If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭SQ2

Lovely flashback to seeing Brian Kerr now it was mentioned!

13th EP year on the trot somehow here.

Missed the Friday this time and wasn't really bothered about it, but Saturday turned out to be a pretty good one

TCM - Wouldn't be the picnic without them

Mary Wallopers - Lead singer was caught in traffic and a few songs late, can't imagine that anxiety! Great set though.

Saw Doctors - Knocked it out of the park, crowd energy was brilliant.

Waterboys - First time seeing them but seasoned pro's really enjoyed this.

The Scratch -Personal weekend highlight, pure mental energy/craic fusion.

Calvin Harris - Overall it was too crowded and was the general consensus from anyone I spoke to. Not gone on DJ's but enjoyable enough.

Finished up on Spike Island with some late trad and plenty of laughs.

Sunday

Stranglers - Really good, will be digging up more of their old stuff after this.

Darnell Cole - 3rd time seeing him here, won't get tired of his behind the back guitar playing

Wolfe Tones - Made an effort to see them given the hype but after 3 songs decided it wasn't for us. Impressive crowd, but felt like we were at longitude given the age profile around us.

Tesky Brothers - Stumbled on these guys, very nice stuff altogether.

The evening kinda fell apart after that as there wasn't anything I was too interested in seeing. I was driving but said I'd hang on to take in Kylie and wished I didn't really. 30 minutes of her was more than enough.

Was wandering through a mini mosh pit Trailer Park and some poor guy either broke his leg or badly dislocated his knee during Post Punk Podge, it wasn't a pretty sight and wasn't interested in a second glance. They were still getting him out of there over half an hour later.

Toilets haven't expanded to meet the crowd and were just a pissy march my Saturday evening for the mens. That said, in the main, lads were using the toilets instead of just anywhere the way it used to be.

Our guess was there must be 100k there including staff etc, I spoke to one of the senior security guys there who thought there must be 120k there but thought it could take it ok. The Croí area is probably under utilized, so there is room to stick more events there I guess.

Sunday's wristband checks were really cranked up, tightened and toggle double checked. People being quizzed if they could prove they bought the tickets themselves. Security said there was a poor counterfeit Performer wristband being presented at the gates that all had the same serial number. A young lad trying to come in beside me on the Sunday was asked why he was coming in the yellow gate with a performer wristband, where did he get it. It didn't take long for him to get defensive and use the "I paid good money for it" line. 😂 Needless to say it was cut off him!

If we stayed away from the main stage area it could be feasible to enjoy future picnics. Perhaps just stick fencing around it, rename it Electric Longitude. That could work, right?!

That’d be a disaster. Eco an oasis surrounded by increased mayhem in general camping.

What are the problems? FR again? There were references to late music there on Sat night and people complaining to staff about it. Fair enough when it goes on to 8am but maybe too vociferous and Steven may have had enough?

Societal unfortunately but FR doing little to tackle it. We’ve discussed before the possibility of paying a deposit on a barcoded tent that you scan out on leaving. Or other suggestions, but none without big flaws.
    Have we now become so entitled as a nation that we expect someone else to clean up our crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭desk tidy

I had a lovely weekend as usual. No big must sees but we saw enough to just about keep us going. Can see where it seems to be heading though as they continue to chip away at the things that make it special.

I don't know why I get my hopes up but like some of you here I feel like the lineups can't get any worse and maybe it'll turn a corner next year. I know, I know!

Was great to see so many Boardsies about. @scruff monkey that was me who spoke to you at Salty Dog about your Air t-shirt. I only realised it was you after reading it here ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭nc6000

I don't like seeing all the waste and rubbish left behind but is there a case for the organizers setting a better example themselves?

