Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Simon Harris, the TikTok Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

A large amount of legislation promised but we never see any. Why leave it until Year 5 of the government? If indeed they have a year left. It will be like all those reform bills of the past - "we never got it through in time". Harris was in Justice for 6 months and didn't produce anything either. All talk.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,367 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

On the Hate Speech bill..

She argues that the belief that the bill will criminalise opinions is misinformation and said there was a need for updated hate speech legislation in order for Ireland to be in line with other countries in Europe.

Yup that's about right! We have to do what our "friends" in Europe expect/want at all times".

If Harris has ANY sense he'll shuffle her into something where she can do no more damage (she dodged the question of whether he's commited to keeping her in Justice), but then Harris himself isn't exactly inspiring so….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Harris is spouting all kinds of populist guff about sorting out housing, immigration and law&order. Given that FF have housing and a cabinet approved "plan", Greens have Immigration and a brand new cabinet approved "plan" and Harris/McEntee have had Justice for 4 years and failed badly....is he just talking BS? Does he think the electorate are pure thick and won't see thru him? I suppose he will sort out Health "again" too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,469 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

The electorate are not thick enough to form definitive judgements on stuff that hasn’t happened yet.

They leave that to the so-called ‘jackpens’ on social media.

Just woke up from a coma and thought this was an April Fools joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭prunudo

I never liked Leo, he always came across as disingenuous when he spoke and generally found him to be self serving.

Harris has taken the political waffle to another level, he's talking but the words don't mean anything. Just empty sound bites, how are they so out of touch with joe public on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I think a 'jackpen' is a special internal FGer label that the Brenner and Clo like to affix to anything mildly critical of those they are sworn to defend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭gerogerigegege

she, like most of these politicans are a danger to the country.

In the Travel supplement I see.. maybe a clue to Helen's future?

On a related matter of sorts, would someone show our new leader elect how to shave properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,307 ✭✭✭amacca

I think you are taking it too literally...I dont think anyone thinks Harris is going to be as disastrous as Liz Truss....where I would draw the comparison is just that he could be an ill prepared lightweight thrust or scrambling into the limelight way before his time or perhaps he should never have a time ... that and the other more senior and possibly heads with more foresight letting him at it...

I hope Im wrong.....no one wants an actual liz truss anywhere near influencing the driving seat

Maybe I will be.....sometimes great people can get off to a very rocky start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,469 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Nah , word is it’s a name given to social media users who jump in with comment on stuff that hasn’t happened.

Apparently derived from the word ‘jackass’ a person who makes a lot of noise but real substance.

Similar to ‘ chancer’ it’s said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

😂

Oh claim someone works for FG in the latest shocking post on boards

If you actually posted anything that was correct then people wouldn't have to constantly correct you. Just a hint 🤔

Then you're suggesting that FFG haven't really tried to fix the major crisis in housing, immigration, law&order etc but Harris is going to start now? With potentially 6 months left to an Autumn election? Will he march O'Brien into his office and lay down the law? FG will get mauled in June and GE.Next by a smart electorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭buried

The tik tok Taoiseach is going to save FG because he's on tik tok and is down with the youth? This is the new shtick, right?

lol The majority of kids on tik tok don't even know what end of a brush to use, let alone find their way to a polling booth.

Carry the inevitable self slit throat on FG

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,401 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

….its gonna be interesting to see how fg and its supporters take the significant defeat thats on the way, off to the opposition i guess, well hopefully….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Get Real

I agree with you time should be given to allow the electorate to form judgements on things.

And I also despise quick, cheap, fickle social media posts and so on.

But in fairness, the poster you were replying to, was stating that Harris made comments on policy that he himself, and his party, has had the opportunity to implement over the last several years.

So, I'll give credit to Harris where he achieves, but I don't think it's too outrageous to read his comments and interpret them as ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Isn't that what happened in the last election?

Heading off to the opposition will be better for both FF and FG instead of jumping onboard with SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/fionnan-sheahan-its-april-1-and-it-would-be-foolish-timing-if-simon-harris-decided-to-reform-tv-licence/a975734008.html

Sheahan wrote:

"Take a look at today's date if you think the TikTok Taoiseach has the TV licence on his list of priorities."

The current timeline rules out a decision on the licence before the local and European elections, after which the countdown to the general election kicks in.

Harris is committed to seeing out the government's full term but late autumn can't be ruled out for polling day.

What are the chances of us having our general election this autumn?

Is this government willing to leave reform of the funding of public-service broadcasting to a possible SF government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭political analyst

The change in the law to reverse the effect of the High Court decision that had prohibited the naming of child victims of murder in the media took place on McEntee's watch. That has to count for something.

Ok so no actual change though? Fixed a new issue.

The optics on not sorting out RTE or the license fee issues would be terrible. Especially for Catherine Martin who has done absolutely nothing except make a fool of herself. How long have they been waffling about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭threeball

Where do they go to? Very few will turn to SF and rightly so, some may vote FF but aren't they as responsible for the direction the country is going as FG. Labour is full of crackpots. Independents are a little less useless than PBP, SD and the other ingredients in the alphabet soup. The options are less than limited. I could see a very low turnout for any election in the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,121 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Coveney now stepping down as a minister. Could he be another not to run in the next election? Can't see him stepping now and then running in the next election to be a back bencher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭thebourke

Will there be anybody left in FG by the time of the general election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,895 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,155 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Coveney stepping down from cabinet. FG's big beasts are really going out of their way way to have zero to do with next GE result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I see in the Indo I think or else the Examiner speculation that he won’t be running in next general election or did I read that correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

AFAIK he announced it on RTE Clare Byrne show in the last hour

Coveney sharpening the knives for the post June election results!