Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Cocaine Destroying Rural Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You've been debunked on the restriction one, so tine to drop that. Or show me a law which limits my consumption or possession. Of but you've admitted you can't do that.

The rest is vague evasive bullshit because - as i think you've noticed, you're not stupid - there's no consistent.connection between the attitude towards drugs and legal status and the actual dangers that pose. Either they'd all be banned or none of them would, and you'd see the consumers in the same way.

IIf I'm wrong, you should be able to answer the questions I asked previously.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

I have absolutely no need to answer any of your questions. The bald fact of the matter is that cocaine is illegal for a reason. Alcohol is a restricted substance whether you like it or not and peoples lives are destroyed by people becoming addicted to both substances again, whether you like it or not. If you don't like the fact that cocaine is illegal, go nag your local TD. It's a poison. It doesn't bring any benefits to society. Alcohol is again restricted. Where you can buy it, who you can buy it from. You have to be 18 at a minimum to buy it. The list goes on. Again, if you don't like those restrictions, go nag your local TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You don't - of course not - buy asking is fair game.

But it confirms what I already know: you're fully aware of the fallacies on your arguments.

You don't have to agree with what I am saying and frankly I don't care if you do or not. Whether you agree with me or not will not change the fact that cocaine is an illegal poison and rightly so. Alcohol is restricted in terms of its production and sale in this country. As I said above, if you want any of these things changed, go nag your local TD. Whether you agree with me or not is irrelevant.

We're going around in cricles: I'm not disagreeing on the first, I've debunked the second and you haven't disagreed with or even commented on my central point in your last three points.

I don't do cocaine often enough to want it legalised and I can get it if I want it (which is very, very occasional - maybe once a year) regardless.

As I said: you know the fallacies in your arguments, you're not stupid. No more for me to say, have a nice afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

There's nothing stopping me going out and buying 50 litres and whiskey and drinking it all. Whisht with the "restricted substance".

You tarred everyone who likes a drink with the same brush when you made these posts:

You are very clearly implying that everyone who has one pint after work are going to be addicted to alcohol. Which of course, is utter tosh.

Nobody said you couldn't. What you can't do is be drunk in a public place. What you can't do is purchase alcohol legally under the age of 18 You also cannot legally buy cocaine or it's ilk at any age in this country. You will not be telling me to be quiet on any issue.

The problems of drug taking and alcoholism are well documented worldwide nevermind just here. If you have an issue with the availability of illegal drugs etc. I suggest you contact your local TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Can you name ONE community in Ireland that has been destroyed by cocaine, I'd like to google it. I believe people in affluent areas like Foxrock and D4 enjoy a few lines, the last time I looked they were the most expensive places in Ireland to buy a property. I'm from a council estate and I know several people from there who took it, hasn't destroyed that area either. Coke is not like a tsunami, earthquake or the the Luftwaffe, which are capable of destruction. It's an animate substance, you can choose to use or refuse.

"cocaine is illegal", if laws didn't change women wouldn't be allowed to vote, people wouldn't be able to divorce, use contraception, terminations etc. Laws change for the greater good. "No redeeming qualities to cocaine use" obviously the millions of people worldwide who use it wouldn't agree, have you ever wondered why it's roughly worth its weight in gold? it's popular, people enjoy using it, otherwise it wouldn't exist.

Post edited by Tomaldo on

Arsenic and cyanide are types of poison, cocaine is NOT. Otherwise Elton John, Eric Clapton and Ringo Starr would all be dead. They took lots of it decades ago and are still alive, well into their old age. If you check dictionary.com you won't see the word poison or poisonous in its definition.

"c

"Cocaine is illegal for a REASON", could you share that with me, 'cos I've yet to hear a good one.

You do seem quite animated by the subject. I don't have to share anything with you. Cocaine is illegal and it's use is illegal. It's a poison, that's good enough for me. As I said above, if you have an issue with that take it up with your local TD. Maybe he or she will advocate on your behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,112 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’d second this. Precisely why in last job some of us just lost interest in work social stuff. Insufferable is a good adjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭einn32

They won't get much respite from it in oz. Everyone is on it based on my experience over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Doc07

it’s a stretch to say an entire community is destroyed , but many of the same areas and socio-economic groups damaged by the heroin influx in the 80s are the exact same communities currently awash with cocaine. Yes contrary to popular belief the majority of cocaine addicts in Ireland (and many other places) are ‘poor’ or ‘working class’ not rich

It’s not the few lines in D4 that make this a billion dollar business worth chopping young lads up for, it’s the lads in Jobstown, Dublin8, Limerick etc with €100 a day habits.

