If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Vice President Kamala Harris vs Donald Trump 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,033 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

Trump supporters didn't like her already so expect responses ranging from "no surprise she is.... " to full on incel like raging

The Taylor Swift endorsement is not quite what it seems, it's outlines of Harris on press photos, been interpreted as an indorsement.

No doubt full indorsement is coming but it's not quite there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,028 ✭✭✭Rawr

Given what we've gotten from VD so far, I wonder if he's going to end up regretting this particular pissing contest. Walz served for 2 decades, earned command, was well liked by his men apparently, ended Guard service with one of the highest non-comm ranks you can get, and left in order to run for Congress.

Vance is playing on the fact that in those 2 decades he hadn't deployed to a warzone. Vance himself appears to have been in the USMC as a corrispondant in Iraq. Fair enough, and for his sake I hope that's all there is to it. But if anything else "wierd" is discovered about him while he was serving…he's not going to have much else left to work with.

I do hope Vance and Walz debate. Walz seems to be a very capable speaker.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Does it surprise though? This has been a tactic of the GOP since the days of John Kerry; heck Saint John McCain and that gold-star family (the "Khans"?) suffered the ire of Trump and there were no repurcussions. Meanwhile, the GOP are more likely to be the ones cutting or reducing aid and support to veterans.

The whole "respect the troops" narrative only works one way, only ever does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

they picked an extreme weirdo like Vance because they were full sure they did have the election in the bag ….

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,033 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

bafkreie5oojji4xnb5jfsdfdhe43mb45a2qis2obvz7l5p2f6gogkjrzvu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

That's some stretch!

I'd say when Swift does announce it, it will be very well timed to do maximum damage to Trump.

I highly doubt this is it.

Screenshot_2024-08-08-08-33-56-105_com.instagram.android-edit.jpg

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,826 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Screenshot_2024-08-08-09-19-52-541_com.paddypower.sportsbook.u.inhouse.jpg

For the first time in the race, Harris is now the favourite with the Donald slipping further and further out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,626 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

You're not arguing in good faith. The GOP wanted bibi, met with him privately, didn't boycott him.

You can't, without looking like an unhinged radical, then claim that the DNC are the worst of the two. You have outed your nature here, at least have the courage to own it or don't cry when others treat you as a radical as there is now evidence to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Deleted

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nah, that would require him to stay out of the spotlight for more than five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's definitely one comment (well, of many), that I see coming back to haunt Vance, because by calling Walz's service record Stolen Valor, there are likely hundreds of thousands of veterans who may not have had active combat duty during their service who that would also apply to, and then you have other servicemen and military families who would also not take kindly to such an attack on someone with 24 years of military service on their record.

And then you attack Walz for retiring (again, after 24 years of service) before his unit was deployed to Iraq, while you're literally the VP for Donald J.* Trump? (*The J stands for "Jesus, are those bone spurs? Guess I can't go to war…")

The Harris campaign responded:

In a statement, the Harris campaign said: “After 24 years of military service, Governor Walz retired in 2005 and ran for Congress, where he chaired veterans affairs and was a tireless advocate for our men and women in uniform … As vice-president … he will continue to be a relentless champion for our veterans and military families.”

It added: “In his 24 years of service, the Governor carried, fired and trained others to use weapons of war innumerable times. Governor Walz would never insult or undermine any American’s service to this country – in fact, he thanks Senator Vance for putting his life on the line for our country. It’s the American way.”

Screenshot_2024-08-08-09-31-36-562_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg 84_years_meme.jpg

Jaysus lads…

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Ahh.. Good old JD , enjoying the cut and thrust of the campaign , chasing down his opponents on important issues.

He really just loves the thrill of the chaise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,580 ✭✭✭✭briany

Yes, it will be difficult for them not to look like the problem when they are, in fact, the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Have to say, I love this.

Proper leadership.

Especially compared to:

(Archive text:)

The Dems appear to be creating this campaign under clinical lab conditions. It has been meticulous since Biden stepped down. There hasn't been one foot put wrong (so far!), which must be sending Trump/Vance and the republicans utterly demented.

