Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Deeec

That is the first I heard of Alfie having a skating injury. It was my understanding that Alfie had a cut on his hand around the time of the murder which needed to be bandaged. Would an old skating injury cause this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭bjsc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,496 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Some posts here said it was from a dog that he was minding but that states that it was a very old injury, 50 years old or so.

So based on bjsc posting the "Alfie had a cut on his hand and is important" can go on the rubbish pile that Sophie was bringing to the dump through the cordon unaccosted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

That was interesting, thank you bjsc.

The hand being uncut and pale is pretty conclusive that it was not a recent bramble injury.

Though I still boggle at calling 63 "old and feeble" !!

Why ?

I know 43 year olds who look old and feeble.

And I know 73 year olds who look like 43 year olds.

LOL - I'm not 73, but I'm closer to it than he was...and apparently far less feeble!

And poor Sophie was only 5 ft nothing. It wouldn't have taken a big strong man to overcome her - in spite of the spirited struggle she made to defend herself.

And - thinking out loud here - it was a cold winter night, and morning. Quite likely the attacker would have worn gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Thanks @bjsc. Another priceless contribution to the debate along with the trip to the dump stuff. Keep it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Still strange that he needed a bandage on it 50 years after the injury............................

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Mackinac

Holy moly - 63 and being described as very elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Zola1000

Yes strange for sure and I'm wondering did it get aggravated for any particular reason that he had to bandage it now and again. , possibly in examples where he ruptured wound made it flare up again..

Elderly, not "very" elderly.

Read the transcript.

But as we all know people of different ages can have different abilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭csirl

bjsc, thank you for your contributions - very informative.

I've asked this question before on this thread and nobody has been able to answer. Would be interested in your view.

If, on day 1 without knowing anything else, you were to draw up a list of likely motives for the murder, the #1 possibility would be an agrivated or disturbed burgalry. It would feature way way further up the list to drunk Englishman, randy Garda and French hitman.

These were common in rural parts of Ireland, especially in the run uo to Christmas when homes would be full of gifts. There have been numerous serious injuries and fatalities during that era, and even more recently. Generally people from outside the area hitting random remote homes.

SDTP hearing something outside - maybe a car or voices and coming out to see whats going on and meeting her demise would fit it with this type of crime.

Now the question - how and why did the Gardai rule it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

While you’re awaiting a reply here’s a view-

Burglars in n general don’t tend to murder people- they will choose flight over fight

If they were targeting random houses, Shirley they’d target ones less remote … and with presents in them- not some holiday cottage ?

Violent burglaries weren’t that common at that time - the sort of gangs you read about since hadn’t really even formed at that stage.But even then, such burglars tend to target homes that have the potential for large sums of cash

Gven their propensity for violence, any sort of drug dealers or smugglers theory to me, even though I think even that as highly unlikely, sounds more plausible than a burglary gone wrong theory

I think that those initially on scene were confronted with a situation that they were ill- equipped to deal with. The very first person to nominate Bailey as "a person of interest" was Garda Malone who saw him at the scene cordon on the afternoon of 23rd. He thought he was behaving oddly and obviously he, Malone, was aware of Bailey's history of domestic violence. I realise it may be hard to understand for most people but, as someone who spent most of their career dealing with major crime, you would long for the phone to ring, even though it meant heartache for many, because it's what you were trained for and what you did best. So for Bailey, a journalist in an area where the most exciting news story was the introduction of Internet cafes to West Cork, it must have been like manna from heaven. So to a degree I understand why his behaviour might appear odd.

That being said I see no reason why, at that early stage, he should have been treated as any more or less significant than any other suspect.

It is of course important to eliminate friends and family but the French police were able to establish alibis for them fairly quickly.

There was no obvious sexual motive. So you have to start with those who were likely to have come in contact with her in the everyday course of events and look at why the murder happened. For example why were all the gates open, and wide open at that. What was Sophie doing. Was she really in bed or, given the appearance of the kitchen, was she already up.

I believe the first suspect, who was interviewed and whose clothing was seized at an early stage, was Jeremiah Scully, the local oddball who lived the other side of the hill behind Sophie's house.