I'm glad you agreed, unlike the other poster (who said they don't have to share anything with me) that communities are NOT destroyed by cocaine. A google search said 7 out of 100 people (in Ireland) aged between 15 and 64 have tried it at some stage. Nearly 3% between the ages of 15 and 34 used it over the past year. I glanced at the recent Opinion Polls for Voters' concerns in the upcoming elections, their main problems were Housing, Cost of Living, Refugees etc. Coke didn't seem be near the top of the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Quitelife

cocaine has closed and is continuing to close many rural pubs .
    200 young people in a village community might have had on average a hundred a week for socialising which one time went to the 4 or 5 local pubs which was 20k …. At this stage more than half of this is going to local drug dealers ie 10k …. the pubs have overheads like rates and utilities etc and now can’t pay them closing down whereas the drug dealer has none of these costs . Pubs have become less attractive to older people due to coke heads off their game plus Older folk afraid of drug runners in pubs as well so all that’s left is coke addicts buying one pint and snorting cocaine in the toilets for the night , closure of pubs due to drugs has led to even more social isolation for many who liked a few pints in the evening with their neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,572 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

50% of young people in villages are on cocaine weekly?

Where did you get this statistic?

That sounds like basic competition. Pubs don't have a right to customers and if they're 'less attractive to younger people' then THAT'S the issue.

But if you're right, then if it hadn't been coke, it wouldhave been something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,275 ✭✭✭✭zell12

“cocaine has become a public health emergency that shows no sign of abating,” Gara says. “This is a drug that has somehow managed to keep its reputation as benign, even glamorous, but causes huge and fast addiction problems. Health issues that lead from heavy use are myriad, including strokes, heart palpitations, key arteries in the brain can blow.

There are many new users in their 50s and 60s – people who have never taken drugs before – who are suffering serious health problems as a result. And across the board we’re seeing devastating mental health impacts including depressive disorders, anxiety disorders and psychosis.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I don't do cocaine often enough to want it legalised and I can get it if I want it (which is very, very occasional - maybe once a year) regardless.

Explains the attitude and defensiveness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭Allinall

it’s unfair and illegal competition though.

I think that’s the point the poster was making.

Still competition nonetheless. If I want to stay at home and drink wine and watch TV I could be "closing a rural pub".

We've had this very recently with the Vintners pushing for MUP and restrictions on the hours in which off-licenses and supermarkets can sell alcohol - and their competitors there have overheads too - so it's not really a consistent point to point to allegedly uneven business practices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭xckjoo

What about all the people that got hooked on opiates after being prescribed them for pain? Serious problem in the US. How did they chose the addiction?

What about this, what about that. It's irrelevant. None of those things make cocaine less toxic, less of a poison. Those other things are awful, I agree. Doesn't change the fact that cocaine is an illegal poison.

You've spent a lot if time whitling down your argument to a very basic premise that is worlds away from your original standpoint, one that is extremly passive and that no one actually disagrees with you.

Well if you're going to agree with me fair enough. My stance hasn't changed.

Not changed, whittled down. You're no longer spouting the "all drug consumers are addicts regardless if the legality of the drug" line because you know it's fallacy and your only point now is that "cocaine is illegal" - and we already knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The control drug gangs have in small villages is only getting worse - garda stations closed down and gangs drive up and down Main Street 24/7 selling drugs , beating up / stabbing those with drug debts whilst older people not taking drugs are afraid to leave their homes due to intimidation,

I'm not sure what kind of axe you're trying to grind and trying to put words in my mouth won't aid your cause. I'm not entirely sure why you care what my stance is on a given topic and frankly I don't care. The bald truth is that cocaine and other illegal drugs are illegal for a reason. In terms of alcohol, I have seen too many lives destroyed by alcoholism. Where it literally started with one drink in the evening after work. So, have a nice day.