Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympic Games Paris 2024 - AH Thread [Thread banned posters listed in first post.]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,508 ✭✭✭bren2001

It employs 30,000 and we are, pound-for-pound

That is a highly contested and utterly nonsense figure. The figure includes:

• People working in bars, restaurants, and hotels - 8,400 people
    • People working in bookies - 5,500 people (including those from the head offices)
    • People working in the head offices of bookies

It counts pretty much every single person working in a bookies which is crazy.

From page 5:

https://www.hri.ie/HRI/media/HRI/HRI-2023-Deloitte-Social-and-Economic-Impact-Report-FINAL.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭thebronze14

It was a throwaway comment, no need to take it so literally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I’d say the GAA raises quite a bit for the exchequer to be honest. VAT on petrol, bus and rail tickets, restaurants, burger vans, pubs, match day staff…adds up and that’s just one aspect. You take away GAA and all told I’d say the exchequer takes a substantial hit possibly up to a billion a year.

I am heartened that people on big match day running and working in pubs, burger vans and restaurants, match day staff in ticket sales offices, stadiums and Gardai and emergency staff, those driving buses or trains or working in petrol stations are doing their part for the amateur ethos as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

Cou;dn't agree more with this and as much as i dislike the GAA, it is brilliant at getting/or giving the opportunity to boys and girls involved in Sports from a young age country wide, and also seem as community hubs. They are a cornerstone of almost towns & villages in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Ilovelucy

Delighted for Kelly. She's an Olympian now and no one can take that from her even if she doesn't compete again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,379 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's definitely a multi million pound industry though (unusually for a sport). Around €500m worth of bloodstock (an integral part of the sport) is sold every year - you couldn't have that bloodstock industry without the horse racing element to accompany it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Seadin

The government should be investing more money to get our top athletes out to these games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,557 ✭✭✭✭walshb

edit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Isn't track cycling the biggest betting game in Japan, maybe funnel the bloodsport money into track cycling instead.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,823 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I'm a horse-racing fan myself (though mainly flat for what it's worth). Being 'best in the world' at National Hunt (jockeys, trainers, horses, breeding) is often thrown out there but it's meaningless. As a sport it is almost completely limited to 2 countries, Ireland and the UK.

For anyone interested i believe the ancient roman sport of "Breakdancing" is on this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,668 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

As practised by those dying of poisoning... as was commom at the time.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭unichick

Delighted the girls have got through to the final & hopefully Adeleke will come in and they'll be in the hunt for medals then. I can't see her winning a medal tonight. I hope I'm wrong but it's a big ask.

I've found athletics clubs in my area to be pretty inclusive & my youngest has joined one and is happy going every week. My eldest sadly decided she didn't want to do it but had done athletics in school and been part of a relay team. It's 80 euro for the full years membership each child and another club was only charging 50 so not to steep considering.

Sarah and Mark did their best this morning. We can't ask anymore. That French girl who won the Europeans barely made the final. I'm still amazed Rob Heffernan has his head on his shoulders after saying Sarah was our most consistent hurdler ever with Derval sat beside him on the couch!

Well done to Kate O'Connor finishing 3rd in the javelin! Definitely her best event in the Hep. She's done herself proud and belongs in that calibre of athletes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

There's 3 people who can realistically win 3rd and their PBs are very similar. Hopefully the semi was just a blip and not something serious. The UK girl might be the dark horse and sneak into 3rd.

I've seen it reported that the Polish girl was on all 4s and vomiting in the mixed zone after the semi.

Gold and Silver are wrapped up unfortunately. Maybe Naser will get done for doping and 4th will get bronze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,508 ✭✭✭bren2001

Wasn't there a report recently that showed the government investment ultimately increased the pots for winners? That's not an efficient use of money.

I've no issue with horse racing. I see no reason why it should receive any of taxpayers money. It offers little to no societal benefit unlike something like GAA or soccer which gets thousands of kids into parks weekly and helps keep them fit. If it cannot support itself financially, it shouldn't exist.

But fair play to the lobby group, they're obviously very good and make a strong case. The same for the Greyhound lobby group. At the end of the day, its a tiny percentage of the overall budget. Probably not the thread for the conversation either tbh.

if we are sending horses around the world that are bred for speed then it’s not meaningless surely?

Funny, it was implied that the Pole looked comfy on Wednesday. To me she looked like she was giving 110 percent and was very tired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭unichick

Something that occurred to me is that no athlete has tested positive for drugs yet or are they keeping it a secret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,810 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ya Kierin was basically invented for gambling. It's essentially human dog racing with the added bonus of being enjoyable even without needing to bet.

If I was dictator I'de have all the dog tracks converted to velodromes.

You like your politics Breezy, get yourself in to Sinn Fein for when they are in government next 😅 and put the idea forward to the electorate. It's a good'un

Oh sweet lamb of jesus. The Break dancing is on.

If ever anything should be gotten rid of straight away, it's this horseshit

The participants all seem to be using some kind of "gangsta" names. WTF! American girl called "Logistx" another girl called "Rayburn" or something like that

It rminds of them rap battles you'd see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Jezus, break dancing is on, don't know what to make of it. They are seriously fit as expected, a bit like watching a RUN DMC video or fancy dancers at a festival???

Maybe it’s just because nobody has tested positive.

I have to say, the incessant claims that this, that and the other has to be down to PEDs is so tiresome and lazy. Vast majority great competitors here are clean and honest and just great performers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭political analyst

I think that the fact that some female athletes showing their midriffs at athletic and volleyball events at the Olympics and in other tournaments creates the risk of sexualising those sports. I'm aware that female athletes have the option of wearing singlets - an option that some of them avail of - but I can't understand why they can't just wear sports vests over their sports bras and alongside their shorts.

Same journalist said apparently Adeleke didn't fuel properly for her race, which is easily rectified.

I haven't been this excited for a race since I was a small child watching Sonia. The whole country seemed to stop back then and funnily enough, people say times have changed but I think huge numbers tuned in for Kellie Harrington and will also tonight.

I think Adeleke will be a real icon for the next decade considering she should have at least 2 more Olympics and numerous Europeans and World Championships. I find her quite charismatic and is obviously beautiful also.

I'll be excited for the girls tomorrow but slightly less so.

I reckon more be watching tonight than Tuesday for Kellie. Adeleke seems to have a more dominant household name profile of late

Not sure how much more she can improve. Some athletes reach their absolute best early, some lil later and some near end.

I have a feeling Adeleke is close to her best, and probably won’t go all that faster over 400. Maybe 48.85 at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Bobby Farrell from Boney M would have been a contender in his day here…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,810 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

For various reasons a lot of people just don't watch boxing and add to that the late kickoff whereas the Olympics "is a track & field event" and nothing will ever trump a genuine contender for a running medal.

Friday 7pm isn't a great time either though as lots of people are on the road or other stuff.

Track is definitely more high profile and glamourous.

The whole world will be watching tonight.