So in the absence of anything concrete, at that early stage, your starting point would probably be those who had reason to be in or were familiar with the area. That's not to say you close yourself off to other possibilities but the fact is you have to start somewhere.

re Motive.

The likeliest person to kill any woman is her current or ex intimate partner.

Being bashed to death by a complete stranger for no apparent reason is vanishingly rare.

We do know that Sophie liked men; each time she visited she had a male guest, apart from this one time; her son, her husband, her boyfriend, a business colleague - I don't know if she ever brought a woman guest there. No judgement implied btw - I prefer men to women, too.

She doesn't appear to have EVER had a boyfriend in the area round her Irish holiday home - for one thing, she didn't get close to anyone who didn't speak French.

I don't know how good her English was - maybe not great? She seems to have only got chatty with the publican, who spoke French, and the Ungerer couple, ditto.

Maybe some ex-boyfriend was living in Ireland and had been bothering her - but he'd probably have been foreign rather than local.

Again, not being privy to every detail of the investigation, we don't know if the Gardaí searched for French nationals who were living in or around Co Cork at the time and who might have been acting suspiciously.

Wild speculation, I freely admit; but I prefer to call it Open Creative Thinking! (What if? Just suppose? is this possible? Anything to support this idea? etc etc etc)

I agree. I'm finding it hard to understand how an injury he received 50 years ago needed a bandage. 🤔

We will have to accept though that the Garda said it was an old wound. Hopefully the Garda had the knowledge to distinguish an old wound from a fresh wound and did actually take the time to look instead of just taking Alfie's word on it.

Hopefully the Garda had the knowledge to distinguish an old wound from a fresh wound and did actually take the time to look instead of just taking Alfie's word on it.

Read the transcript.

He said Alfie removed it in his presence.

Yep he said in the statement that he removed it. I'm just saying that I hope that did actually happen - I'm not very trusting of the gardai involved in this case Tod.

It doesn't explain though why this very old injury needed a bandage 50 years later - that's a bit odd don't you think.

@bjsc might be able to confirm, but I believe the doctor looked at the hand as well and agreed it was an old wound.

It wasn’t like a bandage on an open wound, the cold weather and working outdoors aggravated the condition and the bandage helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I find that the whole idea of a glove fastener damaging a hand is very unusual. Gloves are meant to protect a hand and what kind of fastener would break the skin?

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Acorn 737

Premonitions can’t be taken as fact, either under oath or not. They generally are just people connecting dots after the fact. Plus I don’t think oath meant an awful lot to Ian, he certainly wouldn’t have let it get in the way of a yarn that would bring him more attention.

Dr O'Connor commented on Alf having a bandage on his hand but makes no mention of examining the wound.

It was said that Sophie had reported drug dealings in the area. Was there any record of this in the Garda files?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,141 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And also if Alfies hand was visibly 'deformed' (was that the word used) surprising this wasnt generally mentioned about Alfie as it should have been noticed by anyone who came across him. Poor Alfie with the gammy hand.

He did well to run a restaurant with it.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

It's amazing really that a man with a hand injury giving him grief since he was 12 was a successful chef, which is a very hands on role. This injury or his arthritis and feebleness didn't stop him running his drug operation either.

I seen video footage of Alfie on a french documentary and I wouldn't describe him as feeble, frail or elderly. He looked in reasonable shape to me.

So what we have in December 1996 is

- Alfie with a bandaged hand injury caused by an injury 50 years ago .This appears not to have been verified by a doctor at the time. I would hope though if this was genuine that Alfie had sought medical help for this injury throughout his life - so this could be verified by medical records.

Bailey with minor cuts on his hands allegedly from cutting a Christmas tree. There is a witness that verified that Bailey cut the tree.

Which story is more believable?

Thanks for that,

Now another one if I may;

"Jeremiah Scully, the local oddball who lived the other side of the hill behind Sophie's house."

There's very little on him, I know you said he was questioned and his boots were examined.

He lived just over half a mile away on what was the original track from Dunmanus to Sophie's house before the road to Kealfada was established. Why was he an "oddball", did he have an alibi, why was he considered a suspect so early on, and later discounted?

In terms of motive for Bailey, is the guards position or theory that his “advances” were rejected?

Do we have anything solid on that?

