ENGAGE WITH, but he doesn't listen to their questions, he just rambles on whatever he wants to ramble on about.

You saw what happens when he has to do a tough interview. He fumbles it and it gets pulled 2/3rds of the way through.

Joint? says it all, can't do it on her own?

Trump is always battling with the media including those who despise them.

‘c@Nť d0 ïT ón hǐş OwN?’

IMG_5911.jpeg

When was Trump last on a network that “despised” him and what network was that?

Oh absolutely- we’re talking hell fire and brimstone- how much of that will be commensurate with just how well Harris performed on the night - the better, the more brimstone 😀

Joint, yes. Opposite to Trump, showing respect to her VP. Being a president has been a team effort with their VP in the past. It's very normal for Presidents and VP's to do joint interviews. 4 years ago she did joint interviews with Biden. 12 years ago, Obama was doing joint interviews with Biden.

Trump is so self centered that he refuses to see the value someone else's opinion and advice can bring to a situation. What he said about JDV, (who I have no time for) being basically unimportant in the grand scheme of things was extremely rude and distasteful.

Obviously not paying attention over the past few weeks, countless press conferences from Trump, so I don't know what the heck you're on about. Hitting 36 days for Kamala now, so much for the great prosecutor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

The same press conferences where the journalists had no microphones, therefore one watching the press conference couldn't tell if Trump was answering the questions or just dodging. You mean those ones?

Again. You want her to do an interview with a media that you consider biased? What value is that?

But on what basis are you expecting Trump to perform in a debate? He was awful in the Biden debate, but saved by Bidens performance.

He was beaten by Biden in 2020. He is clearly older and has lost his vigour and punchyness of old. He is 35 days into facing Harris and still is pinning for Biden.

He simultaneously wants to portray Harris as stupid and incompetent yet she was the real power the last 4 years and lead a coup against Biden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

Yes, countless press conferences from Trump in which he is either given softball questions, or he totally ignores the question and spouts lies and nonsense with no follow up from the journalists. That is not what I would call "facing the media".

Are you talking about his Fox and Friends appearances? Or his OAN appearances? Or the interview with the YouTube guy who smells peoples farts? Or maybe you're talking about the invited guests that came out to his home to listen to the billionaire who is famous for not paying people lie and ramble on while having the gall to talk about the cost of living, from (one of) his own personal hotel?