Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,972 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That's not what was said at all. Cian Tracey reported that Jack Boyle was linked with a move to an unspecified side. A poster then speculated it was Munster. There's no confirmation when this was either. Last season we know Exeter Chiefs wanted him for instance. Could easily be a reference to that.

Wouldn't surprise me if Munster wanted Boyle though. He's a big prospect, but one that imo is best suited at Leinster. Porter is clear first choice, but Healy doesn't have long left as a pro. He'll be competing for replacement loosehead in the short term and first choice in the medium term. Leinster's better track record in player development and pathway to the Ireland squad will hopefully swing things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Hopefully he stays put. It's behind a pay wall.

Watched the second half again and that was a serious performance. Total dominance against a good side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

It was and I feel JGP was the catalyst for the increase in intensity.

Stormers not giving you much confidence that they can beat La Rochelle next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Malherbe returning is a boost for them but Libbok really needs to sort out his kicking

The win last night was huge in the context of the league. We're now 9 points ahead of the Bulls but four of their final five games at home. They could easily win all 4 and some with bonus points as well.

Leinster have a tough run in too with the South Africa tour, an away trip to Belfast and a game against Connacht. At least three wins is required to finish top. We need to beat the Lions away to give ourselves the best chance possible. Which won't be easy as we don't send our strongest squad to SA.

Of course, we might if we lose to Leicester or in the QF the proceeding week. But let's not go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Bulls v munster and Glasgow are games that could be tight ones. They might not win with TBP.

Very good effort. Was impressed by the physicality. Baird stepped up and I thought played a blinder. At this stage of his career, it's surprising that Leinster passed on Russell when he was 20.

Harry to start against Leicester? He was very impressive I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

What now for Deegan? If he gets left out of the 23 for the business end of the season, he'd be mad to stay in Leinster. He's too good to be left out, and would walk into pretty much any other teams starting 23 imo.

Is he due for a contract? I'd hate to see him leave. I would not begrudge him a chance to make money. A team in France? I can't see Deegan going to Connacht, it's a mess out there and he's not going to make a difference. If anything, his performance could suffer. Ulster would be a good bet! But then he hampers development of lads like McNabney . Munster don't need him. They are loaded in the back row.

Jackman on comms said Molony signed for 3 years at Bath! I hope it goes well for him. Surprised that Bath haven't announced it yet.

There's no real "if" about it, he's not going to get ahead of any of Doris, VdF, Baird or Conan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭randomname2005

No, but looking at how quickly things change (Dan Leavy retired, Will Connors out injured for a while) it wouldn't take much to find himself in the squad for a European cup knockout game, Given the situation in other provinces, staying in Leinster might be his best shot. For Irish caps, moving elsewhere would give him more exposure but potentially with a less stable environment (coaching change at Ulster, and current results and performance at Connacht not looking like they are going to be developing well, and Munster have a good set of back row players and might not get much more game time).

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/2024/04/01/injury-update-issued-ahead-of-leicester-tigers-clash/

Worst case scenario here isn't great. Henshaw could well be out now too. Sounds like a few guys could be back for the later part of the season though.

Also 30k tickets sold for Leicester, it's a decent number but the stadium looks terrible half empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Sounds like most on that update are touch and go or at least somewhat close to a return. I think there is enough in the team to beat Leicester at home without anyone on the list tbh. Would give all an extra week at try get them back for Stormers/LAR.

A quarter against Stormers/LAR is a big ask without Porter, Keenan, Ringrose & Henshaw from starting 15 and basically all 3 back subs in McGrath, Frawley and JOB.

For the Leicester game we could make do without all those players bar Porter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

In fairness, it was injury that meant Conan and Doris got in ahead of him originally iirc. Not unreasonable to think had he had better luck with that, he'd have been the incumbent in the back row for the last few years. There's very little between them, bar experience imo

Glad to see that Ngatai is close to a return. Brilliant player that has only shown glimpses of his talent due to injury. He'll be invaluable for the South African tour.

Seems like a few players on the 'maybe' list are taking part in full training so we might have a couple back for Leicester.

Post edited by Clegg on

I'm as nervous as an altar boy at a bishops convention with all of these injuries. Praying for a Stormers win as I can't see us beating ROG'S lads with all of our walking wounded. Thats hoping we get by Tigers.

Leicester are 7th in the league, I'd be shocked if they gave us a decent match at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

We will be ok v Tigers , but can't see us bearing LAR if we face them.

Good few players seem to be touch-and-go and would expect them back in the next few weeks, but the biggest loss is Ryan who looks to be definitely out and he's the one I'm not sure we can absorb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

Harry Byrne convinced me against the Bulls that he’s up for the job. Ross is a seasoned international. Tector and Prendergast look the business in the academy and in the men’s game. Cullen for whatever reason doesn’t see Frawley as a 10, it’s time we release him to Ulster to let him develop there. I’d be much more comfortable developing a specialist fullback like Henry McErlean or Jimmy O’Brien, even Larmour is showing promise there. We can’t play Frawley at 12 either because that’s Henshaw’s and Osbourne’s specialist position and they’ve both shined there this year. It is time for Leo to let Frawley go his own way and develop into the brilliant outhalf that he is.

Frawleys versatility is a big plus. I don't see him making inroads as a 10. Maybe at Connacht or Ulster he could lay down a marker. But he gets tons of playing time with Leinster when available. Connacht and Ulster can't do much worse at 10.

Without JR we're fecked. We can still put in a performance and could possibly sneak a win v La Rochelle, bit I doubt it.

Ryan is our best lock and is an 80 minute player.

Its time for people to realise he's not an out half, Leo was right about Joey and he's right about Frawley. The guy got his first start for Ireland a few weeks ago, the idea that Leinster are holding him back is laughable. His biggest issue is that he rarely stays fit for an entire block of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

If everyone is fit, who do you play him ahead of at the moment?

Frawley doesn't start if everyone is fit. He's a very good player and the ideal 23 due to his versatility. But we've better 10's, 12's and 15's in the squad.

He's 3rd/4th in the depth chart for each of those positions.