Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Denmark are clearly far right and spreading misinformation. We should welcome all these lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Sweden really fucked up big time and will pay for this for years to come (if they arent already) and unfortunately i'm afraid Ireland is following down the same route

In the article you provided it mentions Swedish teenagers, not surprising considering that in Sweden crime rates among the youth have been rising, with particularly gruesome incidents being highlighted in the media, like this one involving the murder of a teenage girl by two teenage girls:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13683291/amp/Pyjama-party-murder-Sweden-girl-kidnapped-killed.html

https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2023/aug/27/sweden-seeks-to-stem-deadly-rise-in-youth

Ireland is nowhere near the level of criminal behaviour among the younger generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I can't read the article it's behind a paywall.

I know there's been a rise in drug related gang crime in Sweden that people are blaming on immigration.

It's come up several times in the thread.

Doesn't concern me, I think the Irish drug gangs have it pretty sewn up here. Nice peaceful gentle types that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Probably out sourced security hiring some form of trained foreign mercenaries, it's genuinely crazy stuff what are these people masquerading as leaders doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I didn’t imagine anything other than to try and figure out how you were coming up with those figures of between 50 and 70%. I couldn’t, so I said I’d ask, seeing as there is no reliable data available.

I do take your point that with fairly few direct flights from countries where asylum seekers are coming from that the actual figure is closer to 100%, but that’d be letting your imagination run away with itself, which is why reliable data would be infinitely more useful in determining policy decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

If those were Ukranians who fled war to come here and act the heavy it would really take the **** biscuit and show it all up for the sham it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,988 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Look I get it was never fully finished but could you imagine the hell hole Ballumun would be without the regeneration. They knocked the flats and ballymunners left the ghetto with many spreading around the country.

I'm sure the recession was partly to blame for them not seeing it through but let's not pretend there wasn't a massive improvement.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

You quoted the origin of those figures in your response? I agree though, those figures are undoubtedly an underestimation, if the Department of Justice is basing the figures off of those with evidence of passing through a different EU Member State only, then they are excluding a considerable proportion of secondary movements, as the EU Parliament briefing note points out, plenty will pass through a country without being recorded by officials. Plus, as you say, Ireland is an island with effectively no direct flights or ferries to asylum producing countries which means it probably is considerably higher than 70% being secondary movements. It would be fantastic if the Department of Justice were to provide further data but with it likely to demonstrate that the figures are even higher than 70% I doubt they will.

Whoa, whoa, stall on there, I think you might have misunderstood. I was asking where YOU got your figures from, not where I got my figures from, cos I know where I got them from, and they’re useless, but you’re generally very good at providing sources, so that’s why I was asking.

As for the estimates themselves, well given the nature of secondary movement you could use your imagination and come up with an estimate of 100% based upon direct flights from other EU countries to Ireland, but you can immediately see the issue there? The figure is meaningless! I wasn’t the one who said anything originally about direct flights, you did. The reason I make that point is because direct flights aren’t the only means by which they are reaching Ireland. Only a couple of weeks ago there was a number of them pulled from a container off a ferry, another group found in a container off a lorry which travelled across the continent, and that isn’t considered secondary movement, it’s human trafficking.

The mention of estimates of secondary movement doesn’t mean anything in terms of returning failed asylum seekers to their previous countries from whence they came because most of the time it seems impossible to determine where they came from, let alone where they originally came from, and then to try and return them is another issue in itself when those countries refuse to accept them back!

It really WOULD be fantastic if the Department of Justice actually had the data, but as another poster linked to an article where Helen McEntee provided the same 50 to 70% estimates, it’s reasonable to conclude that all it demonstrates is that they don’t have the data either. They can’t provide what they don’t have, and your guessing based upon your imagination isn’t of any use whatsoever, whether you imagine the percentages are higher or lower than they actually are.

All I wanted to know was your source for the claim so I could examine the data for myself and see how you were coming up with the estimated percentages. It turns out you were just repeating what you’d read elsewhere without actually questioning it. I just thought that was odd because you’re usually able to support your claims, most of the time anyway, but on this one you’re expecting I should rely on your imagination. You must surely be able to see why I wouldn’t consider your imagination a reliable source of information in relation to the movements of asylum seekers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,240 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I don't hate anybody.

I don't like Roderic O'Gorman inviting AS making bogus claims to come here.

Anybody who deliberatley discards their travel documents is, by definition, a scammer.

They are trying to become refugees, whereas, in fact, they are economic migrants.

