Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Flamme Rouge **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,774 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I saw that one yesterday - apparently it is of the types of bike lock sold on campus…

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,841 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I remember another display of evidence in the media (think it was cops in USA again), and some of the "weapons" confiscated at a BLM rally (or something like that) were clearly just bike kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭secman

So sad to only see this now, had messaged Sean before Christmas as noticed he was off the bike, so unusual for him. He told me he had received bad news , he had been in remission. Only messaged him by phone about 3 weeks ago as he was on my mind. Was on my mind again this morning and found the post about his passing. Just Terribly sad news. RIP Sean 🙏

Yeah, it's sad. I went to the funeral - it was a nice send off with the place packed with people wanting to say their goodbyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,869 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

I think I officially have too much stuff. I can't find my wahoo element bolt, a stages power meter and my Bluetooth hrm and forgot I even had some of the stuff I found as I was looking for all of the above.

I was looking up touch up paint for one of my numerous Genesis bikes (genesis actually supply a little pot of it with their steel bikes and frames too) and discovered they named their colours after bands/musicians

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/dmmtf0binpplgs06zvlo2/Genesis-Paint-Codes-Matches-2021.xlsx?rlkey=r6ynxrjo2zhdto8awyvdpw3ed&e=1&dl=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭De Bhál

unfortunately it looks like I'm riding around on a bike inspired in colour by the Lighthouse Family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭JMcL

I never got the touch-up paint with my CdF though I did buy it on closeout. I don't see the exact model on the list (it was a "limited edition" with non-series components before GRX was a thing) though the CdF 10 FB looks similar. I might try and lay my hands on a pot as it's picked up a few dings over the years.

What works very well is nail varnish. Obviously will only suit frames with fairly conservative colours but it served very well on my old Spec. Allez which was white/black/red

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

When i bought my equilibrium s/h the seller remembered to include the touch up paint.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Thinking of mounting this to my handlebars. In a way, it's a better measure of speed related effort than pure over the ground speed!

chatting to a colleague in germany, whose friend runs a bike shop there. his friend is not exactly happy about the new GRX groupset, it seems that carrying spares for groupsets now is much more problematic as they're changing more rapidly with a much greater range of parts needing to keep in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,157 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Didn't want to make a thread for this, Just wondering what locks people use for quick stops at coffee shops, petrol stations etc?

I was looking at folding locks (see below) that mount on the bottle cage holder. No experience with them though!

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/en/products/product-information/current-key/005636.html

Looks a bit too fiddly. I have a Kryptoflex R2 Retractor cable lock which is grand for me (if I bring it)...

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/en/products/product-information/current-key/280187.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,027 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I use one similar to the one linked below which my LBS sells for €5. Filling stations are awash with CCTV so I usually wouldn't bother locking up there unless I'm going to eat inside. It will lock up to 4 or 5 bikes (so I often have to cater for those club colleagues who don't bother to bring a lock but expect someone else to!)

The one you have linked to looks a bit heavy and not suitable if you need to bring two water bottles.

https://www.woodies.ie/master-lock-1-2m-x-8mm-fixed-combination-black-cable-bike-lock-1128862

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,841 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Litelok Go-O is good for medium-security very short stops. It is genuinely wearable as a belt, though I usually cinch it up into a little circle using the same belt kit and keep it in a small side basket I have on the bike.

If you're really near your bike, Hiplok z-lok combo is ultra light (and very low security). I use it to strap the Brompton on the Luas to a handle, so it doesn't roll or so someone doesn't walk off with it while I might be distracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I’ve used a Hiplock in the past. Then an Oxford pocket lock more recently: https://cyclopath.ie/shop/ols/products/oxford-pocket-lock

popped out to the shops and some lad cycled past, presumably on a video call, holding the phone with one hand and making the peace sign with the other, while doing duckface.

that'd have made some pratfall had he come a cropper.

