If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Enoch Burke turns up to school again despite sacking

How do you know they don't?

Unless you think the media reports on every special sitting of the Courts that is called?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Jemima didn't just interrupt the court, she followed the coroner onto the street and filmed him. This was uploaded to YouTube.

A special sitting was absolutely warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭afatbollix

She literally put the evidence on youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

If you genuinely can’t understand why the prosecution might need time to prepare for a murder trial, then you really aren’t the sharpest knife in the drawer. **** me 🙄

I think you are missing the point, your own knife might need to be sharpened a bit.

sure thing 👍🏻 defo missing the point of comparing it to a murder trial alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Not sure if it is still a thing but there was a special sitting of Meath District Court for the duration of the Slane Concert every year for a long time. Similar to the Letterkenny one, to deal with minor offences before people go back to where they are from.
    Jemima was free to contest the charge, have her case heard by a jury but hey-ho, she would have been remanded. Bail may have been refused. They didn’t want the attention that badly!
    They must be running low on petrol money at last, they’ve resorted to distributing local proceeding completely unconnected to their crusade for attention.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,050 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The issue here isn't the gravity of the offence. It's the nature of the conduct — the Burkes are attempting to interfere with the administration of justice and impede the operation of the courts. The courts — and, really, if this comes a surprise to anyone they must be vere slow-witted indeed — will not tolerate that. You get one chance to undertake not to engage further in this kind of behaviour and, if you don't take that chance, the courts will act vigorously.

You can rest easy in the knowledge that if the Kinehans attempted to interfere with the operation of the courts — their own trial, or any other proceedings — in the way that the Burkes do, they would be dealt with in the same fashion. There isn't one law for the Burkes and a different law for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,554 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Mother Burke and one of her sons attended at the 120 anniversary of St Annes cathedral in Belfast on the steps of the cathedral with their camera-person and banner asking the reverends and politicians [Dep 1st minister Pengelly for one] if they knew about Enoch being locked away in the Joy for his religious beliefs. Anne Pengelly told her she didn't and walked on into the cathedral. Ma Burke was really after Bishop Storey there. The cathedral staff and PSNI kept things peaceful. I don't know if this is the first time Ma Burke & Co have travelled north of the border in their religious travails or if they've tested the local judiciary patience yet. We're still in the marching season period there.

They've gone after Bishop Storey a few times now…

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

lads if there’s any confusion about special sittings of district courts to charge someone with an offence the reason for it is until they have appeared before a judge they will be in custody such is the gravity of their offence.

Special sittings will occur more often in court districts that don’t have daily or regular mentions in this case I reckon the court is open once or twice weekly and it was seen as unnecessary to leave Jemima in custody until then and so a special sitting was called.

Of course if such arrangements were not made then it would be a case of religious persecution because they’re locked up instead of calling a special sitting of the court. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,290 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,176 ✭✭✭Glaceon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭Allinall

Double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

what a joke. He’s either in contempt or he’s not. He can’t just be in contempt during the school term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

all this does is reinforce the belief by some that he was incarcerated for his beliefs, not for being in contempt of court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Feck. This is the second or third time in this thread I’ve said ‘X will never happen’ and then it promptly does…

I’m just gonna go hang my head in shame….

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Hope he has the sense to stay away from the school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Hmmm interesting he is released when Justice system and politicians are under pressure because of the Crotty ruling. Does this mean that Burke will have to go back to jail at the end of the school holidays?

He will, until the school is back. Then it will all start again. Rinse and repeat.

One good thing may come of this - hopefully the Disciplinary Appeal Panel can finally go ahead and be completed before the start of the new school year, so if (when) he does re-appear at WHS after that, it will be a whole different ballgame, and a criminal charge.

Now that the secondary school exams have concluded for 2024, Justice Sanfey may have had this in mind, when releasing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Torcaill

They need his cell for another prisoner 😉

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,050 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

No it just means he'll be back outside the school in September and this whole saga will recommence with him being arrested again - but he won't automatically go back to prison until he puts a foot wrong I'd imagine. But he won't be able to help himself.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Going back to the school at all will be "putting a foot wrong".

But it's nonsense that he's let out - He's in jail for contempt of court and he has not purged that contempt - Letting him out for the "holidays" is just ridiculous.

He inability to act the twat by going to the school because it's closed for the next ~2 months should be irrelevant to the overall rule of law.

The 1st day of school in September, he will turn up and then the school will have to apply to the courts again so he'll get to stand outside the school for several days at least before the breech of the injunction is reviewed and confirmed in court.

The entire family have shown that they simply do not care about the rule of law so the law "doing them favours" like this achieves absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

I heard he has premium tickets for Tay Tay.

As I mentioned above, I hope Justice Sanfey's motivation in releasing him, was so the DAP could be heard before the next school term begins.

Then his trespass would become criminal.

It will be interesting now, to see if the DAP is convened. It was meant to proceed in July of last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Just heard Enoch Burke has been released from Mountjoy. Don't have any other info

From RTE news

The judge said that following a review of the situation, and the fact State examinations are now completed and the school is on holidays, he was directing the teachers release.

The court did not require Mr Burke to purge his contempt and agree to comply with the terms of an order made against him last year, the judge said.

In that decision, Mr Justice Alexander Owens granted Wilson's Hospital a permanent injunction restraining Mr Burke from attending at the school.

Now he's out, can they fire him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭sniperman

delighted for him,fair play to him for standing up for his beliefs,i admire him,well done lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭randd1

Actually, he's in jail because he's refusing to stay away from the school during the normal course of business, which I believe the is what the Court Order was about.

With the exams now finished, it's not a time of year for the normal course of business, so there's no need for him to be in prison.

I find it's actually clever from the Judge.

It quite clearly sets out that his prison time is not about individual beliefs (of course it never was), it's not about on-going discipline matters, it's simply about whether Enoch Burke adheres to a Court Order to keep away from the school while the school is ongoing in it's normal course of business. And if the school is not in session, then there's no need for a Court Order to punish him.

And it shows his incarceration in entirely self-inflicted under a point of law with no real intent of punishment of young Burke, and nothing more.

In simple terms, it says quite Burke's own ignorance alone is the problem.