If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hay 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭limo_100

Jesus seeing that I could be better to go with a good second hand lely instead of a new one looks immaculate hard to beat the lely's with the hook tines. Suppose 4-5k would buy a good clean second hand lely

Wondering have I missed my chance for Hay or would I be ok to mow some tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭emaherx

All baled up now. Was going too well so decided to try a bit of hardship and took out the square baler, but couldn't get one knotter going right so gave up and went back to the rounds.

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

All i ever hear from square balers is hardship 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭kk.man

It's hard to know tbh… I cut this morning..they are predicted very little rain. I'm good at getting hay but this year all normality goes out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Got a square baler off a neighbour for a feww hundred a few weeks back. I tried to run it but immediately it started making a banging noise as if something was hitting. It will have to be a project for the winter at this stage

Mine is green enough stuff would need 5 days mow tomorrow and maybe get the hay Saturday evening think there's rain on thurs but that can be knocked out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Omallep2

Anyone have success making 2nd cut grass into hay? Have some that's 6 weeks growing but soft grass after slurry and sulfacan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Mowed 9 acres there this evening..feck all rain due for the next 7 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭Dunedin

it’s just very hard to come on a good second hand one - lads rarely trade up on them.

There's very good ones important by alexander in ni, gleeson in limerick and Johnson in Longford.

Bother in law did it one year said the hay was pure dust despite good weather.

Have a 6m lely here from new and would not buy another,throws tedded grass to far each side of the machine covering the ditch and grass that had yet to be done and throws hay up in the air behind it causing lumps if you have a good breeze blowing across..they all seem to do it regardless how you set them up from what I see,..the malone is a copy but seems to struggle to pick up all the grass as I rake for 2 different customers that have them and find alot of grass is left flattend into the ground leaving it that you have to slow done alot for the rake to pull into rows..Krone make a great tedder,flufs up the hay lovely without pegging it everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,662 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Find the kverneland a good tedder. Does the krone not leave the grass lumpy. I find the rotors are too small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Cut my few acres yesterday and spread it out last evening, that forecast had completely changed again.

Tús maith, leath na h-oibre!

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

Never seen a KV tedder working to be honest,Cant say I seen much lumps after the krone,the newer ones have curved tines helps flip over the grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

That sounds challenging, sure you'd know a lot by day 2 anyway and it should still make great silage.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭jfh

Well looking at the forecast this morning it's the first time there giving 7 dry days straight in my area since the start of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭jfh

I'm looking at much the same, but somehow I don't think I'll get it, very changeable, can't see it not raining all week, we'll see..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Omallep2

Thaks for reply. I have enough silage hence the question. What you mean by you'd know a lot by day 2? Do you mean weather or how soft the grass is?

What are ye thinking folks with rain albeit small amounts on the way but that's according to wet Éireann?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Conditions are very different all over Ireland……..just watched BBC NI news and it was 25 degrees in Tyrone today!…..here in lovely Leitrim it was only 17 to 18 degrees at it's warmest and the day didn't open out till after 3pm……and it was threatening a cloudburst all morning! Lot of stuff mowed down yesterday in nice sunshine for Silage around here and would have been baled up nicely today.

Hard to see any hay saving weather around this neck of the woods anyway as they are giving rain from Thursday on into Saturday.Hope some of ye get yere's anyway…….we might be looking to buy some next Spring!😄

I meant both, 2 days after cutting it, you'll see how it's responding and what the forecast is like, and, depending on how things are looking, you'll still be able to make top quality silage out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

Have 12 acers down since Saturday. It's like playing poker with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

warm , but very dull in North Cork this morning. Don't think there is any rain on the way, maybe a bit small bit tomorrow, but neither is a few good hours of sunshine needed to start baling. I have never seen such flip flopping with the weather forecast. Be nice to know that a half decent few days were on the way, so could hold off. Cut since last Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Baled up and wrapped yesterday. Couldn't get the haybob going, stuff was cut on Saturday untouched in the raheen yet it was halfway saved to hay, it was a pity as it could have been got this week. It will make nice Hayledge instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

Don't think this week is living up to expectations so lots have made haylage instead