Soldier beats a woman unconscious, gets a great reference from his CO. Jailed after appeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

This week, a man sexually assaulted a 79 year old woman in her own bed. He also got a suspended sentence.

Where was the outcry from the media and the left wing politicians? 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 typerated

How come this supposedly intelligent judge did not understand that a criminal conviction would result in a dishonourable discharge from the army, and why did the Gardai not charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 typerated

Why was this soldier not charged for his homophobic comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭davetherave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,991 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Very good point: will the friends he was with (likely some are serving soldiers too) be required to account for why their initial testimony was presumably closer to Crotty's version of events than to what the CCTV showed? I haven't seen any suggestion of that. Nor did they help her, of course.

Another thing that bothers me about this horrible attack is thinking about the difference if Ms O'Brien had just walked on by. Crotty was obviously working up to a homophobic attack (and I wonder whether his pals might well have been part of that if so). If he had attacked the guy and given him the same injuries, it would have been a homophobic attack. A hate crime. But because it was a woman - nothing. No hate crime, and a suspended sentence because a judge couldn't possibly let a man lose his job over something so minor, could he? She lost hers, but she's just a woman.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭davetherave

No, unless your terms of engagement are up you have to apply for your discharge. If he just leaves he would be absenting himself without leave, which would be another charge against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭Tork

A journalist from the Irish Mirror called to the Crotty's house. Not much remorse there

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I said similar upthread.
    Surely those who were with him, if they were also members of the Defence Forces, should be hauled over the coals for their failure to act to stop the assault.

Only for the passer-by who intervened, that scumbag could have been facing an even more serious charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Much of the focus of this attack has been on Crotty and the Army officer. His friends seem to be flying under the radar here. Wtf were they doing while he was pummelling the poor lady into the ground? Are they on CCTV I wonder standing looking at the attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I find it hard to believe this was his first time doing something like this. To be that savage the first time hitting someone would be unusual I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

What's unusual is a man beating a woman and then bragging about it. What planet is this guy from??

Seems Ireland’s justice system repeatedly tolerates volent crime as acceptable.

You regularly see reports of suspended sentences for violent assaults. Then we wonder why we have an issue with random violent crime and thuggery.

Non-violent crimes often gets treated far more severely - they’ve no issue throwing the book at some hippy pensioner with a couple of hash plants in a window box, but knock someone’s teeth out and sure that’s grand, particularly if it’s your 207th offence.

Our criminal justice is a joke when it comes to violent crime.

The victim in this should be hugely commended for what she’s doing. She’s holding it up to public account. She’s not just being walked over and she might hopefully have significant impact and drive change.

Our courts are far, far too accepting of violent crime and it’s having bad consequences across society. The legal system is supposed to be setting an example and setting a standard for behaviour. It’s doing just that - the standard is low and violence is apparently fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Comer1

“I’m his father. You know and I know it’s the media that’s put him here as well,” he said."

As a teacher, my experience is that we find this attitude so much now with parents. "It's everyone else's fault, not my angel. They're the victim here." Parents or their children don't take ownership of their actions. How can the son have any moral compass with a parent like that. "Black cat, black kitten."

I do believe Mr Crotty, that nobody, but your son put himself in this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I agree. It looks like the apple didn't fall far from the tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,008 ✭✭✭BrianD3

There are several leaps there. First of all we don't know if Crotty was working up to a homophobic attack.

Also, we don't know if Crotty attacked the victim because she was a woman. If a man had said something to him about his homophobic comments and was attacked with the judge imposing a suspended sentence and making the same comments about the perp's career, would it be because the victim was "just a man"?

What we do know is that violent assaults happen all the time and and more often than not, the victims are male. And we also have a problem with lenient and inconsistent sentencing. The feminist NGOs are latching onto this case and trying to make it about institutional misogyny which is nonsense.

Tell that to my elderly relative (male) who was beaten and stabbed in his own home in an aggravated burglary. Perp got a suspended sentence with playing GAA, having a girlfriend and having a job all brought up by the defence in court. Did this case make RTE or any national media? Of course not, just a run of the mill assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭Heckler

I'm not a parent so maybe don't understand how a father can not only stand behind this prick but start blaming the media.

He should be booted from the DF. His sentence should be appealed for its leniency.

At 22 with a criminal conviction and a hopeful dishonourable discharge hes fucked. No employer is going to want him.

Disgusting act and whoever his friends were should be ashamed of themselves. If they are DF as well they should held accountable.

Well done to that brave woman. Terrible that she didn't get the justice she deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Terrier2023

I thought there was going ot be a change where if you gave a written reference you had to come into the court and deliver it in person under oath this was to stop people giving GAA & rugby stars brilliant references during rape trials. Obviously dint happen. The corruption in the world is beyond a joke !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Terrier2023

???

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The CO was not there to give a character reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭LetticebCivil

He has been tried in court and got way lightly. He has been tried by the public and his life is more or less over. I bet he regrets his actions now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭Field east

maybe the courts can do nothing about the ‘others’ . BUT if they were soldiers and can be identified in the CCTV then maybe the army could do something

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

His father say the court "squashed" the case and the media are to blame for where he is now. He couldn't even say his son deeply regretted his actions and offer consolation to Natasha.

The apple didn't fall far from the tree.

