Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

80% of the voters disagreed with mary lou and sinn feins take on the referendums, you know the ones she said she would run again.

Nobody bar the die hard shinners are believing the cr** out of sinn fein anymore.

That is not right wing goosestepping or Brits.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

???

Write that again in English and I might read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Barry Cowen, slack-jawed and running away to the mainland,

where has he been hiding?

FFG seem to be waving the white flag for the next election, they are allowing way too many sitting TDs to run for Europe.

If they get elected to Europe, they are essentially forfeiting that constituency, they don’t seem to have high profile second strings that I can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Opportunist fool. I pray he doesn't get a seat. He'll do nothing in Europe. Chambers will be along soon to say the borders should be closed.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gral6

Paul Murphy should lead next government. The most confident and experienced TD ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,413 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

No idea how this story passed me by?!

How is Helen McEntee still in a job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,401 ✭✭✭corkie

Ministers turn on each other over migrants as crisis grows

Civil war broke out in the Cabinet last night with ministers lining up to lambast Taoiseach Simon Harris and his Justice Minister Helen McEntee over their handling of the migrant crisis.

Mr Harris was blasted as being ‘naive’, ‘confrontational’, ‘juvenile and bombastic’ by colleagues for his role in a row with the UK government over deportations and the border.

Things don't sound good for our government? Not predicting anything by the way.

Only last week they where congratulating Simon on moving Mount Street Shanty Town, only for a new one to be setup on Dublin's Grand Canal.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…eu wide failure, theyre coming, whether we like it or not, we re not gonna stop them, the whole eu needs to sit down and start having adult conversations about this reality, and start dealing with it, it wont happen though, so get ready for an even bigger mess…..

Not a bit surprised to be honest. He's had an awful start. Bad decisions and made a fool of himself with the British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭pureza

What would Gardaí at the open border do though,escort them back to Newry ?

Impossible as they'd be back 5 seconds later

Its incredible the thick crap politicians come out with so as to be seen to mar dhea care

What needs to be done in the first place is to restore the pre brexit agreement between GB and France to deport them

Its an EU wide problem Firstly and thats where entry has to be processed and the vast bulk of these exposed as the economic migrant chancers that they are

The EU can fund the mass deportation

Election 'before the clocks go back' favoured among politicians
    One minister suggested the Government must call an election after October’s budget, as 'anything longer is madness'

• Almost two-thirds of Fianna Fáil TDs, ministers, and senators surveyed want a general election in the autumn, while exactly half of Fine Gael members also favour going to the polls before the end of the year.
    • However, Green Party members differ from the two main coalition parties and believe that the three-stool Government should stay in place until next March.

Majority of Government politicians favour autumn election — poll

Not surprised at Green's wanting to go full term, they will probably get hammered in election for propping up the Gov?

I am NOT predicting anything here, but some people who have maybe proven correct!

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,106 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is ROG in hiding, new tent town, record number weekly IPAs and not a hum from the Integration minister who promised keys to new homes and jobs for all

ROG was the whipping boy for long enough and clearly wasn't getting cabinet support. So now that the focus has shifted to the Clueless 2, he is being smart and keeping the head down. Time for Simon and Helen to take some flak. Especially with less than 30 days to elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭dmakc

Had a Limerick councillor (randomly as I'm not from Lim) come up as an advert scrolling Instagram last night ("paid for by Fine Gael" and all on it) with an MTV Cribs theme of this is my house and garden etc. Good editing, exactly like the show used to do 20-odd years ago.

Just thought to myself however, if I was FG, the last way to garner votes is "look at the big lovely house I own". Had to laugh really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

A lot of these are arrogant assholes to start with and don't forget a lot will be taking their cue from the party hierarchy that now looks down their noses and totally dismisses out of hand the concerns of ordinary people.

You can even see it with undoubted party insiders and supporters on the web, and indeed here, where they still appear to think the Irish voters are going to continue to stupidly vote for them.

And this is not alone FG, but all the major parties.

Granted it does appear FG has an inordinate amount of members/lackies who seem to have totally forgotten the days when they only dreamed of getting anywhere near FF and into power.

I am not allowed discuss …

ROG out of hiding

Mr O’Gorman said the Government “will be in a position to say with confidence that everybody who requires an offer of accommodation can get one” in the next few months. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Blut2

"in the next few months" is quite the non specific sentance.