They're the ones responsible for the overflowing bins everywhere and overflowing urinals. Maybe if they did a bit more themselves it might have a positive knock on effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Was an excellent point made earlier on 'ere that the weather was so forgiving this year. A muddy year and that is a completely different experience with crowd's, travel, rubbish and nasty af facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,082 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Had a decent week down there, but like others have mentioned it was away too crowded at times. This year I got a production wristband so it meant I was camped inside the festival perimeter, you could see the Electric Arena from my tent. Highlights Nas, Faithless, The Mary Wallopers, Not a big fan of the Saw Doctors but they put on a decent gig, this was my first time catching the Waterboys and they were amazing. Also caught Sophie Ellis Bextor which was probably the most poppiest thing I've saw, but a bit of a disco diva like Jesse Ware enjoyable enough. The Stranglers knocked it out of the park. Paddy Keenan in the Croi stage was great and a bit of Kylie, enjoyable enough but she waffled on a bit too much at times between songs. I finally made it to the Haunt on Sunday night to the sounds of Christine Beeps and enjoyed a bit of the Latchikos on the Croi stage. Will be uploading videos soon and starting the oul blog.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭HarryTheSpider

I think the overall fake 'green-ness' of the festival in general could be the root of the issue with BYE.

The ECO site could still be there next year, just run by someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭HarryTheSpider

Has anyone heard any info on how the Re-Turn stations worked out?

Were they refunding to your card/phone/revolut and was there a minimum you had to return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Birdie_12

The only way to properly tackle the filth is to divide the campsites into plots and assign a plot to a punter on arrival. But I know this is the stuff of fairytales. FR don't give a damn about the environment or sustainability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭dav09

A great weekend overall, many positives but some negatives too, a lot of problems this year that usually weren't there previously. Will likely go next year, hoping the lineup vastly improves though. Any idea how much loyalty 3+ will be? I think it was 205 last year from memory, expecting it to be 220ish this year. Also as I mentioned earlier as expected, they will be expanding next year. Will do a more thought out review/thoughts shortly.

As for rebranding, it would be fairly mental to do that to be honest, they've spent 20 years building a brand, that has a fairly positive image, sells out instantly every year, why throw that away. I presume it's more of a sponsorship think like 'Tik Tok's Electric Picnic'. Unless they wanted to go to a super-pop orientated lineup like Oxegen/Longitude but isn't really feasible in 2024, or split it into two festivals over two weekends, a more pop orientated one and a more alternative one, but can't see it making sense either way.

I don't understand the wolfe tones thing at all personally but each to their own, I agree with a lot of what was said earlier, I get it's a culture thing I don't find it progressive. I didn't bother going, walked passed it last year and looked like carnage, can't see why people my age are into it at all. I also hope it doesn't set precedence for Melvin and Co. booking these sort of acts, can't find any positives in it at all.

Also Nas was excellent, the crowd really got into it too, it's nonsense when people think hip hop isn't big here, sure it's not the biggest most popular thing here but there is a huge following. Faithless very good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭PhoneMain

I said I'd give my review. Speaking as a blow in here who qualifies for resident tickets. I've only been twice, wouldnt be a big gig goer and only went for Saturday.

I thought it was great, it's very cool being able to see the lights/ferris wheel/amusements from my bedroom window. Other years Friday was the main day for traffic but this year Thursday was crazy. We'd live on a slip road from the motorway that I'd imaging google maps directs people up so it was really busy, a lot of younger drivers driving too fast for too small a road. But Friday was v quiet. I know there was issues with getting out the N80 but in general the plan seems to have worked very well. Traffic management seems to have worked well tho otherwise and the local facebook/whatsapp groups didnt have much complaining about traffic this year, other years there'd have been a lot.

We have smallies so we get in early on the day we go, the arena seemed to get busier this year earlier than last year. We were back in again for the late night shenanigans and the main arena was crazy busy for Calvin Harris. I'd imaging Wolfe Tones were crazy.

We'll get weekend tickets in a couple of years time when kids are older but obv will go home. There's a couple of decent places in the village itself for food so I'd always recommend people to head up there for some decent fare if you're that way inclined. Pat McDonagh was manning the queues at the Supermacs trucks, he had everyone moving quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Only my second EP after a lonnnnng break (Last one was 2007 prior to last year). It had its plusses and minuses:

The Plusses:

• It is EXTREMELY clean. I know many have said that the bins were overflowing but I've been to some right sh*tshows and, in comparison, EP is exceptionally clean
    • The screens on the main stage are amazing. I have never seen ones as crystal clear as them
    • The crowd, in general was great (With some exceptions. See below)
    • Sound at most places was good and there were lots of little nooks and crannies in the woods if you didn't want to see Calvin Harris or Kylie

