If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

They'll never be a headline act but wouldn't mind if they got another hour at the main stage next year to be honest. Crowd were absolutely bobbing, probably best crowd of the festival. Wouldn't bother the crowds that went to see them that were there either again next year I'd imagine.

I'd prefer them to Kodaline or Kylie Minouge to be honest and most of the headline acts.

You do know there retiring this year right and its there last year? I'm not going to get into an argument over it but don't understand the hate when 95% of electric picnic enjoyed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Would you have Westlife play EP? Popularity is meaningless.

"oh the kids love it". Please.

We'll just leave it at that so.

If any band gets a good crowd hopping instead of just standing there then I'd be open to it. I don't think Westlife fits that bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭endainoz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭Stillill42

The Wolfe Tones. Blowing up the EP thread. I've seen it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭chicken foot

I also think most people forget they played at 5.30pm, it's not like they robbed Radiohead of a top slot!!!. There have been far less worthy mainstage acts further up the poster. There have been a few tent acts moved up to the mainstage in consecutive years hasnt there? KKC I believe?. The uproar is purely political. Unfortunately for those, the majority disagreed. Was it a lazy/easy booking? Sure. Did the people love it? Looks like it!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Tbh as I've gotten older I think they'd be a decent act, whole catalogue of cheesey sing along tunes.

It was the same crap last year with the same arguments brought up, majority of the crowd seemed to love them both years, can't comment as I wasn't there but this thread clearly don't represent the typical picnic demographic anymore, and they haven't in many years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭thebusher

Had A great weekend despite not feeling it on the way there. A lot of that was down to the company we had. Not been since 2019 as it was ugly messy that year. Glad to say we didn’t experience any coked up nonsense this year.

First time doing the Thursday and it was worth it. Stayed in Eco which is really sound as always but some staff members got engaged and they decided to have their own rave on Sat night/Sunday morning from 4 am til 8 am. Not good at all. They tried again after the Rave on Sunday at 5 am Monday but I heard campers kicking off at them. No respect for the respectful people staying in Eco. Interesting to see if it’s back next year.

Music wise Thursday was great craic. Dead Poets in Salty followed by the maddest, weirdest, most fun ‘opera’ from the Wedding Band of the Damned. A real eclectic set list if somewhat bananas.

Pogueology in Survivor were fantastic and the crowd singing Fairytale in August at 1am in the woods I’ll never forget.

Friday TCM was rammed, wandered a bit caught Gerry and ended up staying at Noah Kahan who was surprisingly good but more 8o clock good rather than headliner.

Saturday we really loved Mary Wallopers and SawDoctors, great tunes, great fun. Kneecap, whilst I’m unsure about the lads and their politics no doubt they put on a hell of a show.
    Waterboys were good but I stopped listening to them after Fisherman’s back in the day so I could take or leave them. Headed to Salty to see the new lad with Aslan as they have a soft spot in my heart since my college days. He’s changed them to a rock band and lacks the nuance of Christy. I’m out I’m afraid.

Found the underground club which was good craic and explored a mad freak show type place in Providencia which had us all in stitches. Danced a bit in Mother which is a good little area.

Sunday probably my favourite day as the wives were all Celine v Bonny so 2 of us went in the missing list after the excellent stranglers. Wandered about and saw a band called Soft Launch who were cracking and then Spiritual Cramp from California punk types. Bit much for my buddy but I’ll check them out. Played crazy golf in a caravan and ended up and discovered Darnell Cole!!! Unreal. Ended up buying vinyl which didn’t seem like the best idea come Monday morning . Damien Dempsey was soul filling and great to see such a big crowd. Kylie was grand but not a patch on the legends slot at Glastonbury a few years back.

Loved the ukulele choir and white horse guitar club. Trailer Park and Salty are just such good areas.Great to meet some familiar faces from here and have a chat.

Too many people in too small a place and too much has been given over to boutique camping in a money grab. Food was expensive but vendors telling us FR grabbing 25% of everything BEFORE it was passed to the vendors themselves.

All in all a good weekend.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

ANyone have a loyalty code. I've had 3 different response from Fest Rep all look automated so frustrating

'Majority of the crowd seemed to love them', 'this thread clearly don't represent the typical picnic demographic'......

Grand, Enda. Correct on both counts. Guess they should fold up the tents and feck off so, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭nc6000

Just realized King Kong Company weren't there this year, I think they've been on the bill in some form most of the years I've been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Fcuk do us boardsies need to step in and run it …. How hard could it be😱😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Bruce2008

"Only our rivers run free" kinda describes the mens urinals toilet situation too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 461 ✭✭shovel

My first time this year.we went on the Wednesday evening to the campervan site so we were in the A camper field. 5 minutes from the arena and 10 minutes from stradbally village.nothing in ep open but we heard the pubs in stradbally were rocking with music. Toilets and showers were good,but big queues.

Did no research on music but thought cmat was fantastic.

When we went to the main arena we went down the left hand side towards the toilets and went right and were surprised how near we got to the stage compared to the centre crowd.there was an emergency exit gate behind us that meant you were 2 minutes from the electric arena.they only opened it late in the evening but you could the avoid the crush at the 3 stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭rockterrain

I thought Kylie was very underwhelming to be honest. She's not my cup of tea granted but I came (easy now..) with an open mind. I did only stay for the first half of the set and I understand it got better but I'd seen enough. Seemed a bit forced and not that great musically.

I think back to similar occasions of female singers who I was not too keen on but to their credit delivered. One example I remember was Beyonce at Oxegen. I went in not expecting much but she put on an authentic dynamic performance that won over the middle ground. I get the impression it was mostly Kylie die hards that really enjoyed Sunday.

Ah now I never said that, it's just the way things have gone I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭thebronze14

I enjoyed her and I'm not a die hard by any stretch. Second half was much better. Didn't know many songs first half, knew the majority second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

This might sound weird and I wasn't there last weekend but for me electro and dance is suited to Fridays and Sats and guitars in all their guises sound better on Sundays. Kylie headlining Sat followed by Calvin Harris and then Wolfe Tones and Kasabian on Sun seems more logical and I think for the acts would have got a better reception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,082 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

A cool wee act I chanced upon while passing the Haunt on my way to see a bit of Kylie.

Acid Granny doing the Trad Porn Ceili.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭fourmations

Off topic, will there be a queue situation on TM for the loyalty in the morning, any point on trying early? Cheers