Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2024 (Mod warning, see OP updated 10/05 and post #3477 11/05)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

People Like Bambo ruin the competition, thst is a laugh. The demonstrations on the streets of malmo are not against them. The increased security and political nature of this competition is not related to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Seems like a complete overreaction based on that article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,567 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Just take the show at face value of being a song contest, most people won't even care about eurovision next week. Throwing abuse at 20 year old woman about something that's completely out of her control who's just there to sing a song isn't right. Even if you ban Israel, it won't make an ounce of difference to what's happening in Gaza just like banning Russia except for Ukraine getting a sympathy win. If someone is offended by what's happening then just don't watch eurovision, the contest will continue without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Agreed.

The level of childishness and immaturity from many of the contestants is remarkable.

It's like running to the headmaster when they feel like it.

Making a complaint because they were filmed 'illegally' without their permission by some journalists.

I wonder do they have the same complaints when other nations do it? I doubt it.

Its all a bit petty tbh.

Just get on with your job FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,767 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Some pics of our past winners!

images (6).jpeg images (7).jpeg images (8).jpeg images (9).jpeg images (10).jpeg hqdefault.jpg 000a992d-642.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Croatia is number 1 on Spotify and Apple Music, the two biggest sources?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭yagan

There is never an excuse for genocide, I fully support anyone who withdraws from this grotesque contest.

Mod - warned. This is not the thread for political posts about current military and geopolitical conflicts.

Post edited by The Black Oil on

Ukraine winning the way they did showed it has become a political competition, but generally only those years there is a big political event in Europe, or in this case the Middle East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭AllForIt

You know that Sky News FYI show where news topics are presented by youths? Well they just said good luck to the UK entry and said whatever happens 'we think it's brilliant'. Erm no they don't, they were made say that. Because it's fecking awful 🤣

If that is what they want, i.e. an Ultimatum that it's them (Bambi Thug) to participate in exchange for Israel to be kicked out, then it's a disgraceful position to take.

No contestant has a veto on who can or cannot take part.

Bambi Thug aint covering herself in glory over this, but it indicates of the sense of entitlement that some display and have.

If the artist doesn't want to participate there's nothing the BBC can do about it.

True but I haven't actually heard of any of the artists come out and say they are willing to walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭aidanodr

My view - Unnecessary drama from many of the EV entrants now. FFS be a pro, "the show must go on".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Bambie failed to turn up at final dress rehearsal today and the EBU are involved what the hell is she up to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,567 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

You can't go around pretending to be a witch and when someone calls you "scary" you throw your toys out of the pram like a child. She should grow up, cop on and put her energy in the performance tonight

It's explained above. Something to do with a complaint against the israeli broadcaster, but exact details have not been revealed. Given how long it took the Dutch situation to be explained by the EBU we might receive a public statement from them midnight tonight 😀

I agree.

Judging from the comments and chat about her and her song its like Bibi himself wrote it and is performing tonight.

She alone has next to no say on what policies Israel has when it comes to defence and foreign policy. Indeed often she and people like her, who would be on the left of the Israeli political spectrum we need to empower so there is a longer-term solution to the issue with Palestine. The left in Israel hates Bibi more than we in Ireland do FFS!

But instead, we have just alienated them and cast them all as one homogenous group. I wonder when did we ever do that with Jews before, eh?

For the record, people have done that with Muslims too post 9-11

She cannot win either way, so she just puts her head down and does her best and that is all that is expected of her. If she wins or comes last, it affects not one thing in the Middle East, a region none of us live in, never mind understand or experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

You would have thought that if someone were so appalled by what was happening in Israel, which is completely understandable, they wouldn’t be entering a song competition with Israel in the first place.

The cynic in me tends to think this is all grandstanding and very little else.

To be fair they just saw one of their fellow professionals turfed out on the morning of the contest over what many are reporting as a minor incident. It's not them who are causing the drama.

That would be like if Iceland had refused to play Israel in the football this year in the euro qualifiers. Would just gift the win to Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Williamhill odds shortening on Ireland. In to 12-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

It will come during the revealing of the votes.

And next we have the results of the EBU Jury…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭mikethecop

is all the drama an effort to cover the low standard of the actual acts ?

i mean i know its all ment to be a bit kish euro trash but the pathetic efforts to make it all political seems to be an effort to mask the lack of talent from the contestants

hopefully Israel wins anyway

No way will they ever kick out Israel after all the pain they have endured keeping them in. But they will reveal their decision very late I'm sure to stay in the news. It has been a very strange eurovision.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

While I think Israel should not have been allowed to take part I think once Bambi and the other countries made their statement about why they weren't going to boycott then they should have left it at that. You've made your choice now keep schtum and get on with it. You can't have it both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,594 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

It is. They need to stop with all the extra curricular rubbish and concentrate on final.

Oh and their fellow contestant is the subject of a police investigation. Time to forget him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,643 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

(sticks head up from behind couch)

So…will ABBA be appearing tonight?

(ducks back down)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

fyou.jpg

Apparently, this is one of the Israeli delegation, He has been doing this all week…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The behaviour of the israeli delegation has changed things, they have been specifically goading and intimidating other countries acts to try and get a reaction from them, the EBU has claimed a zero tolerance policy and yet nothing is being done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭yagan

If Israel had been expelled for the same reasons Russia was there'd be no drama.

It's a simple fact that many people in Europe dare not call out Israel for genocide simply for fear of being called holocaust deniers. I've even seen Israeli defenders say it can't be genocide because there's no gas chambers or railroad cars etc..

Mod - warned. This is not the thread for political posts about current military and geopolitical conflicts.

Post edited by The Black Oil on