If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Great post. It does feel like there's another gear or two in Galway alright because have Comer Walsh and Finnerty/Tierney ever scored even 3 each from play in the same big match? Bar the likes of the Sligo match last year.

Too many playing injured is right. But honestly how is it reoccurring so much? We should be primed for next weekend bar maybe a bit of fatigue. But instead we're absolutely crippled again. Same lads injured as in the league, Comer Walsh Finnerty, probably Kelly too.

Can't just be a genetic thing. Is the strength and conditioning guy up to it, or coaching, or physios either, when it comes to managing the load properly in this condensed season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Joyce isn't going to mention the injuries of course...

Except, he's been on about injuries since the start of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

The draw against Armagh is likely to prove costly, as even the easiest draw we can get ( Donegal) is much more difficult than what we would have likely faced had we held out for the win over Armagh. Add to that the injury to Walsh, plus the fatigue factor of playing 3 weeks in a row, we certainly haven't made it easy on ourselves, really need to avoid Dublin or Kerry to have any chance of making the semi final.

On another note the structure of the championship needs to be looked at; out of 5 matches, Derry have lost 3 matches, only beaten Westmeath, won a penalty shoot out and are at the same stage as us, yet we've won 5 out of six and drawn one match. No doubt Derry will probably draw Donegal and we'll end up with Dublin or Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

I agree. V hard to win AI now without topping your group. Would be a serious serious achievement to win next week whoever we get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭Robson99

That was no more than a tough training session yesterday. Need to stop making excuses about being out 3 weeks in a row. Kerry have had no competitive game this year. Thats not ideal either. Dublin one tough work out again Mayo. Structure needs a complete overhaul

Our biggest problem is 5 or 6 players are carrying what appear to be long term knocks and an extra weeks break was not going to make much difference to that. Even if we beat Armagh those 5 or 6 would still not be 100% fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,324 ✭✭✭threeball

Dublin don't appear to be operating at full tilt so far. Struggled against Louth, struggled against Mayo, maybe they can flip the switch and go up the gears in Croke Park.

Kerry on the other hand seem to be ramping up nicely after a slow start. They're capable of putting a serious beating on someone and given we're getting either them or Dublin I think I'd prefer to play Dublin.

Kerry always get a soft draw. I'm expecting Roscommon who they'll absolutely thump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

If Donegal and Galway were to come out first rest of the games decided as far as I can make out.

Donegal vs Galway

Dublin vs Derry

Kerry vs Roscommon

Armagh vs Louth

Watching the game back I'm not sure Donegal would be my first choice anyway. Like you said maybe Dublin the best bet (not that any are particular appealing on current form). Management would have some big calls to make around personnel and matchups. Not sure if they have the stomach for it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

Feck Cork and Louth anyway. Could have really done with Cork winning but they were utterly spineless with the match at their mercy. Louth were running out of ideas until the Cork keeper gifted them a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

That Campbell point in injury time for Armagh is going to get them to a soft semi final. You'd be sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

The DUBS

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

That draw format is absolute bulls**t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭vid36

Worst possible draw, what can you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Agree the whole set up is crazy. Who came up with this nonsense.

Worst outcome from that draw against Armagh. Armagh got Monaghan last year and Roscommon this year in a quarter final.

Pity Galway weren't all fully fit but I think we'll give them a rattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,957 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Sunday would be best for the extra days rest and recovery.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

I'm happy with the draw.

Feck it if we're after an All-Ireland we have to beat the best.

Will be a great atmosphere, hoping I can make it 🤞

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Avon8

Theyre putting Louth in the 2pm Sunday slot it looks like (as requested) so it's a toss up as to them putting the Dubs and Galway at 4pm Sunday or Armagh v Ros. Armagh and Dublin are the only two with huge support numbers so they'll be kept seperate and put in a late game

Paddy Power either know something or guessed but they have Galway vs Dublin 4pm Sunday

I think Kerry v Derry will be Sunday too, very long distances for fans travelling back Sat night, but who knows.

They want to give the chance for Scottie Sheffler supporting punters picking up their winnings to have an early bet on the games. Could just be a placeholder.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Galway and Derry put into a pot with just Dublin......... I understand the amount of teams that couldn't play each other but I still thought it would start as an open draw and take it from there.

But they could be pulling out Roscommon and Louth for two mins and keep having to put them back in the bowl

Hopefully 4pm Sunday. 7 o clock on a Saturday evening will affect Galway support. Bringing the kids would be tricky at that hour.

I thought (stupidly) pull first team say Dublin then out pop Roscommon. They are then moved to team two in quarter final number two. Pulled Louth next they move to the third quarter final so on and so on.

Not that anyone is ever put back on just moved to another slot in the other quarter finals. I dunno. Maybe that can't work out correctly. Finding out at 8.40 you are in a 50/50 pot to meet Dublin did me no favours!

Ah yeah that could work too.

Rte take the piss with that draw. Is it ever on time? It's on at the most stupid time of the week instead of Sunday night and then they overrun interviews, then give the news headlines and then the business headlines FFS

Galway BayFM have us to play Saturday evening at 6 on their X (Twitter ) feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Will Galway have Comer tied to the bench with a ring through his nose? Ready to let loose. Or will Galway start Comer? Dublin backline a bit suspect under high ball.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Don't think there was any straightforward way of doing it, to avoid the repeat pairings. The die was cast for us once Louth (won yesterday and) drew Armagh first. The past 2 weekends, bar the Monaghan draw, have been hellish for us as regards results elsewhere.

PJ sounded rather fed-up with Walsh on the post-match GBFM interview. Mentioned another MRI scan early this week.

Does he stick or twist? Start or finish with his strongest line-up? Might be better go with the former and see how far it gets him.

If Walsh is injured he shouldn't have publicly said that. No other manager does this. It never works out well.