What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

Any of the pubs on the strip in Puerta Banus. Drug riddled dives. I was there with friends about 20 yrs ago when one of them bumped into a guy and spilled some of his drink. The guy pulled out a knife in the bar and told us he would stab every one of us. A regular in the bar, think it was Sinatras, told us the guy was a well known English drug dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

The Ritz in Lisdoonvarna, was a great pub years ago but anytime I go into it now its full of 30 somethings openly selling and taking coke, I was in one night in September and the local scumbags have cosied up with a few Ukrainian scumbags being given shelter and safety in one of the local hotels to form a sort of drug gang, you can now get your beer, drugs and a hooker all in one, it was a solid place one time but lax management has turned it into a serious sh1thole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,930 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

J’Daves in Lake City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

The World's End in Kilkenny was definitely an eye opener. Some terrifying locals, from the moment I entered I never felt all that comfortable. In saying that nothing negative materialised, but every sentence and piece of conversation was laced with lingering tenacity, it felt like I was a competitor in a survivor competition.

Some locals suffer from their own inability to generate a healthy atmosphere, Irish people are constantly skeptical and hate having their routines unsettled, that can be as simple as staring at a Vampire Lord they have never seen before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

If The Harbour Bar of old in Galway hasn't been mentioned.....there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,749 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I've been in every one of those bars and every ludicrous story that you hear like this is completely and utterly true. PB has fallen down in the world and is a pox-ridden slime-hole now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,638 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The Diamond Jubilee on the Shankill Road.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Jim Byrnes wee pub in Queen's NYC ,

Long story how i ended up there once ,still not sure if it was dangerous or just full of odd balls,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,523 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My Dad was a childhood friend of Terry Killeen / Killion The owner of The Castle… he eventually sold up because of the hassle involved running it. Made a pretty penny I believe but the effort involved and apparently he was targeted by gangsters looking for protection and in the end he just got out… man had a wife and 3 young kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,146 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

My friends got mugged with a knife by an Irish guy who had ‘befriended’ us in one of those pubs. Dodgy place, dodgy people

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Guinness, it was Ian Paisleys description of it.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Fair enough.

To be honest, it was a very tense affair. I'd to order the drinks as I was with two lads - one from Ballymun and the other from Cork - since I'd a Donegal accent. We got three pints of lager, necked them and got the f*ck out. There was a shop just behind the bar and it very much seemed like the sort of place where non-locals got made very, very quickly.

There was a parade of some sort on outside, plenty of police officers with MP5's and posters of murdered soldiers on every lamp post. Dodgy seems a bit redundant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Michealog

Pssssst

that sounds like Holy hour in Ti Padraicins in the late 70’s

without the sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Dubarrys on Princes st ,long closed, in Belfast docklands for a bet, went to buy a drink and the uncle Andy character at the end of the bar opened his jacket to reveal a revolver and told us to "sling your hook before ye get into trouble""

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Lionel Fusco

The Capel Inn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

Was in the tower's,an experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There was a pub that opened on benburb St pre luas I happened to fall into many years ago, must have been the only person who either wasn't dealing or on the game, literally every girl in the place was a Hooker, I remember the manager saying come here and sit and the bar and have one drink and I'll organize a taxi, don't talk to anyone they all either think your a guard or a tourist and won't last 5 mins if it kicks off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

There’s a bar right in the middle of Courtown in Wexford, sort of a prefab style “Ambrose Mcgintys” ?! or something like that -

Gets fairly tasty in there on summer weekends when it is packed with sunburned, thirsty “ah jaysis howyas” from conflicting parts of Dublin !

Post edited by Beechwoodspark on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Noctor's of Sheriff St probably. The Blacker pub/nightclub in the 2000s was an absolute sh*thole full of scumbags too, it's a gym now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ambrose Moloneys, a good spot for traveller funerals as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,523 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was in the blacker once about 15 years ago….renamed Liz Delaney’s by then. Still referred to as the blacker though. Lad I worked with had his 40th there.

It was his local and we were told by him that if anything untoward should happen just say “ look I’m here with JF’s gang at the 40th.” Don’t think he was a ‘head’ or connected just he was a regular regular so us blow ins were left alone. Pub was quite run of the mill , drink was dirt cheap, the beer tasted rank, remembering going on the bottle’s because I couldn’t stomach the warm piss being served as draught…..upstairs, lots of hard looking cases, obviously coke had just became a big thing, proper auld auldfellas in the jacks taking it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

The Lantern Inn in Ballybane in Galway. It's closed about five or six years now i'd say, but it was a very lively enough spot back in the day. It had a how shall i put it very cultural clientele let's say.😉 I'd say the guards lost count of the amount of times they were called out to the place!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,784 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

will some of the D4/Ringsend pubs be rough around the Engerland match next month ?

Planning on revisiting The Yacht Tavern in Ringsend. Its not a rough pub but id imagine if you go in acting the bollocks youd find out quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭thebronze14

The Swiss was my local for two years 2008-10😂 we used to have great craic in it, some odd fish around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Hells angel bar in Canada.

The following night walking past it two of them came over asked if I was coming in that night, real friendly, greeted me by name,seems I rocked the place hard night before and made lots of friends.

No idea that I had been there. Off the trolley in whiskey and a yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,784 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

yeah quiet like it and not overly expensive either

great spot before a gig in the 3Arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,690 ✭✭✭Archeron

I have fond memories of the Black Sheep (BaaBaas) at Northside shopping centre. After the black sheep i think it became Liz Delaneys with a nightclub upstairs.

There seemed to be a fashion in pubs then that they had no windows, but on the inside there would be large mirrors with curtains where the windows should be. Very strange.

Last time i saw it, it was a gym.