Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simon Harris, the TikTok Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Back to the apartments in Howth. How does anyone know that it will be occupied mainly by doctors driving in and out of the peninsula?

Anyway, lots of people are WFH these days if they can. I know of a block of apartments not far from me that has a gym (open to residents at reduced fee, but anyone can join), a very chi chi coffee shop with a very nice outdoor seating area in the sun for the two days a year we get it, free WiFi for everyone (not unusual now I know), and four office spaces all rigged out on the perimeter of the coffee shop for daily rent by anyone who needs it, residents have priority booking.

There is only one way in and out, and despite the residents terrible fears of traffic mayhem, it doesn't seem to have disrupted anyone much now that it's fully occupied. The biggest bonus is that local shops, cafes and the pub have all upped their game and refurbished or extended no doubt to attract the new residents. It's a bonus for all I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,353 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I hear Robert Troy there voting for SimonH. He has been very very quiet lately.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭corkie

@Tenzor07 And for what? Absolutely Nothing!

I wonder had the planned PBP protest have anything to do with traffic delays?

The Dawn of #TheTikTokseach

Rise and Fall of Simon Harris.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

Simon Harris confirmed as Taoiseach, votes for 88 and against 69.

Time to get the hard hat on Simon and start laying the bricks of the 250,000 houses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Definitely not a "Far Right" protest there so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Most people working yet PBP and supporters have a protest.

They must have applied for time off work 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Get Real

Agree with you it's ridiculous, but there are some bonkers people out there so I blame them really.

You could argue it turns out to be absolutely nothing because the above measures are put in in the first place. Nips anything in the bud before it even begins.

I'd rather absolutely nothing happening, than some elements that we currently see outside camps or places in Coolock, coming in with their war cries. Word spreads there's nobody about and the lads on electric bikes come in for the craic then.

Following the snap over a mere few hours that occurred in November, I'd actually find it strange if there *wasn't* such preparation, given it was known about weeks in advance.

So either way there'd be criticism. Do it: ah that turned out to be all for nothing.

Don't do it and something happens: there was no preparation at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,155 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I just hope he keeps on Helen McEntee as Justice Minister 🙏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I didn't just pick that idea out of my backside, it's based on previous times the Government has tried to stir up fear that the big bad "Far Right" protests would bring chaos to Kildare street:

https://www.irishtimes.com/your-money/2023/10/10/strong-garda-presence-around-leinster-house-but-no-sign-of-any-budget-day-protests/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Happy New Taoiseach Day everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,849 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

You can see why FG bribed so many of the Independents with promises. I think the final tally in the vote was 89 to 68. Swing those votes the other way and his "mandate" would be hanging by a thread.

Alan Farrell and Regina Doherty doing their best to greet Simon at the door. 2 very very shallow politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Considering she doesn't have the wherewithal to run a burger van, she might as well stay where she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well Congratulations to Simon Harris. The next 10 months should be interesting. He has that long to convince the people that him and his Government deserve to get another term.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,155 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

And hope they forget the 12 years previously they made a complete bollix of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

What are the limits on things like pension and perks post Taoiseach?

If 10 months gets him all the perks of any other serving Taoiseach then he's pulled off quite the heist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,852 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Will Simon Harris be, never mind the youngest , the shortest serving Taoiseach ever ?

Shortest term so far was John Bruton at 924 days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I heard this said in a speech in the Dail earlier and it didn't sound right to me.

It turns out not to be true:

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,453 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Absolute best of luck to him. Insanely responsible and high-profile role to take on, and huge kudos for showing the ambition and drive to go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,776 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

wonder what he’ll do with McEntee.

My guess is out of justice and to a department like say Environment, Climate and Communications.

I doubt he’ll throw her under the bus and leave her without a ministerial portfolio though that would probably be deserved.

When do we hear about the FG cabinet reshuffle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

My guess is out of justice and to a department like say Environment, Climate and Communications.

Can't do this without Green Party agreement and my understanding all ministerial moves will be within FG.

Latest speculation is H-Mac will be left where she is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,946 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

They are always funny pre the "cabinet reshuffle"

Always a mix of the following.

TD's trying to let on that are not worried about their position.

TD's trying not to sound like they think they deserve a promotion.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,226 ✭✭✭creedp

No he'll only be interested in proclaiming what FG Ministers in Govt achieved. If only all the Ministers were as effective as the FGailers😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭corkie

17:30 When the Dáil resumes.

Dáil Éireann schedule

Twitter is full of 15 Counts, 18 Covids and Not Elected!

No Taoiseach is elected by the public directly.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Mcentee will remain put as harris will be afraid she doesn't run in the next election if moved. Varadkar wouldn't run either and I reckon pascal will feck off somewhere. FG are a shambles and rolling in big Phil was a terrible opening move by Harris. Hogan would alienate any floating folder. the default taoiseach he should be called as no body wants the job in FG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,776 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

would the greens be adverse to such a move… ? After all wasnt it Nessa Hourigan who was calling for Mc Entee’s head in the aftermath of the Dublin Riots ? She used if I recall not very shrouded language in asking for both McEntee & Harris to be removed immediately from their posts.

To be fair the only reason for McEntee remaining is the optics of her tenure ending now under an FG leader would signal and acknowledge her and her appointment at political level and subsequent tenure as having been an abject failure…which it more or less has. A difficult portfolio in difficult circumstances granted but….she’s been terrible. Not helping is her own inability to communicate very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

The kind of people who's opinions matter most to the likes of Simon Harris ( media and NGO sector) don't want McEntee removed

Hence that blather about how " removing McEntee would provide a victory to the far right"

No normal people views it that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭Floppybits

She wont be moved. Only 10 months to go, he is best of leaving her there and then playing the "I stand up to bullies" and "she is doing a great job" card as reason why he is leaving in the job. Also it wasn't that long ago that he voted confidence in her in the Dáil.