Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Jenkins played a blinder. I think that's one of his better outings for Leinster. He has found some really good form. Watching Luke, he was poor with his passing. A couple of shoelace passes along with a couple of high passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

yeah Jenkins is finally looking like the player we signed him for just as he’s leaving lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I think Jenkins has really come into his own this season. Whilst he has made his presence really felt in the last couple of months, his performances earlier in the season were fairly decent too. He made some good contributions in earlier games too without the eye catching moments.

I don't know if we really knew how to get the best out of him or play a style that he worked well with last season. Nienaber seems to have been able to spark some life into him and he's really started delivering. He was a big unit who was very mobile around the park during his time in SA and that's what we've seen more recently with some really effective carries as well as excellent line out work which isn't something we normally associate with a 124kg tighthead lock in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

It absolutely isn't a must win.

It would be nice to have a home route all the way to the final, this team shouldn't even slightly fear playing URC knockouts away from home.

Only 'must wins' are the final next week and then the knockouts when they come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

given the "home advantage" will involve games in an half empty croke park, im not sure how much advantage it will be.

saying that avoiding a trip to SA would be nice.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

There is very much still a scenario in play where we have to go to SA for a semi final. I'd count avoiding that as slightly more than just a "nice to have"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭PMC83

Not a must win but you'd imagine it would be an important one for them and a big knock to momentum if lost. Leinster have lost two semis at home on the bounce. While they shouldn't fear going away I wouldn't imagine they would be thrilled with the prospect of it.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,960 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

if leinster can put out a team of:

Byrne, kelleher, alaalatoa

jenkins ryan

connors, conan, Penny

Mc Grath, H Byrne

TOB Ngatai JOB Russell

Keenan

Mckee Milne Clarkson Molony Deegan Foley Frawley Larmour

id be confident enough of bring home the win

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,431 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Whilst Home is obviously better , the positive impact of the schedule this year cannot be discounted.

In previous years , the Semi Finals fell immediately before a Euro Final.

This year , the entire playoff cycle is several weeks afterwards - It makes a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Should be a cracking match in Belfast. I hope Keenan gets involved, even if on the bench. Same with Ryan.

The scenario of having to go to SA in the semi can still be in play whether we win or lose against Ulster.

There are also several scenarios where Leinster lose both URC games and don't end up travelling to SA in the semi. A game can't be a 'must win', like the OP claimed, if you can lose it and another one and still end up avoid the negative outcomes.

The idea of going to SA isn't ideal but this team should have nothing to fear going down there, even with the associated travel and the impact to the following week. I'd argue this team seems to rise to that kind of adversity pretty well, at times better than when they're clear favourites.

If you have two ends of the spectrum - 'must win' and 'nice to have', I don't see any real argument that the game this weekend is anywhere close to the 'must win' side.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Two years ago the URC QF was after the CC final. We still went out in the semis.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Yeah fair. It's closer to 'nice to have' for sure.

I'm exceptionally tired of not winning the URC - or not even putting a good foot forward for it though.

ROL had to retire due to injury. Very good player, who won a lot with Leinster.

Yeah, just saw that. Very sorry to see it, shame to see a 30-year old player retiring. He was a really solid squad member for Leinster for years.

Me too - just don't see this weekend having a huge bearing on the chance to win. We could easily win this weekend and lose the following due to hangovers and Connacht players up to play spoiler, even if nothing to play for.

Would be very happy to get the URC crown back. I however suspect if Leinster win it many of those who have crowed about it for the last year will suddenly not feel it is such an achievement and the result in London will be how Leinster will be measured, win or lose.

That semi was the type of scenario I was talking about.

Leinster sleepwalked into that semi and I feel they would be less likely to if they were playing on the road.

• Administrators Posts: 56,316 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I however suspect if Leinster win it many of those who have crowed about it for the last year will suddenly not feel it is such an achievement and the result in London will be how Leinster will be measured, win or lose.

Well Andrew Porter made it clear last year after the semi-final defeat to Munster that Leinster measure themselves on European Cups and made it clear that not winning the league was something they weren't overly bothered about.

So yes, I would imagine you are correct.

That has absolutely been true from a Leinster team perspective, though in this situation I'd give Porter some grace that they probably needed to push that message post a loss like that.

Leinster's personal opinion about the trophy however doesn't change others talking out of both sides of their mouths about the competition.

You either value winning the competition or you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

I think you're not really reflecting what he said fairly. He simply said:

It’s obviously incredibly tough to not let it seep into the week that it is.

It is an incredibly special and important week, but the coaches have been great in terms of moving on from the weekend and focusing on the next job at hand.

To be honest, it’s a bigger job now.

“It’s about getting that fifth star on the jersey. You don’t see many URC or PRO14s or whatever you have on the jersey. You see those stars that are on the jersey, so that’s the thing we are looking forward to the most this week.”

Unless you're referring to another interview, its a huge stretch to say he made it clear that Leinster weren't overly bothered with URC. Just that the European Cup was the priority.

• Administrators Posts: 56,316 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's not a huge stretch at all.

The meaning behind:

You don’t see many URC or PRO14s or whatever you have on the jersey.

is fairly obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

It's obvious Europe is the target, sure. But that they weren't overly bothered with the URC... Nah, not for me.

It’s obviously tough because you can look on as a spectator and say, ‘I could have done this or I could have done that’, but we had complete faith in the guys that were out there playing,” he explained.

“Just one or two things, we didn’t get the rub of the green. It was frustrating, more for the lads who were playing. It’s disappointing, but we’ve got something else to look forward to now, so it’s not the end of our season just yet.

He's hardly finding it tough, frustrating and disappointing if they weren't at all bothered.

Post edited by The Iron Giant on

Essentially, if Leinster win the URC, its meaningless. If Leinster don't win the URC, it's the most important competition in the world and catastrophic for the province,

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Unless Munster win it, in which case it's meaningless again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭conquestscarer

Such a misjudged interview. All it did was pile the pressure on for the champions cup final.

it had nothing to do with losing the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,033 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,431 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Dickson will stick his oar in at least once - Every time he's in the AR role he manages to get himself into the middle of a review by looking for more than everyone else is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clontarf_Jazz

Jaysus Luke Pearce must have rightly pissed off someone up the food chain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Yep, must have.

Raynal, Brousset, Brace & Gauzins get the Challenge Cup Final so no spot for Lukey mate there either.