Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

You have heard I presume of planning legislation that facilitates the public in expressing their views on developments in their area??? Do you think planning permission is a good idea? Or one that can just be dispensed with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,176 ✭✭✭newhouse87

That video was shocking. That guard should get the sack. If it was America, there would be riots over that cops behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

So if you protest peacefully and emailed your local T.D's constantly to stop something being built next door to you, and one night the doors are open and people start flooding in, you're just going to shrug your shoulders then yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

You're not.

Not a thing I can do if the some thug buys the house next to me.

I can complain if troublesome tenants move in, but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

https://www.thejournal.ie/direct-provision-evictions-6437769-Jul2024/

The people getting evicted are sourced with new apartments so room is made for my applicants.

Its insane.

Whose factory?

People can also object at the ballot box if they're not happy with this particular type of exempted change of use.

They didn't.

The rest of us just get on with our lives.

Yeah . The rest get on with it in their leafy suburb. We are all in this together .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭foxsake

arrest the rioters - who said otherwise?

Patrick Quinlan did nothing wrong and certainly nothing to warrant the repeated assaults on him. in fact he was standing alone, then walked away alone and there was no violence in the vicinity to justify anything that happened him.

the man against the wall - backing on to ard ne greine estate (i think) told the garda he was going home. put up his hands and was still thrown to the ground and beaten with a baton. he was alone not resisting … arrest him if he was a suspect but no need to batter him.

people were pepper sprayed for standing there.

I think you are being willfully ignorant with your comments - beat everybody cos of the misbehavior of some. The gardai should have a higher standard. the same hang em high crowd would be crying if this happened in russia/china.

you mighnt like it but people have a right to protest, block the road and do so vocally.

the garda were a disgrace yesterday

and the politicians who defend that behaviour are a horrible sort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,662 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

there are plenty of nice houses and estates close to the paint factory site too, it's far closer to st brendan's and ayrefield estates than it is to priorswood and darndale

I know that but i dont know what point you are making ?

"The rest get on with it in their leafy suburb. We are all in this together ."

you said the above, as if it's slap bang in the middle of only a deprived area, it's actually as close to nice areas than it is the worse off areas around there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭foxsake

this is the second example i'm talking about.

I hope he takes legal action against the state.

By leafy suburbs i mean Dublin 4,6, Howth Malahide etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Anti social behaviour will not be tolerated in this country.

These violent yobs deserve to be subdued and arrested.

Give me immigrants anyday over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭rolling boh

It's a pity people hang around watching these thugs it gives the thugs cover ,think if they were more isolated they wouldn't be so brazen with their behaviour.

Not leafy suburbs.

Happens quite regularly. People work hard to buy a house, or just to pay rent, and the neighbours from hell move in next door.

Quite often people end up living next to all sorts of real trouble. Not just a perception of trouble they have from reading Gript.ie or being buried in anti-immigration social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,012 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

So this Government has gone from branding any objections to their open door migration policy to be Far Right to now a "misinformation and disinformation" campaign which is basically branding the Irish people stupid.

I've never hated an Irish government so much as these shambles. The way to distort the truth, the way they talk down to Irish voters, the way they treat Rural Ireland and disadvantage areas with contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭4dxc

Once the guards are better prepared, hopefully these things won`t go that far anymore.
    Just have a look to France, Germany how these issues are dealt with from the police side. Much more effective and you won`t have half of the local youth playing urban warfare anymore as they will face consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Definitely! The anti-social behaviour and drug dealing should be confined to all the neglected socially deprived housing estates dotted around Dublin so those sat behind their laptop keyboards miles away from these areas don't have to come onto message boards demanding heads to be cracked open by Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Unfortunately our police methods are not robust enough unlike the countries mentioned to effectively deal with these situations .The consequences mean nothing to these thugs .

https://gript.ie/owners-of-proposed-coolock-asylum-centre-have-pocketed-more-than-e38-million-since-2021/

Absolutely sickening the amount of money we are paying out, where is this money to fix our broken health care? Nope lets spend it on these illegals

Im sick and tired of this **** tbh, it's vomiting inducing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,956 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's a big dollop of whataboutery to be fair. A whole separate discussion. Do you think many on this thread care about the economically disadvantaged in Coolock?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

What exactly is the plan after hundreds of thousands of refugees over many years are brought to this country and given citizenship by the government?

Is there a plan to educate them in adult education centres so that they speak English, have arithmetical ability and know enough about this country to assimilate and live in it? Should they then take a citizenship test as is required in other countries?

How are they to be housed because surely setting up an Irish version of Brazilian favelas in working class areas like Coolock is not a long term solution? Are they expected to get jobs to pay for their own accommodation costs? How can they afford to live in Dublin if the Irish are emigrating because they cannot afford to live in Dublin?

What is the expectation if they are married with children and their wife and children are abroad? Should they automatically be allowed to join them?

What are the implications for this country and its predominantly Christian faith? with other religions being accommodated how are places of worship going to be set up?

There simply is NO PLAN from FF/FG and their paid off QUANGOs and NGOs except to state that the plan seems to be: "Dump these refugees in working class areas and if they have a problem with it get the media/courts to call them scumbags, right wing and/or sentence them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Some do care, yes. And going by how some others talk about working class and Irish people I'd say some don't

I don't think its whataboutery to be annoyed at the vast amounts of money that are spent on IPAs while other aspects are ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Maybe there hired by government. Wouldn't put it past them at this stage🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

It truly amazes me. We spent years knocking down the Ballymun towers because of the effects of social deprivation, and now we're building worse in every city and town across the country. Tents everywhere, hoardes of unemployed hanging around the city centres and towns and dependent on benefits. As a result crime is increasing because in many cases we don't know the backgrounds of the people we are allowing into our country. Irish favelas denying access to spots like the Grand Canal in Dublin.

And where's the additional investment in housing, education, crime prevention and health? The only investment appears to be in social welfare.

Meanwhile an entire generation of Irish teachers, doctors, nurses, gardaí, plumbers, carpenters are all emigrating.

How long is this sustainable for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

And they wonder why people have no respect for the Garda.The POU is totally unsuited for this type of policing, to chase down a non threatening protestor and viciously assault him is contemptible.

GSOC should be investigating this whole fiasco but they probably wont if none of the victims complain, where are all the civil right groups raising concerns about this excessive police brutality?not a peep out of them, I assume they only care about people that have the same political leanings as them.

This country is in crisis.

I would imagine the garda would he heroes to some posters here if they gave climate protesters blocking a road a few smacks.

Our garda are generally the most hands off police force I've come across but if you are part of a gang throwing objects at them you should probably expect a few slaps.