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

That was my point.
    As I said, if they were members of the Defence Forces, surely their behaviour on that night, needs to be examined too, by the Defence Forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Caquas

Because he pleaded guilty after the Gardai got hold of CCTV, his buddies were spared the embarrassment of being cross-examined on their behaviour that night.

They will be lying low but let's see if the media can track them down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭Tork

Perhaps they will? As far as I know, we don't usually hear about Defence Forces disciplinary hearings. This one, for obvious reasons, is so high profile they were left with little choice but to release a statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,625 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Wonder what his wife thinks and how he’d feel if he had daughters beaten by a random man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭amacca

If they are just standing there then in fairness I don't think much can or indeed should be done to them

They may or may not be scumbags too or they could just be easily led or maybe caught by surprise by what yer man did...

The problem is imo the people that commit the crimes aren't suffering adequate consequences.

It's been that way for decades, peopleare wandering around with 100s of previous convictions for similar offences in some cases.... something is clearly not working.

I, wrongly or rightly and I'm open to correction/debate on this think there are a number of factors at play when I hear about what I consider to be the nonsensical farce our justice system has fallen into

In no particular order, ie: not sure how true or how much of an influence these factors have on where we are at the moment and I'll reserve my own opinion on these until the end and I've numbered them so it's easier to refer back

1. There is a certain lets call it "school of thought" (maybe ideology would be a better description) out there that by convicting people or handing out more robust punishment you aren't solving anything and convicting them of a crime means you are trapping them into continuing to commit crime...so therefore it's best to be lenient and try to rehabilitate.....

2. The state has failed or deliberately not created much in the way of additional prison spaces (even though population has risen) ...thus there is nowhere to put many of the offenders if they were convicted so the pressure probably comes back on the judge to only impose a prison sentence as a last resort....this is only speculation but I often wonder would a judge that handed out prison sentences like confetti at a wedding be more unpopular within the system as certain other judges that go the opposite way are outside of it....this imo is linked to an ideology that the state is better off having less and less involvement in services/institutions etc etc so less cost and less exposure to legal problems later....preferring instead privatesector (to take over stuff in its entirety it shouldnt imo) or public private partnership, or ngo etc etc....

3. The gardai (and I'm basing this on what I've witnessed over the last 30 years and stories my father/family told me etc so in fairness its anecdotal) have very little authority or incentive to deal with the recidivist low life scumbag and head the ball in the everyday scheme of things…and I personally don't blame them at all....you do your job, risk assault and then the scumbag walks out of court smiling in the end....the system creates pressures to focus on policing the generally law abiding or less problematic than tackling the more dedicated antisocial offender..taken with points 1 and 2 above this further emboldens the violent thug types and general low level low IQ scumbags.....the people more directly in contact with them/those at the coalface aren't really a threat unless things really come to head and that leads not to fear of consequences or viewing police as a necessary function for a reasonable society but derision and hatred within large parts of a community only making it a more fertile ground for more directed profitable types of criminal enterprise for the more intelligent members of the criminal fraternity

4. There are little or no meaningful consequences at the other end of the scale for white collar crime and skullduggery either (or they are not visible enough) ..... this can be motivator to, when a number of your public reps and successful wealthy prominent individuals engage in less than honourable dealings and fail to suffer consequences or it takes years and years for them to occur it can be corrosive

5. In my little head it occurs to me there will always be some level of crime, meaning there will always be a need for some level of policing, legal system etc ....however the legal profession is currently incentivised to not not catch all the fish...much better to let the little ones go and have a nice healthy source of future revenue.....we don't incentivise actually solving the problem and reward for good outcomes like a reduction in offences/crimes etc to create pressure to travel in that direction....just like we don't incentivise our public representatives to travel in the right direction....they are only incentivised to get re-elected by any means and then you get a hodge podge of sometimes good sometimes highly questionable actions etc...I think this one is probably the weakest but can't help wondering if there's a grain of truth that part of the system itself wants to keep a healthy supply of scrotes at the ready rather than apply consequences or reform the maximum number

Anyway...there you have it, my outline on how I think the whole thing has degenerated into a dysfunctional system and anyone that tries to change it will face an uphill struggle.

Fwiw this amateur (possibly naeive moron) thinks there could be a gradual incremental remedy for this

If you can't increase prison spaces etc and sentences mean they can't get a job etc then there still needs to be consequences.......for the ones on social welfare that come to the attention of the law repeatedly (multiple convictions) then a gradual reduction in the social welfare payments and then if they show up after that for offences related to making money other ways (drug dealing, robbery etc) then you do go to prison or if its such a holiday for some as we often hear then you work at something unpleasant (away from people's houses so you don't get to case your next joint etc)

There has to be some form of real consequences .....there's a whole cohort of people out there that can get creative when it comes to letting people off I see no reason why we can't be a little creative when it comes to consequences for being a **** too....there needs to be an occasional stick as well as plentiful carrots too

And mandatory jail terms for serious violent offences might help too....if you rape or assault someone and it can be proven and there are little or no excuses beyond a hard life/childhood or simple thuggery then you should do the time....drugs or temporary insanity etc shouldn't be a defence either and it shouldn't matter what section of society you come from....you should have to see consequences.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It's a pity the Irish Mirror didn't try that on the doorstep. They could have asked the father if he was annoyed Cathal was the only one identified when his friends were there and didn't intervene.

I'm sure he'd have been delighted to try to spread the blame. They could have names and pictures of all of them, or at least names and pictures of their houses.