So, they are fake refugees. I don't use that term myself, but I can see that it is accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,240 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I contend that all, or nearly all, of the 140,000 AS during the past twnety years have been bogus.

There wasn’t a massive improvement, it’s still in the same shape it was before, though I can absolutely understand the need to pretend otherwise:

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40249259.html

That’s not as a result of failing immigration policies, it’s a reflection of the fact that there was plenty of money there, but it was frittered away on administration, and then there was nothing left to cover the costs of rebuilding. Same story in Limerick. It wasn’t that the money wasn’t there, it was that the interest wasn’t there in rebuilding or actual regeneration. A few people partied like it was 1999 and then there was nothing left.

The regeneration crowds weren’t the only ones frittering away money (as you made the point earlier about how the money being provided for asylum seekers accommodation could be better spent elsewhere, on homeless services for example), local councils have been taking the piss for decades:

https://www.thejournal.ie/mayo-county-council-pays-e1-2-million-audit-5663599-Jan2022/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40359824.html

https://www.limerickpost.ie/2024/06/05/limerick-council-given-e10m-to-address-residential-dereliction/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40263458.html

How much more in public funding would you wish to see given to local councils to piss down the swanee, and then try to hand back what they just couldn’t spend, or just didn’t want to spend? Government is literally throwing money at them, and they won’t spend it. You can’t say Government are at fault that they’re not providing for homeless services or throwing money at communities to improve their standards of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,988 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Have you lived in Ballumun? I have with my woman for a year. Wouldn't have walked through the place 20 years ago. It's vastly improved.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

No, and I wouldn’t want to live there, not 20 years ago and not now either, and I don’t need to rely on anecdotal evidence when data exists which demonstrates that the area has not improved in 20 years.

Personally, I’d have no issues walking around Ballymun now as I did 20 years ago, and many other areas in Dublin where I have many friends and relatives, wouldn’t bother me personally in the slightest, but I wouldn’t want to live in those areas, and certainly not if I were an asylum seeker - be like out of the frying pan, into the fire:

https://www.thejournal.ie/protest-ballymun-simon-harris-5966704-Jan2023/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭amykl_1987

Billions spent/wasted on bogus asylum seekers/refugees accommodation. A severe housing shortage. And a public representative gets this .....

How many other public reps are in the same boat as this guy, making a fortune as a result of the governments attitude to fake asylum seekers and refugees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A couple of pix I took on Sunday , the Grand Canal is totally ruined and no urgency to tidy it up, I never see any Gardai walking it

ab.JPG

aa.JPG

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Seems Gardai are blocking roads into Dundrum in preparation for the illegals getting bused in

Imagine unvetted males are going to be packed in with Ukraine women, talk about asking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

I wouldn't be giving that humanist lad any coverage, a shitstirrer of the highest order.

Hopefully the residents of Dundrum hold their nerve, remain peaceful and don't fall into any traps set by aggresive garda tactics. Know your rights and record everything.

Just correcting this, it's women and children showing up, reminds me of Roscrea all over again. Im sure the governments propaganda newspapers will be onsite taking pictures of showing the illegals passing through the protestors.

It's all a cynical ploy from this government. Get women and children in and then when things quieten down get the males in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

I’m glad we have established that what you imagine to be the reality and the actual reality are two completely different things.

If anyone wants to listen in

https://tippfm.com/

Imagine the dog unit are in Dundrum, heavy handed Gardai again. A peaceful protests for many months….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

Public order unit there too, escorting the buses in. Seemingly all roads around the hotel are cordoned off.

I know people who are protesting and absolutely breaks my heart to see what's happening to such a small community.

You can hear the tiredness and frustration when they are speaking on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭batman_oh

I'm still wondering why, when even the government admits that the majority aren't genuine asylum seekers do we still have the cheerleaders harping on about 'refugees are welcome'. Why can't they just tell the actual truth and say every chancer from everywhere is welcome to come here to game the asylum system because Ireland is so important we can take them all. We don't care if you are legitimate or not, we'll just pretend you are and shout at people that ask questions. We saw what Sweden did and we are just dying for a bit of that action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

And a community that has existed for a thousand years is changed forever….

Yup will never be the same, they've fully opened the flood gates in Dundrum house and it will never be the same.

😂😂😂

You'd swear we were talking about some uncontacted Amazonian tribe!

This is Ireland in 2024. Most of our economy depends on multinational trade and investment.

Even without IPA's, close on 20% of the population are born outside the country.

Public order unit, great, that's vital services pulled from other communities so to deal with these 'peaceful' protestors.

Hopefully nobody gets hurt today.