Soldier beats a woman unconscious, gets a great reference from his CO. Jailed after appeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭jackboy

Also, this kind of attack with no remorse are not a once off 99% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

We need a rethink of how judges are selected and how they can be removed, this bollix is retiring but we still have the likes of Nolan out there too. If you're **** at a job you're **** at a job and should be shown the door, not reverence and immunity like these 2 incompetent **** in robes.

This case has boiled my blood and Natasha deserves every praise for not taking senile O'Donnells verdict laying down. If it was my daughter this happened to, action man losing his job would be the least of his worries, I would go through anyone in my way to get my hands on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

The DPP should appeal regardless of whether they think its unduly lenient ot not. Let the Court of Criminal Appeal say yeah it's grand, show how judges are thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Caquas

To emphasise how despicable Crotty is.

What kind of a man attacks a woman like that? A coward who could not be trusted in an equal fight. A traitor who would never defend his country.

And yet his Commanding Officer was there to support him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Perhaps but hasn't it kinda been overcooked a bit. I heard a report earlier from a protest and the brave victim Ms O'Brien was calling for an end to all gender based violence against women. Which is a fine sentiment in itself. But there are shades of shoe horning in another agenda. It could surely have been just as easily a lone fella that Crotty chose to batter. Why is gender being emphasised here in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,444 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

the guilty plea after the cctv, take that into account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Feminist NGOs and man haters have spotted an opportunity here to promote themselves. That's why there are marches organised for the Crotty case but not for the below one. Same judge for both.

https://www.limerickpost.ie/2024/06/21/teenager-who-beat-and-kicked-homeless-man-escapes-jail-with-suspended-sentence/

There is no evidence that the assault by Crotty was "gender based violence". There is also no evidence that it, or the reference given by the CO, is due to a misogynistic culture within the defence forces. The media and vested interests are, as usual, trying to use angles and create links to produce a bigger story.

I await Sam McConkey being rolled out to propose that men should need a licence to socialise in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,396 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

It wasn't random, she intervened and that is why he attacked her. Random would be if he just walked up to her and attacked her having never seen her before. He is a piece of dirt and I don't agree with the judge at all but I think it could have easily been a man he attacked instead. Some of the banners at the protest today are worrying, a lot of them seem to be about demonizing men, same as what happened after the Ashling murphy case, and all the protests about the single male refugees etc. I think this needs to be questioned before it gets out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,674 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The moment I see someone use 'NGO' like this I immediately know they are a fully fledged member of the Gript reading, 'just asking questions' contingent.

It was nice that you were all human for a couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Notmything

Saying something doesn't make it true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭Tork

I think that "Two to put her down. Two to put her out." boast has resonated with people. Men aren't supposed to beat women, yet this yoke didn't get the memo. He boasted about it to his friends a few hours later, after he had had plenty of time to think back over what had happened. I'm sure the friends who stayed behind were sending him updates, so he knew exactly what he'd done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,131 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It was random. They didn’t know each other. Yes, a “very brief” verbal interaction is all. Random, unprovoked, vicious, cowardly and abhorrent. And the fact it was male on female is always going to stir emotions more, stir repulsion more and stir outrage more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭amacca

It's the one we live in for the most part...Maybe I'm wrong but the brave stranger intervening is the exception rather than the rule I'd say.

And you are right, if everyone says nothing thecsituation gets worse but tbh the system itself seems to almost condone scumbaggery and it should be taking the lead not relying on ordinary decent members of the public to risk their safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭AyeGer

The guy who intervened to stop cathal crotty was very brave as crotty and his friends could very easily of turned on the good samaritan.

I still say it wasn't random. I have seen this kind of thing happen lots of times, the person stepping in to break up a fight gets attacked, it isn't random.

Regardless, everything about it was sickening.

And the very fact Crotty knew he was about to pulverise a woman (with no fear at all) and not a man, who may have been far more capable of defending himself, adds a truly cowardly and nasty dimension to it. You don’t see these attacks near as much as male on male violence

That fooking judge is disgusting

• This content has been removed.

You definitely do see these attacks far more with male on male violence. I work nights and have seen any amount of them, I have never seen a man beat a woman though.

Absolutely. It’s very rare. And it’s why it only naturally will stir up coverage, repulsion and outrage.

Coverage is fine but the demonizing men by the feminist groups today is not on.

Yes, that’s the knee-jerk nonsense reaction. The real agenda is our desperately lenient sentencing regarding really nasty crimes.

Men beating men and men beating women is as old as the hills. It cannot be cured. But putting these thugs away may well make society safer, even feel safer. Right now there’s next to no effing deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Christ man. You need a break from the Internet.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭I see sheep

I'm not clear on what was going on with his friends.

Did it happen so quickly that they were just looking on in shock or what?

It's hard to believe they just let him beat the **** out of a girl like?? 🙁

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Caquas

There are people with political agendas who are jumping on a bandwagon and I hope Natasha O’Brien doesn’t get used by such people.

This is a highly atypical assault - I can’t recall another case where a man beat a woman unconscious although she was a complete stranger and there was no sexual element to the assault. It would be absolutely wrong to revise our laws based on this case but there is an urgent need to address sentencing in violent assaults and discipline in the Defence Forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,836 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

And after his disgusting boasting on social media and saying the victim provoked him.

He pleaded guilty because the CCTV backed him into a corner.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭KaneToad

These types of mindless cowardly assaults are usually males on males. Not sure these routinely end in custodial sentences either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,593 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Apparently the Judge in question is known for giving lenient sentences for accused that plead guilty on a first time offence. On the basis that conviction would ruin their lives.

He did the same thing in another case where one male stabbed another male and plead guilty.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭con___manx1

The man that carried out this vicious assault better leave the country. He is in danger now for sure. Only a matter of time now some vigilantes get him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭growleaves

I disagree because the judges are doing what they're meant to be doing - the 'rules' laid down by legislators instruct or encourage them to be lenient on first time offenders who plead guilty.

What's more, this leniency on crime is broadly in line with the preferences of Irish liberals - including Irish feminist liberals. It conforms to the sociological theories of crime that they espouse. They are too egosyntonic to question their own role in liberating criminal behaviour through excessive leniency.

Now they want to carve out an unprincipled exception to their own rules this time because this one case has shocked them - and the victim is a woman.