Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Moving to Ireland...

Answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 OHCAC

I know but would be good to get some ideas or where's nice and where to avoid before I spend it all on a shitload of holidays!

Something like that could be perfect, thanks a lot.

Might be the way to go, best of both worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭SteM

My wife moved from London to Ireland back in 2001 and has had no problems. She has more friends here now then n I do! We're not down the country though.

When I look at those C4 shows about moving to France it looks nice. Better value than moving to Ireland and much better weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

You'll never have a problem as long as you don't upset the neighbours.

I'm in clare and there's a huge diversity of people around me, English, German, Dutch, American, Australian and many more and they seem to be happy with their lot. Crime is pretty much non existent where I am, not saying it doesn't happen but we're lucky to live where we are and we never have too much trouble even with the large influx of refugees and asylum seekers into the local hotels

Integration is key, introduce yourself to the neighbours, Ireland is a very welcoming place if you put in the leg work, join the local Facebook/WhatsApp/social media groups and get to know the locals. Use local services and get local tradesmen to do your work and you'll be known everywhere you go in a short space of time

Ignore the people saying it's not suitable, it'll be what you make of it, people who aren't happy in one place are very often not happy anywhere and never make an effort to get to know the area or the local people.

The downside which I've seen over the years is city people may find the transition from city to rural life hard enough if you're used to having cinemas, shopping, theatres, sports etc close by, we have these but you'll have to travel for them

Good luck with your search, I hope it goes well for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,227 ✭✭✭yagan

I know of an English man arrested in limerick who was arrested and bound to the peace for writing Muslims out on the local chipper.

Without a link to the incident you cited how do we know the motivation behind the death?

Theres an English lad with a YouTube channel with zero connection to Ireland who moved somewhere in West Cork to do what you described.

He was very idealistic so he had good descriptions of stuff that surprised him but we wouldn't even think about mentioning.

One thing I think he repeated was how long winter will feel if you've never lived rural before.

London is a hole. Ridiculous number of stabbings and other crime. Filthy streets. Very expensive. Honestly can't think of much good to say about it.

Don't suppose you know the name of his channel? Might be worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

A Muslim guy decapitated a gay man and seriously injured another in Sligo very recently, is it now an anti gay hell hole where Muslims cut the head off homosexuals. Overall there is very little racism in Ireland but the media would have you believe otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

I moved over to Connaught from London back in 2003 with 3 young daughters and was the best thing I ever did. We had the benefit of wifes family being originally from the area and we had visited regularly over previous summers. Happy to chat via PM if tyou wish to ask anything

Yes, I did hear of that, as well as the priest being stabbed in Galway the other day. See this is the type of thing I want to get away from. I know it can happen anywhere, it's just the number of occurrences that make a difference.

Thanks, I'll be taking you up on that offer.

I'll have a look later and post it if I find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

I was just going to say Loughrea in Galway is actually quite nice. Lots of schools to choose from the town has all. Mind nothing really in the evenings to do with kids as most places everything bar the pub closes which is very annoying.. The weather is awful also, very windy and wet :)… To be honest Id go abroad rather than Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Anyone saying you won't get a decent house plus that kind of acreage for 750k is talking nonsense tbh - here's a house in Meath for 100k below your budget with 8.5 acres and you'd probably get something better or for less as you move further away from Dublin:

Angsana, Isaacstown, Rathmolyon, Co. Meath, A83XE04 is for sale on Daft.ie

One in Westmeath with 14 acres for ~600k:

Moortown, Fore, Co. Westmeath, N91CA32 is for sale on Daft.ie

Sligo, 700k although the 6 acres is mostly woodland:

Lorien, Rosses Lower, Rosses Point, Co. Sligo, F91V8Y6 is for sale on Daft.ie

Mayo, 725k with 1.2 acres and sounds like an option to buy some more:

Drumsheel Lower, Cong, Cong, Co. Mayo, F31F951 is for sale on Daft.ie

As regards "low crime", most places in Ireland have low crime rates and generally speaking if it's a rural area, that will apply so you should have no worries there.

Schools outside the big cities will generally have no waiting lists or anything like that so again, should be fine. Most towns over 6-7k would have at least one secondary school I'd say.

If you have a list of other things you'd like to have in a place, it would help narrow down the search area. You mention you were born in Ireland so it might make sense to go somewhere close enough to there so you'd have some sort of a connection with the area

Of course not, Ireland is a very safe country in general it's just an observation that those who come here with romantic notions tend not to get on as well.

Rural Ireland is not some sort of pastoral idil untouched by modernity

Nice one, some beautiful houses you've included there, never thought about Westmeath to be honest always thought more about Cork and Kerry but it'd be worth my while lookingat different areas.

My family are all in Dublin and in areas that I wouldn't get what I'm looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

All ill say is if you want a few acres you'll most likely be beside land being farmed.

So for your own sake don't be one of these that think it's acceptable to ring the Gardai cause you don't like the smell of slurry in the field beside you, making noise complaints because there's cows and calfs roaring at each other or walking out into a field to try and stop lads baling and wrapping in the summer after 8/9pm

We had a couple of houses bought where this nonsense started one a UK couple, another US.