It also completely ignores the fact that the real problem is we need to reduce the number of people arriving and claimng accomodation, not continuously provide more and more accomodation at the expense of the Irish tax payer.

Its incredibly worrying that O'Gorman, who literally tweeted out in multiple languages to asylum seekers the promise that they'd get free accomodation here to encourage them to come, is still influencing government decision making. His agenda is completely at odds with whats very clearly in the country's best interests.

Helen McEmpty needs to be gone along with Roger O Gormless

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41393395.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Scar001

What is Micheal Martin's beef with social media?

Tánaiste warns over impact of fake online ads

• "Various political people could be undermined in the course of an election campaign with very little recourse during the campaign," he warned.
    • Micheál Martin said social media firms should not be allowed 'to require citizens to go to the courts'

Has he ever heard of ad-block software?

Has anyone come across false political ads on social media, or do you automatically filter out obvious ads when you see them. The ads I seem to get until I muted them on twitter where from 'Fun Games 2024'! Anyone else getting them?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The problem is not with "ads".

As a starting point you could look at the whole Cambridge Analytica debacle, but it has obviously progressed since.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cambridge_Analytica

• Data scandal. In March 2018, media outlets broke news of Cambridge Analytica's business practices. The New York Times and The Observer reported that the company had acquired and used personal data about Facebook users from an external researcher who had told Facebook he was collecting it for academic purposes.
    • Cambridge Analytica claimed to be able to use Facebook data for its clients to better target political messages to people that could be influenced, also known as “microtargeting.” Facebook shut down access for new apps to this API in 2014, and the API access was fully shut down in 2015.

@Podge_irl Is that old news or is something still like it happening now?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

You think it's stopped? Yes, things like that are still happening. You have botfarms etc pretending to be real people pushing whatever agenda they want.

I highly doubt the government is in any position to properly regulate it, but the problem is not targeted ads marked as such.

@Podge_irl The problem is not with "ads".

So the article is deceptive in describing the problem. It is more to do with disinformation and slanderous posts on social media. As you say botfarms etc targeting politicians. Not individual targeting of ads to user's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭jmcc

His face was used in crypto-currency scam ads and he had to take legal action to identify those behind the ads. Some other politicians and celebrities were also targeted.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/micheal-martin-initiates-high-court-proceedings-against-google-over-scam-adverts/a1902151621.html

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Oxo Moran

I've seen a lot of 'kate3421578' type named accounts, with nothing in the way of a personality, just guff about immigrants and SF traitors.

I know when posting adverts they are vetted for content, (Facebook won't allow too much text for example). I wonder how or why such obvious fake adverts get through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Delete

Post edited by corcaigh07 on

Thanks for that, looks like after they where taken down by google, then surfaced again on Social Media in March.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-41369857.html

Hence his beef with Social Media. Horrible for him to be used in that way. But it is not like the average Mr Joe Public would be used in these scams, so wouldn't need to go to the courts to the extant he is.

As it is still a matter for the courts? Better to not go deeper into discussion here?

CASE WIN Major legal victory for Micheal Martin as High Court compel Google to hand over fake ad cryptocurrency scam details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭jmcc

The funny thing is that the scammers would have thought that Irish people would have taken the word of an FFer on investments given the whole Celtic Tiger thing. :) This is just background noise to the use of Social Media influence operations. It is helped by "technology journalists" reporting on the issue being quite clueless and being unable to identify such operations.

The 2016 US presidential election and the whingebinge from opinionators about Russian sites was really funny. The vast majority were networks of Made For Adsense sites from Eastern Europe. They were variations on clickbait sites that are promoted via Social Media ads. (The BBC tracked down some of the people behind the sites and interviewed them.)

Influence operations have come a long way since the days of planting stories with a gullible journalist or two. Technology has improved such operations but targeting plays a major part of things now. In Social Networking terms, it is far more important to identify "influencers" who will propagate a message than it is to waste time on press release recyclers that few people will trust. The trust in the legacy media has fallen dramatically in the last few decades. This makes the identification of "influencers" much like the Cambridge Analytica approach important because people are more likely to trust people they know. If you need an insight in to the CA issue, Chris Wiley's "Mindf*ck" book is quite good.

Regards…jmcc