All they have to do is keep it up for the next 88 days...

Upcoming events that will affect the race

Harris and Trump debating (or not)

Walz and Vance debating (or not)

Taylor Swift's endorsement

Trumps sentencing in the Manhattan hush money case on Sept 14th.

Judge Tanya Chutkan will hold a scheduling hearing on August 16th in the DC case.

Trumps appeal of the $88 million verdict in the Carroll case with oral argument September 6.

Oral arguments in Trump’s appeal of the $354 million civil fraud verdict will likely take place in September or October before the New York Appellate Division.

Man. That is a tough calendar. No wonder Trump is resting up this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,580 ✭✭✭✭briany

"I know nothing about Project 2025"

image.png

The man sat next to Trump in this picture is Kevin Roberts - president of the organisation which authored the 900 page document, the Heritage Foundation, and who went on TV not too long ago and essentially bragged that the coming revolution would be bloodless 'if the left allowed it to be'.

To prove the authenticity of this image, note the Diet Coke in the far right of the image. If you cannot locate the far right of the image, you will see the far right to the left of it.

I see it changed sometimes last night.

Trump is going to be very, very annoyed today. When is his next rally booked?

Screenshot_2024-08-08-11-48-01-145_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,669 ✭✭✭Cody montana

The icing on the cake would be the alleged tape of him saying the N word on The Apprentice.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,221 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Not really. Both are urgent, generally short term operations by the Guard to aid overwhelmed law enforcement (excepting aviation and logistics units assigned firefighting and transport roles, but which also count as short fuse) and coordinated through the state miltary's emergency operations center (I was assigned to one for two years as an ops officer). Tankers like myself would get picked up routinely since we have sidearms on issue instead of rifles, whilst infantry would be more likely to get the call for riot duty as a different impression is being given. The border is an entirely different kettle of fish whilst the context, timelines and processes for riots and wildfire mobilization are pretty similar both at the headquarters/state level and for the soldiers who get the 'phone call to drop everything and report in.

In any case, the border issue is not particularly relevant to the MN response to the Minneapolis riots. Both can be criticized independently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

More of them polls for those who traditionally celebrate polls, you like polls do ya?

Harris has also improved with white voters overall. 

Harris has gone from 40% with white voters overall to 46% in this survey, which is closer to where Biden was, and that's very high for a Democrat. In fact, no Democrat has scored that high with white voters in a presidential election since Jimmy Carter in 1976. Biden got 41% in 2020, Barack Obama in 2008 won 43%

https://www.opb.org/article/2024/08/06/poll-harris-jumps-to-a-small-national-lead-over-trump/

IMG_5793.jpeg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,974 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

While I'm glad Harris is at least meeting with the Gaza protesters and hearing their arguments, the Dem / Biden stance on the war is still an amoral disaster and they deserve to be challenged on it publicly at every opportunity. Waving it off as 'well if you criticise us on this Trump will win' is a cop out given the graveness of the situation. They don't deserve to be let off the hook on it because of their positive policy positions elsewhere.

No question Trump will somehow be even worse than the Biden administration on Gaza, and Nethanyahu will obviously relish the possibility of a more psychotically anti-Palestinian administration. But the Dems should still be confronted on it relentlessly. Harris seems a tad tougher on Israel than Biden but it's still a big weakness that's left millions of otherwise sympathethic US voters disillusioned and angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

“I know nothing about Project 2025. I have no idea who is behind it. I disagree with some of the things they’re saying and some of the things they’re saying are absolutely ridiculous and abysmal. Anything they do, I wish them luck, but I have nothing to do with them.”

IMG_5834.jpeg

Trump with Heritage CEO and Project 2025 head Kevin Roberts on his private jet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,028 ✭✭✭Rawr

I was wonder what was happening with the Civil Fraud case. He somehow spoofed his way into an appeal with a dubious bond backed up by an out-of-state Car-loan guy (and only barely backed up too).

New York should in all rights already started foreclosing on Trump Org. properties to cover the fraud fines. I'm wondering if we'll actually see that before the election.