Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Fat boy slim for a long time now does his cheesy DJ set shite, it’s hard to believe ‘You’ve come along way baby’ is his album!!!

I’ve said before, would really love if he did a Pete Tong and Orchestra style recreation or do that album set with actual instruments, instead of hiding behind decks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Acts I think would be great to see:

Wolf Alice

Idles

St Vincent

Young Fathers

Dua Lipa

The Wu Tang Clan

Underworld.

Any of the above would excite me. But I won’t be upset if none play.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,270 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I'd be surprised if Underworld aren't playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

been listening to this lately, quite enjoyable but it’s just a reflection of his actual tastes vs what he assaults his “live” audiences with

IMG_0381.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,637 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I'm always surprised if Underworld aren't playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭glennponder

What's going to happen if the line up is actually decent! It'll be mass confusion on here #wheresnoah&gerry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Hank the DJ

Worst announcement of an announcement ever, selling my tickets now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭Fanirish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,031 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

I think you’re right. He came on after the Valentines. My pals and I were not savvy enough to clear off after Shields and so then got lambasted by junk and cheese for twenty minutes. I should have learned the lesson from his woeful performance in 2005.

If I look back on my three worst Picnic performances he definitely takes two of those slots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,031 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Giorgio was scheduled for the EA, but I can’t remember the year. What a disappointment that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

was 2013, my first EP, ran into a Scots workmate carrying and spilling 5 pints at the bar opposite EA, “ye see, ye see tha tent there, hic, morrodder was sapposed te be in’there, hic, he’s sick, there’s nae replacement, it’s pish I tell ye!, PISH!”

On the Tuesday, he had no memory of meeting me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I went off to this instead at Rave in the Woods, German techno supremo Ben Klock.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭dav09

Wu Tang Clan, Nas, Chemical Bros, The Prodigy, Skrillex, Skepta, Stormzy, YG Marley & Lauryn Hill, Justice, Kasabian, Lana Del Rey, Chase and Status, Pixies, Blur/Gorillaz, Depeche Mode, Denzel Curry.

I know some might not be touring/available I don't really care it's a rough ask for those who are, if we got 3 of the above I'd be delighted. Not my 'ideal' ultimate top ones I'd like to see but more realistic from those touring/ leans somewhat into the Tik Tok crowd too but the more enjoyable stuff. I will crack up if top few tiers are mostly generic pop and tiktok 'singer songwriters' like suggested.

I have a feeling we might get Fred Again (again, again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭glennponder

Can't see Fred again being on the bill, it's unusual for a top tier act to be there 2 years in a row let alone 3.…the annual spots are usually filled by the coronas, KKC etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭rubick

Daring to dream of Underworld at EP.

Hope deals the hardest blows.

RE: FBS discourse, I have never had cause to see him as he's doesn't play the type of dance music I like, but I've time for him. He's all about that big room sound that I really hate but he clearly loves it and there's a fanbase for that style. He plays Glastonbury for free every year and is on a mission to play every stage. Fair play to him.

Post edited by rubick on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Flow festival announced Halsey, aurora, Janelle Monae, Vince Staples etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Vince Staples would be a cracking booking. One of the best hip hop artists of the last decade.

Holy f*ck Flow Fest have Joe Claussell, François Kevorkian, and Danny Krivit.

😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭dav09

Unlikely yeah, but if they are finding it difficult to get strong headliners and he's available he's definitely one who could be an outlier, but hopefully not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

Alright. Taylor Swift is going to jet in on her one night off from London and take a subheadliner spot (headliner being Noah Kahan of course). Daft Punk are going to re-unite and come too, but only do a DJ set of other artists' songs. Bob Dylan will make an appearance at Salty Dog playing instrumental versions of the entire Nashville Skyline album and nothing else. U2 will player a 1pm show on the Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Musk is going to move the Sphere to Stradbally.

In a shock Festival Republic/NFL contra-deal, Taylor Swift will headline all three nights at Electric Picnic, whilst These Charming Men will travel to New Orleans next February to play the Super Bowl LIX half-time show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭SachaJ

To get in before the dispair of Friday and to anyone making knee jerking reactions, I'm looking for a family campervan ticket 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,637 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Ah, there it is. Hysteria. Stage 6 in the 7 stages of Electric Picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

acceptance of a line up full of TikTok viral song artists

Underworld are always a possibility, they are a great festival band and tour almost non stop. Underworld in a tent sometime around 2008/9 were magical

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky