Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,403 ✭✭✭enricoh

God be with the days NGOs and their shills could shut down debate with far right , racist etc. simpler times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Its Ireland - where who you know and the ability to fail upwards seem to be the only requirements to be a politician.

MM has been a TD for 25ish+ years? Has probably seen it all at this stage and still hasn't a clue what is going on. He is more concerned about pleasing the EU and SF living under his bed that the issues actually facing the country.

And the rest of our government minsters are worse.

Can anyone here, put their hand on their heart and say they would trust Martin, McEntee, O'Gorman, Donnelly, Foley, Ryan etc to even manage to paint a wall without messing it up? But some how they get to run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭prunudo

Whats interesting, imo, is how quick is has now happened. Since early covid times, there were a few posters who would question government policy. Not afraid to question the narrative, same has happened with the immigration policy. Few posters not afraid to call out bad decisions even if it meant being called names and slurs.

Even around the time of the Dublin riot, the numbers were still low, but the pace at which it has grabbed the attention of the majority in the past month and even more so last fortnight is amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Check out the question at 8 minutes into that video! I've been wondering for a while how come we don't have a system to deal with people that arrive into the country with no papers. Any other country would have them in court and booted out rapidly.

There was a video a while back of 3 southern Asian lads without papers at the airport saying they were from Ukraine.

And the authorities took their word from it. They were very clearly telling porkies. I feel like word has spread far and wide around what a soft touch Ireland is and how to play the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭dmakc

First point is irrelevant given the immigration crisis is in its political infancy with all parties currently singing from the same hymn sheet. Its clearly nullified for 2025.

The basic voter isn't even aware of the parties looking to tackle this issue (nor have they the candidate numbers).

Mind you, the rise of the independents could be seen an early indicator. Labour's AOR yesterday warned against politicians looking to garner easy votes by tackling immigration, so clearly the vote must be out there in what seems to be a colluded effort of rule making by those in the dail; "I won't if you won't"

And as someone who thinks we've taken in too many, what is your solution? The whole idea here is we have a problem that needs solving, otherwise you don't see the problem and are fine with what's coming in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭ooter

The question asked at 3:20 in the video was asked again by Brian Dobson on the 1 o clock news in the last hour and the minister still didn't have a figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭ECookie13

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Because Asians could never live in Ukraine?

'is estimated that there are about 49,817 ethnic Koreans (0.12%) in Ukraine that belong to the Koryo-saram group. Their number may be as high as 100,000 as many ethnic Koreans were assimilated into the majority population'

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭thomas 123

the only way we will get them is by a FOI like everything else that is negative.

if a government minsiter can choose to suppress the advice of the AG in persuit of their own gain we can be assured they will do anything to save face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,403 ✭✭✭enricoh

Ireland dropping down the rankings for the professionals we want coming here. Multinationals are peed off recruiting from abroad and then the employee declining.

We have no such issues attracting refugees here- thankfully for the refugee industry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,895 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

God this was so good.

This is why I'm a big fan of McNamara.

McEntee has to be one of the most incompetent ministers we've ever had. Watching this video reminds of a deer lost in the headlights, the face on her could tell a story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Here's some stats on Dublin regulation transfers on the year in question.

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/statistics-explained/index.php?title=Statistics_on_countries_responsible_for_asylum_applications_(Dublin_Regulation)#Implemented_transfers

You'll see that for quite a few smaller countries outgoing transfers were negligible despite requests seemingly being accepted.

McAntee's response that Greece reneged on accepting some transfers seems quite plausible in that light.

I'm not particularly a fan of McAntee or her party but the woman has my sympathy after viewing that 'grilling'.

It's no surprise to me that there seems to be a shortage of decent, competent people entering politics. I don't know how anyone puts up with that kind of nonsense day in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I'm OK with the grillings provided that people accept the fact that not every question can just be answered at the drop of the hat and are open to hearing what the answer is once the person being questioned has collated the relevant information.

