Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar resigns as Taoiseach

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Paschal. He's likable and frank and has been competent in any brief he's been given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

Don't let the door hit you where the good lord split you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

If that happened the underground would get scrapped and the deposit on the DRS scheme will go up and firelighters will get banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭juno10353

I believe some big scandal about Leo is about to break. He did say personal and political reasons to resign. What could the personal be.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I feel the same as you. Something is going to be revealed, but for the life of me I can't think what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,975 ✭✭✭buried

Paddy kicked the chair from under them over two weeks ago and they all landed on their backsides. This gadge doesn't like it so he's flittering off. I should be celebrating, but the damage is well done. I hope to the God's we never ever have to put up with the likes of this heap ever again. An absolute disgrace.

What's next for him? lol His fanzzz are going to be in for an even bigger shock when they discover that anybody/anything in any semblance of power outside this island clocked this incompetent smarmy clown years ago. Maybe Kylie Minogue might give him a job cleaning her high heels before she goes on stage. That's about his level, and he'd enjoy it too.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Best of the bunch I'd agree, but think he will be too smart to step into this vacancy.

It's a problem worldwide where leadership is concerned.

Harris or mcentee to me would be a complete disaster wouldn't you say.

Can anyone give me a really quick catchup on why he resigned? Just in work til 8:30 and can’t read the news right now 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,251 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Really surprised Coveney ruling himself out. Would have thought he'd be the best choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Heard Ivan Yates on radio earlier trying to arrange a coronation for what must be his mate, Simon Harris. No point in a contest says Ivan, no time and sure Simon is the man. Don't listen to Yates much and didn't realise he was still involved in internal FG politics to this extent?

But wouldn't you think this is a golden opportunity for FF to seize the initiative, pull the rug out gently and let it go to the people. They can sort of claim they weren't really in favour of the recent referendum wordings and the likes of Chambers, O'Dea and McGuinness already been out and distancing themselves. Meanwhile the Greens are in bother with Roddy's unpopular decisions, Catherine Martin's woes and even the minister for circles has presided over a ham fisted 'recycling' scheme. SF are in a trough. New Independents haven't had a chance to get acts together. So as good a time as any to cut the losses and run to the moral high ground in an election. FF could do quite well out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Bricriu

Goodbye and good riddance to slime Varadkar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

How many Primary Care Centres in the country running at full capacity ? Look at all the procedures that could be done in those if they were equipped and staffed fully. The nearest one to me is in Athlone and it definitely isn't anywhere near what it should be in providing services. The last time I was in it was a referral from my GP for an xray for a toe injury. The xray was done and sent back to my GP for assessment, so I went to my GP, from there to the Centre for xray and then two days later back to my GP again for strapping as there was a small fracture in the toe. How stupid was that when one visit to the Primary Care should have done it. It had nothing to do with an aging population, it was the fault of a very incompetent health service.

"Personal and political reasons" as he stated and got choked up with emotion. Watch the space, must be more to tumble out. A bit of distance one suspects for decorum at the moment, before some crap hits the fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Thinking that myself but you would seriously need to be silly to step in and try and clean this mess up. Housing, Health, Education, and our capital city Turning into one massive refugee camp to name a few. Who in their right mind would want to inherit this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,102 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

He didn't, his Mrs has told him not to run for election again according to Yates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Wouldn’t blame him - if what u say is true -let someone else take on the hard jobs of the next 5 years and then step in and take the credit - it’s gonna be a bumpy ride ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,783 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

When you look at who could be next in line for the FG leader and Taoiseach there's not great options what so ever. It's pretty pathetic.

I really feel this is some disgrace that they aren't going to call a general election because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,848 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Politics can be difficult at a high level, if OH isn't fully bought into it.

You mean the cabinet minister during Bertie's calamitous government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

He’s staying on as Taoiseach until the middle of April. Why would whoever has the supposed scandal be holding back?

Gript, The Ditch, Cosgrave clearly don’t have anything, or else they’d have released it long before he had the chance to resign. Normal media would have broken it as soon as he did resign if they were waiting for a right to reply.

If he had resigned as Taoiseach with immediate effect, expecting a scandal would make sense. But it doesn’t when it’s going to be business as usual for the next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭AllForIt

For personal and political reasons.

For political reasons he's taking personally in other works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

or personal reasons which will be politically calamitous

Yep, I had major reservations about Micheál at that time. But he's stuck in there and gone about his work efficiently since, rehabilitated some might say.

I might also mention that I occasionally write to politicians on various matters and Micheál is one of very few who bothered to actually write a personal letter back addressing the issues concerned.

Still wouldn't make me a great fan of FF but he himself is a good example I think anyway of a career politician who has handled himself well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Don't think he will be any loss fairly patchy record overall and didn't really bring FG the votes they thought he would when he got the gig .He leaves a pile of problems behind him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

You'll all be quiet when it comes out he has cancer or something.

It's never wise to leave a vacuum.. as it tends to be filled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I wouldn’t be surprised if there is an embarrassing video surfacing. The open relationship thing is a liability in politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭basillarkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,900 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yeah the statement he gave left more questions than answers….he’s been a TD for 17 years give or take….

of course maybe feck all will hit the fan but it’s all been handled a bit clumsily….both by him and the party. Left more questions than it answered…

FG opinion polls in the last 12 months were at an all time low.. he and his party lost the trust of Irish citizens. Unsurprisingly. I’ve never been an FG guy but I’ll go a lifetime and not give them any preference on a ballot paper….