Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE 1: 'Today' with Claire Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Royalcentral.

Is it not anachronistic in this day in age to have a monarch anywhere.

Are they just tourist catnip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,670 ✭✭✭squonk

I heard some of that. Seemed very odd. I’d kind of expect this old tat on Today with Maura interviewing this lady or one of tge morning shows filling up time for bored ladies with this type of fluff but I was surprised Claire went anywhere near it.

Lord Boucher-Hayes in today. Should be fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Tuned in just now. Interviewing some yank about recent gaffe biden made. And the difference between biden uttering "only God" and "only God almighty...."

Click

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Not just today. The next few weeks. Aren't we lucky.

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭amlinopta

No reference from Claire signing off yesterday that she wouldn't be around. PBH in full flow….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Even longer Holliday's for staff 🤔 now that Kevin said he's cut costs

= Same pay and more Holliday's

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Brand new lad on Morning Ireland sport this morning, never heard of him before. So much for the staff cutbacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

I mentioned this on another thread but even since then this appears to be getting worse. The editorial fixation that RTÉ Radio 1 has with American politics is getting to the point of bizarre at times imo. Even allowing for the political and cultural influence the US has globally plus the level of FDI from American companies here, they seem totally obsessed with reporting on, and discussing what happens in, the US political system. Whatever about the attempt to kill Trump, that's clearly newsworthy, they talk about mundane aspects of politics over there as is everyone in this country thinks about this daily. It spans multiple shows so it's not like it's a hobby horse of a particular presenter either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

American stories often take precendance over Irish stories. You have to wonder about the licence fee sometimes when this happens. What is often cringey is people taking sides on American issues. RTE feeding this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,235 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I enjoyed the few days of PHB, I must say. Long live actual covering news as news and not interviewing bloggers for 2 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Mohat Mogeansai

this is exactly why the US news is everywhere , people want to jump on the bandwagon . Same political stuff is happening in France to , but no one cares because is not the trendy wagon to hop onto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

The worst example I can remember off the top of my head was one day last year the headline story on the news was 'Biden says electing Trump would be bad for America' or some equally banal statement. This was after a weekend where there had been fatalities in road traffic accidents. I thought it was incredibly poor judgement, and even if nothing serious had happened, who the hell thought this deserves to be headline news on an Irish news report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,937 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Radio shows that are on air for a couple hours each day for 5 days each week need filler content.

I give you American politics. The content that keeps on giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Shan Doras

Let's not also forget that pre 2007, Today would be off air completely this time of year for summer holidays, even when the 7/7 bombing happened in 2005, it wasn't reinstated. In a way life was probably better when we weren't all plugged into the news 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Lazy fillers. Plenty of other topics from around the world outside of the Anglo American bubble which dominates Irish news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭RINO87

I Wasn't paying attention.....why is Barry Kenny of Irish Rail talking about the Olympics?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,962 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I can't blame him for being jealous of the French network.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

Boucher Hayes today, every pour oozes smugness

Truly insufferable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Pour me a shot of smug there, lad, cleans out the pores.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Jesus PBH was very rude and smug in that interrogation of MLM, interrupting and speaking over her. But fair play she called him out on it

Smug git

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Sigma101

PBH shredding Mary Lou on the radio right now. He's challenging her on what appears to be a very flimsy new policy document on immigration and international protection. Mary Lou is resorting to ad hominems and accused him of being rude.
    What's happened to her? I know she was always full of sh1t but she was once formidable. Seems to have completely lost her mojo. No doubt there'll be lads in Belfast having a think about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Kerry_2008

Think MLM resorted to giving out about 'rudeness' as she couldnt answer the questions being asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Mary Lou not coming across well there. Aside from all the double speak. She is coming off like a narky teenager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I don't think she realised PBH was covering for Claire and hadn't her strategy prepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Smug git interviewing a smug git. Amusing but not particularly informative.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭mattser

3…2…1…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I usually don’t like him y y ok much but he was fair in asking direct questions MLM couldn’t answer. I mean, looking at 6-1 last night, it lined like that whole policy was a load of populist shít that won’t fly anyway. PBH called her on it and she certainly didn’t like it. At her age you’d think she’d have realised that if you don’t do your homework the teacher might catch you it. Mind you at her age she might have forgotten that point as well!