Maybe there's a reasonable explanation to why these transfer decisions were not followed through, maybe there isn't (though the numbers we are talking here are very small). The direct comparisons to France and Germany are probably a little unfair given those countries have a longer experience of dealing with larger nunmbers of refugees and asylum seekers over the years, whereas Ireland never has until 2022. It simply has never been a big issue in Ireland and a proper process, given adequate priority and resourcing, might just not be in place..

Either way, the State should be ensuring that it follows through on these where it's possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭dubdamo

So it's nonsense that she has to account for her, and her departments ineptitude, I thought that that would qualify as accountability, a favourite buzzword of politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭US3

"Did you know that anyone who travels to Ireland under a false identity and who has subsequently been granted permission to remain in Ireland, can apply to the Immigration Division of the Department of Justice to revert to their ‘true identity’?"

This exact image was in my mind this morning. Ireland is the light at the end of the tunnel for every desperado fleeing a shithole

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

She's not being asked to account for her departments ineptitude.

It seems she's being asked to explain the failings of an EU wide system, which is in the process of being replaced, presented as if this problem were somehow isolated to her department.

I suspect that either McNamara didn't do his homework, or he's trying to create a scene (and wasting time) to play to his audience. Who, judging by this thread are lapping it up.

Just look at our Taoiseach...talk about something being stranger than fiction

I'm ok with a grilling too.

But the person doing the grilling should be honest in their intentions and reasonably in possession of relevant facts.

From those stats even Germany only managed to implement 10% of agreed transfers in that year, and several smaller countries performed like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

A minister of state getting asked valid questions and being asked to provide numbers that she should know (and was asked for a month ago) is 'nonsense' now is it?

I heard Eamon Ryan on the radio yesterday warning Michael McDowell that he's becoming a 'hero of the far right' for having the temerity to suggest we should have a proper debate on the new Migration pact.

The real nonsense is being spouted by the current government and the very vocal minority who have their heads firmly buried in the sand as the tent city in Dublin continues to expand at a rapid rate.

The zagging here to defend McEntee is truly incredible. There's no other way to spin it, that was a car crash performance, she had no answers for anything put to her, the only time could muster something was to deflect responsibility. This is just the immigration part of her role, we're not even talking about street crime. Time and time again we've seen her become the deer in headlights when questioned. Referendum campaign debate, the "this is not about the streets being safe" comment after the riots, yesterday's meeting.

Truly delusional.

Or maybe if they didn't sit on their arse for the first two years of this mess deflecting legitimate concerns to "far right" / "misinformed" agitators, they might be further along in controlling the situation instead of what remain empty promises.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭engineerws

Imagine it might be difficult if it were the case but my experience with a daughter in a primary school class with a lot of children from immigrant backgrounds was not like the one related in your story. The kids spoke English in and out of class.

That's why I requested your source because I found it very hard to believe.

Post edited by engineerws on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Just saw the grilling there now, she's pathetic. She was asked for figures 2 months ago and still doesn't have them. Couldn't explain why only 3 were returned after 188 were accepted by other countries, tried to explain differences in our and Germanys figures by saying Germany was a bigger country but as McNamara pointed out, not 2000 times bigger. Couldn't explain why there are suddenly prosecutions for no documents, saying thats a Garda matter. She's minister for Justice not for agriculture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭prunudo

also the fact that she still didn't have the figures for him that he requested 2 months ago. Thats inexcusable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,838 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

How can anyone defend or have sympathy for McEntee is beyond me, it is clear she cannot manage her department and cannot provide figures that she was asked for more than once f

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2024/04/24/fewer-than-100-deportations-of-those-refused-refugee-status-since-start-of-2023-mcentee/

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

That's mad

100 would be 1.37% so it's less than that deported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,838 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Under a pre-existing agreement, Denmark has an opt-out from EU laws under the pillar of Justice and Home Affairs, which means it does not partake in EU immigration and asylum policy. Ireland has a similar opt-out clause under the pillar arising from the Lisbon Treaty.

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World