Let's just say the local Gardai on getting calls had to sit down and have a chat with the homeowner's that this wasn't central London/New York. The same people sold up after constantly moaning that the community was "cold and unwelcoming"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

had my mum giving out that they were baling silage at midnight several years ago. had to tell that's the way it is. that machinery is going 24 hours a day when the weather's right. n

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

Ah no, I'm well aware that there will be things I'm not used to, sights and smells etc! Just like the freedom the country has to offer, but of lands for the kids to run around in, being able to grow my own food etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,467 ✭✭✭enricoh

Know plenty of Brits living here, many met their Irish missus over there n relocated here. Most of em happy enough here I reckon.

Property prices are inflated due to multinationals corporation taxes here, I think that is going to be under pressure going forward and we are peak prices.

Mates moved to France and I was astounded as to what they got in a rural town for 250k. Maybe the area was undesirable, I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Definitely better value, that's for sure. 750k is about five times as much as you'd need for a decent house and 2ha.

My neighbours' 4-bed 3-rec +2ha has just gone on the market for 120k. Very rural; bus stop 100m away (free travel to/from school for the children), three railway stations within 25km. Son No.1 + GF have just spent a long weekend with me, having public transported themselves from Antwerp.

I have strong family ties to rural Ireland, east and extreme west, but having sampled the continental lifestyle, there's no way I'd swap it now for a modern Irish one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

just my tuppence worth …..

Very hard to get away from it all AND have facilities ….. its usually one or the other. You can go to a remote area and get house & land for that money, but you wont have great amenities / facilities. The closer you get to Tesco, the more the price goes up. It may seem attractive now to be miles away from shops / noise / motorways , but if you get sick and need an ambulance (or fire brigade, etc) then you are in trouble. In the Ambulance service they talk about death-by-geography, where some 999 call that could be dealt with in very straightforward way if in a big town / city , then becomes life threatening if you are an hour away from a big town. And thats a lot of Kerry , Cork , etc

However ….. my mate worked for a long time in Bantry and said the place was full of Dutch / English / Germans etc who wanted to leave the rat-race behind but still wanted good broadband (that was his joke) , so thats my recommendation for balance (well, the general area of W Cork / Bantry). And with a great mix of nationalities , the ex-Londoner wont be slagged to death (because that will happen in lots of areas)

Last recommendation, visit a few places before you settle. Dublin is not Ireland. Make a list, bring car over and stay a while in local B&Bs and see what you like. Its a big decision, so take your time.

Hope you find something that ticks all your boxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭gipi

Another thing to keep in mind is the availability of good broadband, if that's important to you. You haven't mentioned how you're going to earn a living, (not that I want to know), but if, for example, you'll be a remote worker, the quality of broadband could be make or break for an area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

starlink is a bit of a game changer in that regar. we live less than 2km from a town and never had good Internet. bit of a blackspot for mobile as well go starlink a few months ago and its been brilliant.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Unknownability

I have never heard anybody state his accent was anything to do with his murder.

Terrible thing to associate with it especially as it's the time of his anniversary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,193 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

There was a peasant who for years had coveted his neighbor's house; not for the house itself, which was almost a ruin, but for the land that was attached to it. He offered to buy the property, but his neighbor, taking advantage of the sharp rise in house prices, accepted a higher offer from a Parisian. During the winter, the Parisian spent millions of francs renovating the house and installing a swimming pool. Finally, the work is finished, and the Parisian and his chic friends come down for the long First of May weekend. They are charmed by the house and amused by the quaint old peasant who lives next door, particularly by his habit of going to bed at eight o'clock. The Parisian household is awakened at four in the morning by Charlemagne, the peasant's large and noisy cockerel, who crows nonstop for two hours. The Parisian complains to the peasant. The peasant shrugs. It is the country. Cocks must crow. That is normal. The next morning, and the morning after that, Charlemagne is up and crowing at four o'clock. Tempers are getting frayed, and the guests return to Paris early, to catch up on their sleep. The Parisian complains again to the peasant, and again the peasant shrugs. They part on hostile terms. In August, the Parisian returns with a houseful of guests. Charlemagne wakes them punctually every morning at four. Attempts at afternoon naps are foiled by the peasant, who is doing some work on his house with a jackhammer and a loud concrete mixer. The Parisian insists that the peasant silence his cockerel. The peasant refuses. After several heated exchanges, the Parisian takes the peasant to court, seeking an injunction to restrain Charlemagne. The verdict is in favor of the peasant, and the cockerel continues his early morning serenades. Visits to the house eventually become so intolerable that the Parisian puts it up for sale. The peasant, acting through a friend, manages to buy most of the land. The Sunday after the purchase goes through, the peasant and his friend celebrate with a huge lunch, the main course of which is Charlemagne, turned into a delicious coq au vin.

Maybe Province is out for the OP too…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭beachhead

Sounds like an excellent french cine plot.Only problem 2 people would need at least 2 cockerels each to make a meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭beachhead

It wasn't.he was at a late party that went wrong for him.I'd say due to xenophobia at it's heart.