The Minuses:

• As a 50+ yearold with bad legs, I REALLY wish you could bring in a chair as I found standing still tough (Walking easier). But, this is mainly our own fault. You KNOW somebody's gonna chuck a chair if they were allowed in en-masse.
    • Not being able to bring in your own booze is also a pain. I know SOME of it is for the same reason as above but it does increase costs a lot.
    • Food was only OK and was expensive at the campsites.
    • Campsites need more toilet facilities.
    • They REALLY should invest in compost/sawdust toilets. They are SO much better than Portaloos. (Although, in general, they were in very good shape)
    • While the crowd was, in general, great, there was still a bit of coked-up tension. I didn't have any interest in The Wolf Tones so was leaving and, on two separate occasions on the was out, some little scrote stepped infront of me: "Why are you heading out? HUH?". They got the same response: Nothing.

Lineup was definitely "Meh" but that was never the make or break for me at a festival and I did enjoy my time there again. And will most certainly go again. It was in general very positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Nux_BlackThumb

Just a comment on the cokey-ness - makes for a slightly more poxy atmosphere for sure, especially the white eyed human centipedes running blindly through/into crowds at the main stage etc.

Also - why, oh why, oh why do they all need to queue up for the (not enough) portaloos? can't they just take key or coin bumps outside in the crowd like real men/women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

With reference to the Thursday apparently being busier than usual; could this be down to the date change? More people on holidays in mid-August than the usual start of September.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I actually think they're quite good. Definitely better out there even in the Rebel category but I always thought they were decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Do Planxty have any "ra" chants in their oeuvre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Just on the chair issue - on their EP website its said no camping equipment allowed into the main arena (even though i saw a fair few chairs) but those telescopic pop up seats don't falll under that so i brought mine to chance it in.

Low and behold, I saw loads of them in the arena. Apparently a stall selling them so its good thing to note for next year

These are them for reference

https://amzn.eu/d/fDl6Cyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,082 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I supposed the nearest they came to that was Follow me up to Carlow or The Pursuit of Farmer Michael Hayes.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Those pics make me cringe. It's embarrassing stuff. We spent decades kicking against this shite and it's all been welcomed back with open arms. I'm not just talking the Wolfe Tones here (incoming unpopular opinion) but the likes of Mary Wallopers, The Scratch, return of The Saw Doctors. I dunno, it seems like we have regressed a bit just at a point in time when the music being produced in Ireland is something to be proud of.

I'm probably just an unremitting music snob (guilty). Or it's a ploy to use the folk/trad revival as a vanguard for the rising tide of nationalism and these acts will reveal themselves to be right-wingers all along. It's surely no coincidence that the two have occurred simultaneously and the youth are getting restless (joke).

F@ck it, i'm just rambling…

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭French Toast

Need separate cubicle lines for those doing coke and those genuinely needing a shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Nux_BlackThumb

I think you need to review your own opinions - People enjoying Irish music is not regression..

JFC those acts are all antifascists, perhaps you should have gone and listened to them.. they all made their points before and during their sets - and I can tell you for sure they were not throwing out right wing talking points…

You are rambling, rambling very very far off the mark tbh ☺️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭jams100

2nd EP and first time in Eco. Have to say I enjoyed this year much more than I was initially expecting, was probably reading too many negative comments on the lineup.

Friday:
    Wasn't for me, went to acts that the mate was more interested in (Cinnamon and Kahan). Neither done it for me, but Sophie Ellis baxtor was decent, she knew her crowd and done a good few covers.
    Sat:
    Very nice to wake up and have toilets that aren't destroyed, and to be able to grab a cup of tea. Started in main stage with Someboys child, then to Amble, Moncrieff, Saw Doctors, Kasabian, Aslan and then Harris. Moncrieff was very impressive, bags of energy and Kasabian we were right at the front, amazing atmosphere, Sergio is a fantasic lead!
    Aslan really miss Christy, more a cover band now imo. Harris wasn't too bad either, massive crowd at it. Finally spent some time around Salty, Mother then Rave in the woods.
    Sun:
    Didn't sleep much at all so was a rough start. Few cans and straight down to the Stranglers, really enjoyed that. Then off to Darren Kiely, David Kushner (Both bland imo). Then to the Wolfe Tones, Tom Grennan and CMAT(Wow she can perform). Then finished off with Raye and Kylie. Raye was terrible in my opinion, she went with a Frank Sinatra vibe with the Dublin Gospel choir behind her. It just didn't work and not what the crowd was there for imo. Kylie was alright, was about what I expected.

