Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attempted burglary Aghamore shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,858 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,091 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

FF, FG, what's the difference?... two cheeks of the same arse.

As the leading parties, singly or together they have overseen the stripping down of services.

It is only a matter of time before we have another dead "travelling" thief case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Self defence includes defence of property.

Could cause a bit of trouble though, especially if one had time and opportunity to call the Guards.

Regardless, things become a bit different when a firearm is discharged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭scwazrh

it’s not self defence if you have time to go get your firearm , hid somewhere and then wait for someone to come to you property.Thats a straight forward “ I’m going to teach these F**kers not to mess with me “ .Unfortunately if you are a licensed firearms holder in this country you can’t do that.

See what I had already added to the previous post regarding firearm.

My point was to the claim of 'waiting around for someone to come' rather than the use of a firearm. It could still be self defence even if you chose to be there when you could have gotten away if you were defending property. It would not be self defence if you choose to wait around knowingly waiting for some randomer to came out of a pub to give you a few smacks.

The Defence and the Dwelling Act will be your friend in the case it happens on or around your dwelling. That doesn't mean you can't get in trouble under other legislation or rules around firearms for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭JVince

Sad that to get a Garda response that he had to call the gardai and say that he fired shots.

If he called and said there was a gang of ethnic Irish robbing his house the response would have been "we'll send a car when one is available".

He will get his gun back as the law changed in 2022 and he is allowed to defend his property.

You were always allowed to defend your property. Albeit not unlimited. And there are different criteria for fatal vs. non-fatal acts of self defence. The latter comes under statute. The former does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Firblog

"When the van pulled up to collect him [the suspected burglar], he shot at the engine"

Very restrained response in the circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Wan bullet, bang bang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Slightly Kwackers

But if there was a chance that the homeowner was armed, would the criminals not ramp up too, or even break in when they saw him leave in order to steal the weapon?

I can just see as weapons proliferate, an Irish version of the NRA kicking off to advise that the best way to avoid shootings was to buy guns, then of course the best way of avoiding mass shooting was to buy more guns.

Having worked with the things in the UK, the sad fact is that I know full well that guns and fruitcakes have a great affinity for each other.

Personally If I felt concerned I would pester my TD for better protection, as I would about migrants and other things hitting the news.

They don't affect me though, some thefts were carried out in the area, but the culprits were identified and I assume dealt with.

Likewise, I see migrants that came here years back working in shops in the town and they are now Irish, working and living here, as am I.

So consequently, I don't feel the need to bother my TD to address problems that do not concern me.

If I was more concerned about crime, I would be more inclined to pester him about drugs. Likewise I know no drug users or traders, but I would guess from the news that drugs are behind a considerable amount of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

It's an unfortunate outcome that they are most likely to shoot themselves, not an intruder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,461 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Well the farmer involved in the recent story seems to have handled his gun perfectly competently.

Putting a few holes in a getaway van and none in himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Maybe mistook the VW van for a fox - easily done, especially in the dark - I know as a jury member that would provide me with a lot of reasonable doubt

Bit of a difference between a VW Transporter and VW Fox.

It takes someone defending their property to light a fire under the guards in this country.

Bet they would "have no car to send over" otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭pale rider

there is a certain inevitability to this story which will be the same next time.

We need proper policing.

Many good sized towns have 3 Gardai on duty, with illness, Court or other on the job absences that drops to 2 or even 1, 2 means one in the station and one car out single manned, that single manned car needs support from another similarly manned station for almost all calls.

its pathetic management and it is absolutely not policing.

they both have headlights and doors and a windscreen 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,698 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Exactly, farmers with guns are very comfortable with discharging their firearms safely, with plenty of opportunities for practice against pests. It's not like they're someone who has a gun for "safety" or personal "rights" but never used it. They only have firearms in the first instance because they have a working need for one on their farm.

The Garda commissioner called this week for greater penalties for speeding- he neglected to mention that the Garda roads policing unit has been decimated by at least 40% over the last few years- maybe Gardai should get back out visible on the beat and do what they’re paid to do instead of sitting behind desks blowing into breathalysers to make up their targets - same principle here- blame and prosecute the property owner for protecting their property instead of out catching these pr1cks

And who do you think in Ireland get killed by guns every year

Farmers, they shoot themselves or their families, rarely anyone else

Ffs, most farmers don't even own guns, very few if any have a need for one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Example? The guards took this farmers gun now he has no protection

Example of what? Farmer on Farmer action

Yes they don't want people using guns on each other for obvious reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

example of a farmer shooting another farmer? How many times has it happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sober Too

"The suspects were at the back of the van at the time, trying to load chainsaws, pots and other stolen items. They were not injured when the shots were fired."

In broad daylight on a fine day wasn't that a tad risky Not to be seen or even heard hiding in bushes for an hour, for the opportune time when both criminals were in the back and then proceed to shoot up the van?

"After this happened, he made an emergency phone call… armed gardaí who rushed to the scene and were there within 25 minutes...meantime, the van had been abandoned after it broke down about a kilometre away."

So inspite of a shotgun blast to the van's engine they were able to drive it about 1km before fleeing across fields. Who witnessed this, or was another vehicle involved?

"Bizarrely, one of the suspects called a garda station in Co Mayo using his own name to report the vehicle as stolen before he and his accomplice fled.

This man is expected to be arrested on sight, according to a source."

How realistic or believable is that statement, the driver called to report his own vehicle stolen before fleeing, what?!

Unless the culprits are named Dumb & Dumber this story has more holes than a Swiss proverbial.

And then there's the extra 3? shot holes in the van, when do they get an explanation in this story?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/farmer-opens-fire-at-getaway-van-after-third-burglary-gang-raid-in-a-year/a1750340359.html

Post edited by Sober Too on

I guarantee these lads have been in jail previously and let out

This is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

There's not many reports of someone shooting someone else with legally held firearms compared to someone shooting someone else with illegal weapons.

There are probably lots of examples of people using weapons to end their life but if they hadn't guns they'd find another way.

Your link is one of the more extreme examples of the first but there's plenty of examples of people murdering a family member or spouse without a gun.

Everybody and their mums is packing round here

They'd get similar reactions in the area I live in, I would think. Area is known for several active game clubs.

We'll have another Pádraig Nally case before long and there will be the same court result, and the same political promises (worth nothing).

Like much of crime in Ireland it falls squarely on the only 2 parties to ever lead a government. They have gutted our police force, decreased (or removed) response times, and refused to build prisons or implement mandatory sentencing (I want an independent judiciary but they are comical).

To have a VERY socially and economically liberal me saying that feels wrong but society can not exist without order and we've seen several decades of decline in that here.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

You sure about that?

There are over a quarter million lawfully owned firearms in Ireland. I very strongly suspect the vast majority of farmers have one or two for vermin control and the like, rather than them being mainly suburban Dubliners using them for plinking. Perhaps check over on the farming forum.