Yesterday's F1 Monaco Grand Prix was won by Ferrari's Charles Le Clerk having started in pole position. He is a born & bred Monégasque (i.e. from Monaco).
    This is him heading home after the race celebrations…

Jenson Button was also an avid Cyclist (yay) but also an avid Triathlete (booo)

speaking of the latter, my boss did a half ironman on sunday, in germany. i was surprised at how hilly the cycle course was - his garmin reports 1087m of ascent in 88km.

There are ironman events with more climbing than that in the runs.

A good few full Ironmans are well over 3000m and one that's 5000m.

I imagine the one that went up Sally gap was hilly enough. Fair enough they're all full distance but still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,206 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I've been to Monaco and found it an unpleasant place just to walk around, i wouldn't fancy cycling there. It's set up for people to drive around very slowly in a Lamborghini.

i had just assumed triathletes didn't like hills!

Even the racers in my cycling club don't really like hills

i don't understand cyclists who don't like hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

If you don't go up hills you can't ride down hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭JMcL

I think for cycling, that would be preferable to being set up for people to drive around very fast in a Lamborghini.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Trackie reporting in - I don't like hills 😁

Kinda hard to build a track with a 5% grade, to be fair.

I genuinely don't like hills, wrong build altogether for hills, will get up them but don't enjoy it at all, never have. Too old now to learn new tricks. I live quite close to foot of Dublin mountains and couldn't tell you when I last ventured up Gunny and up by Hellfire to Sally Gap. Don't mind the likes of the lakes, drags and pulls but pure climbing like for an hour or more .....nah. Love cycling though 👌

Ill bitch and moan all the way up a hill, but it's my absolute favourite thing to do in cycling. I'm not much of a descebder, and I bet I'm worse now I've a child to get home safely too.

Long low grade drags annoy me though

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭ARX

Driving very slowly around Monaco is what Lamborghinis are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,951 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I live off-grid. I am raising funds for the creation of a bicycle powered washing machine that's easy to use, easy to cycle, easy to fix and most importantly washes clothes like a normal washing machine!

got the blood pressure down a notch with fairly standard meds, doc was then happy for me to get back on the bike to dial it back in slowly. i'm surprised that i don't seem to have lost nearly as much fitness as i expected i would, but i've just been going out on roughly hour long spins so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Whatever happened to GodIhatehills? Used be a regular commentator here.

@godihatedehills

i was overtaken by someone driving a tesla in an inappropriate way earlier (i don't mean inappropriate in a 'show me on the doll where he overtook you' way; nothing dramatic, just shouldn't have done it where he did).

anyway, i was wondering - and i have not really put any thought into it before, so i'm not saying i've noticed a trend - will the increasing popularity of BEVs or high powered hybrids,with their oodles of torque make more people confident about trying a quick accelerating overtake?

(FWIW my wife had stated that her father has become a much more aggressive driver since getting his bmw X5, which has 700Nm of torque)

Well, little did I know I'd be doing Mount Leinster today, my back gave me terrible lackery on the actual climb, almost did the walk of shame but didn't. Enjoyed the descent and spin back mucho more than the climb.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Fair play, cycled up the nine stones from Dublin a number of times and passed the gate but never tempted to go up to the mast. Brutal by all accounts.

I'll leave the mast for the younger bucks, yeah one of the lads today an A2 said its different gravey.

So much for the widely publicised Garda bank holiday safety appeal. I drove 600kms today and witnessed some ridiculous antics on the roads. Some people are just oblivious to the danger they pose to others and themselves. …….and I didn't see a single Garda/PSNI officer all day.

That's because they were all up in glasnevin doing checks this morning or getting overtime at bloom and forbidden fruit

There was a checkpoint near the metro hotel in ballymun this morning too.

The Garda Disc Bike exists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,117 ✭✭✭cletus

Here's a question that belongs nowhere else (forgive the stupidity of this is common knowledge).

If a rider holds the yellow jersey during the Tour de France, but doesn't ultimately end up winning the GC, do they still get to keep the jersey?

Yes, as they had led the race at some point and therefore earned it.

It's only a symbolic jersey anyway as the one they don on the podium is not the same as the one/ones they subsequently wear.

But they have a jersey they can frame, hang on the wall, and say "I wore the yellow jersey"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭07Lapierre