Pros:
    Weather.
    Eco campsite is a lovely place with great people.
    Crowd in general were fine no real issues.
    Plenty of options for food / other places to go like Salty, Trenchtown etc.
    The mainstage screens I always enjoy, even if you find yourself at a bad angle to stage its not bad.

Cons:
    Dirty disco in Eco playing loud music until about 7 or 8am on the Sunday morning. Completely understand people complaining.
    Pissing and this includes ladies (Covered by others).
    Main stage way overcrowded. They need to allow a one way system from either the electic arena to the mainstage or allow exit only from main stage to electric arena, or just change the overall layout.
    Lack of bins outside Eco capsite and bins that were provided weren't even segregating waste properly.
    Lastly, s**my people in the carpark dumping whatever on the ground rather than throwing rubbish into the boot and taking it home. I just can't get my head around people like that.

Overall, enjoyable and will try get a presale ticket tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dk1982

Who's the "we" you speak about? What a truly weird weird post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Nothing weird about it. I get the point he's making. Seems to me the fuel for change in this country has been division and anger and hatred for as long as I've been around. That's understandable if you've dealt with oppression in your day to day life like lots of people in the North did. We're in a different place now with different arseholes to contend with. Nothing wrong with wanting an Irish Republic. All about the message you deliver. I've never been to a Wolfe Tones gig, nor will I be but the Wallopers, while making clear their Republican views deliver a fecking brilliant, unifying message. It's not about Brits or Irish or Catholic or Protestant or any of that shite. It's let's come together and get angry at the real problems. It's positive energy, same for the Scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭chicken foot

Possibly the most ignorant take I've seen yet. You don't have a clue what you're talking about clearly. I also find your self professed tag of being a "music snob" to be way off the mark. Youre not that, youre small minded and afraid of what other people may think. Had you have taken yourself to ANY of the Irish bands playing, your eyes alone would have answered your own query.

The Mary Whallopers & his "Refugees Welcome" t-shirt, The WT referencing the Israeli slaughter of Gazan children, Damien Dempsey singing about the colonised, Kneecap with a clear message on Israel and US military presence in Ireland. As someone old enough to remember bombings, shootings and unrest, I will sing every nationalist song I want with gusto and I promise you this, I will do this whilst not walking down the Shankill Rd alongside the UDF claiming "Ireland is Full". Nationalism does not equal Right-wing, not here it doesn't. You seem to be mixing us up with the US & the UK. Horrendous comment, I hope you reflect on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭darzog

in advance of a rambling review, I’m going to throw out a wild prediction. Wednesday entry a la Glastonbury will be a thing in the near future. So Wednesday will become the new Thursday. Bars and food trucks open, limited access to arena. Thursday will be the new Friday. Things properly opening from mid-late afternoon. Driving people in earlier = spreading out arrivals and more transactions at the vendors going into FR coffers. Won’t need significantly more acts as there is so much recycling going on. Darnell Cole, WHGC, Sexytadhg, Molgoggers, Mik Pyro just a small percentage of acts that played multiple stages. I could be wrong, but I feel this is the inevitable direction of traffic…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭joinme

Ah now, Arthur McBride is quintessentially an anti-imperialistic, and anti-British colonial ditty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭joinme

I think there' s a good point in there particularly regarding the Saw Doctors. I can't believe the amount of positive reviews for them in this thread, something I think you would have been unlikely to read when EP lineups were far stronger. (And maybe SD's wouldnt have been booked).

Now we are so deprived of top tier acts, it seems there is a reevaluation of the quality, and eagerness to praise fairly mediocre bookings