Russia-Ukraine War

• Site Banned Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

To quote Trump:

”China”

China are a key ally to Russia against the west. They will turn on Russia if they use nukes. Any nuclear enabled country does not want any other country getting nukes. If Russia normalise their use more countries will look to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭Homelander

Because the second even a small tactical nuke is used the game is over, US would simply obliterate Russian forces in Ukraine and over the border as well.

Also Putin doesn't have a button on his desk he just pushes. To use any sort of nuclear weapon would require multiple levels of compliance and clearance and it would overwhelmingly likely end up with Putin being removed/killed.

He can maintain control and obediance to a point because no-one knows when this conflict will end and what a post conflict Russia will look like, and everyone wants to remain in the dictators good books.

Moment he tries to use nuclear weapons all that goes out the window and self preservation swings the other way. A lot of the higher-ups could easily stomach a defeat but the complete destruction of Russia/start of a nuclear exchange is a different thing altogether.

Obviously you can't gamble with these things hence US insistence on limitations on long range weapons and slow feed of equipment.

The aim of the game is to make Russia unable to continue the war due to brutal attrition, internal pressure and facing a sheer unsustainable war that leaves no choice eventually but to withdraw/come to the table.

The US could give Ukraine weaponry that would effectively (if not literally) end the war in a few weeks if it wanted but that would run the risk of nuclear escalation even if said risk remained small for various reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

A Russian optimist and pessimist were having a conversation, the pessimist said: "at least it can't get worse". The optimist replied: "yes it can".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

That question raises a good point about this Kursk offensive. Ukraine has made it more obvious to the world that Russia with its nuclear threats to the west is just saber rattling. There should be much less of a fear now by western countries (looking at you, Germany) to donate weapons to the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Saw some updates on x that Ukraine have been planting flags that say “Kursk peoples republic”. Gotta love their humour

It was obvious before that Russia was sabre rattling.

There wasn’t a hope in hell Russia would have dropped a nuke

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Yes. To defeat the Russian savages and defend civilization. Modest aims in some respects, but also the most noble of aims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,791 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

A threat that gets less serious with each sinking lol

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,791 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Important thing is pilot is okay

Russians also claiming patriot and an Iris-T was also taken out, but I've seen zero proof it it.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

Putin: “Russia has no borders”

^ I bet he is regretting that quote now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Should be noted there's no negative news reports allowed in Russia. This is instructed to be repeated abroad by it's actors. So the 45% above says my friends or acquaintances not me personally and it can't say 50% or above as the FSB will be after them. But even the point of the news item put out there, when you go by the pressure that the Kremlin are putting on news agencies with the threat of death, means it may as well be 98% reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

"He could not remain indifferent to everything that was happening in our world." A farewell ceremony was held in Tambov for musician Pavel Kushnir, who died in the Birobidzhan pretrial detention center. About 30 people came to say goodbye to the pianist. He was buried next to the grave of his father, Mikhail Kushnir. "Sirena"

Tweet and translation of the murder of Pavel Kushnir in detention for his very small opposition to Putin's genocide of Russian men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭weisses

Ahh so you are also unable to elaborate on these aims … just link dump a twitter post and that's it

Christ …any more open doors you wanna kick in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭rogber

You do realise Germany is the biggest donor of weapons to Ukraine after the USA?

You asked what the aims are (implying there are none) and I provided a reference to the official aims as outline by Zelenskys office, if you are unable to read and comprehend 5-6 sentences in the linked post, I can’t do that for you.

No one here in Ireland should tell other countries they should step up … the fuckin hypocrisy wit their Neutral stance

regarding the video Russian marines made today of someone they beheaded and then put the video up online (X, Reddit etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Detritus70

This video has me intrigued, there are noises coming from the Baltic states that they are not willing to stand idly by any longer and are seeking a more direct involvement.

If this happens, Putin has several options. He can just ignore it and keep on fighting and losing and proving he's a toothless coward. Or he could attack the Baltic states and with that, NATO.

Two less likely options are he uses nukes, but I sometimes doubt they have any working ones left. Or he could negotiate for peace, but he's far too deep into this to tuck his tail in, he will never surrender, he'll eat a bullet first or be done away with.

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭briany

Highly doubt that the Baltic states would get actively involved in Ukraine unless the war gets to the point where Ukraine is getting close to exhausting its resources.

Getting involved in the war presents a thorny issue for the Baltic states because they themselves are supplied with NATO equipment. It could get testy with NATO high command if they then wanted to use that stuff to undertake unilateral actions which haven't been signed off on.

A potential happy medium would be for NATO or just some NATO countries to enter Ukraine as a peacekeeping force and line out along the border with Belarus or something like that. They could say that they're there to limit potential Russian attack vectors, but they're not on an offensive footing. However, they will defend as necessary.

Ireland has feck all it could realistically offer Ukraine militarily. What could it offer? We have a barely-there Defence Forces ourselves. Vast majority of countries our size or smaller have vastly better equipped militaries.

Other Western countries do have equipment, or access to equipment, that would make a meaningful difference.

Not saying personally they should be "stepping up" but I don't see how it's hypocrisy for an Irish person to say they should give more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,703 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Especially if a poster also advocates for eg greater Irish defence spending and may even urge consideration of military pacts ... in response to Russian aggression.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭riddles

I believe the Russians Americans have a comms channel to ensure no nuclear mistakes happen in this regard.

Could the handful of prop planes our air corps have be useful?

Apparently old prop planes like YAKs have been very useful in Ukraine for taking down drones on the cheap and saving expensive AA missiles for more important targets

And or maybe help with training?

Anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

If we were to breach our neutrality (that's debatable) I'd rather we spend the money buying Ukraine AA systems or shells, tanks etc… We don't have to provide it from our own stocks, just buy from defense contractors and deliver to Ukraine.

Maybe we need 1 or 2 radars and AA systems in the future, grand order it and deliver to Ukraine and let them break it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭Polar101

It's easy to say "countries should send more weapons" or "NATO should send troops" when you don't have any to send, or aren't in NATO. No-one on the Russian border actually wants to fight Russia, and being in the same alliance is a good way to prevent that from happening. Russia knows it as well, and attacked Georgia and Ukraine instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭vixdname

Just being inquisitive, but what weaponry could the US give Ukraine that could end the war in a few weeks ?

Countries sending weapons and Nato sending troops are vastly different things and there's a grand canyon between them, no-one with any sort of vague knowledge about the situation thinks the latter is remotely plausible.

I agree, no-one wants to get dragged into the war with Russia. I'm also not saying personally that X country should be doing more, sending more, whatever - was just pointing out that it's not hypocrisy for an Irish person to suggest that.

The drip-feed is part politics and very much part logic to avoid sudden escalation. Putin is hanging himself slowly everyday, he cannot keep this going for years, but at the current rate the war is a) unwinnable and b) he's got no credibility to escalate and likely would be removed from power the moment he tried to do so.

A sudden massive influx of western weapons that would annihilate Russian forces would be too much too soon, if you believe the potential for a nuclear incident at even 100/1 is too great a risk.