If Bailey knew Sophie, where’s the proof? Even if the Alfie introduction were true, it doesn’t mean he knew her- only that he was briefly introduced to her- an event so insignificant he couldn’t recall it, it could be argued.

If he didn’t know Sophie, how then did he find himself out at her gate late at night or early morning? Was he on walk about?

• Registered Users Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Well, that's a fundamental issue.

The only plausible motive that fits the "bailey is guilty" theory is sex.

But there is no evidence of any sexual element to the attack.

If, as some do, you start with the premise that Bailey did it, then you have to accept that the motive was as there isn't really any other plausible motive.

But as there is no evidence to support that, then its logical to conclude that the motive was something different. And if the motive was different, then it points the suspicion in another direction.

So given that there is so little evidence against Bailey in any case, and no evidence whatsoever of a sexual motive, then the Bailey theory is highly improbable. Possible, of course, but improbable.

There’s only two aspects that prevent me, as an independent observer, like we all are basically, from totally ruling out Bailey.

1. The “briar” marks , referenced by Bailey as tree and/or claw scratches - it wouldn’t have cost him a great deal to reenact these again and could well have taken a lot of the heat off him - I read one article a while ago where Gardai said they couldn’t replicate these marks - Bailey knew the type of tree he cut- - even if he did it for one of the documentaries - if successful it would have been pretty significant and could have ruled out briars or at least showed that such marks were possible through other means-I know from personal experience that briars make a distinctive mark - it would be very difficult to create similar marks using a tree or a turkey claw - but I’m open to correction on that
    2. The relentless pursuit by Gardai 27 years on- they’re no fools today even if there was incompetence 27 years ago - this final DPP report will probably help me ultimately decide - that’s if it ever gets published

But yeah I agree that there’s pretty much zero evidence of a middle of the night “romantic - intentions” calling to her house motive- its bizzare to say the least - had Bailey clearly been in contact with Sophie- even just one eyewitness account of them having a discussion in a pub for example- it might sway me somewhat - but right now, bar an alleged introduction in a field, there’s no evidence they had any type of connection - either as acquaintances friends or relationship

Post edited by Oscar_Madison on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭head82

1. Due to the lack of any DNA evidence found at the scene.. on the briars or anywhere else for that matter.. Bailey has to be given the benefit of the doubt that the scratches on his arms were inflicted by a turkey or a tree.
    2. As regards the relentless pursuit and focus on one individual for decades.. is this a sign of confidence in their original suspect or a reluctance to acknowledge that AGS may have got it wrong and therefore a potentially more viable suspect could have slipped the net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Why is the fact that he had or said a premonition included in the list of "evidence" against him?

Also his physical attributes seems a very tenuous item to include?

The fact that the two above items are included in such a list really starkly indicates the absolute lack of anything useful to connect him to the murder.

It's not evidence as such.

It's just something Bailey said in a court under oath.

It's Bailey being Bailey to a certain extent and does nothing to help convince people that he is innocent.

Who the fcuk would say something like that in court and expect it to be of benefit to you?

As I've stated many times the information we have about Bailey is not enough for a charge, but it's much better than the information we have on anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I dont see what it indicates in either direction?

Its just nonsense. It neither implicates nor exonerates him to any degree.

I'd say a lot of people were having premonitions that night (from the DPP report):

David Bray at 12.45 a.m. on 23 December 1996 noted that the wolfhound which he minds was unusually upset.

Martin Breuinger confirms that the wolfhound was unusually disturbed between 12 midnight and 2.00 a.m. on 23 December 1996.

Geraldine Kennedy states that her dog was barking mad from 10.30 – 10.45 p.m. on 22 December and continued this for about three hours practically non-stop

The dog owned by Derry Kennedy and his wife was unusually upset between 10 p.m. on 22 December 1996 and 1.50 a.m. on 23 December 1996.

You will note these disturbances occur while Bailey was still in the pub, or on the way home from it with Jules. Earlier than any Garda scenario presented for Bailey.

While a good point about the lack of DNA evidence on the briars- there most certainly would be some given he was scratched. Even so, it’s still a mystery - the drawings appear to replicate briar marks - if Bailey signed off on these as accurate (and I don’t know if he did) it wouldn’t have taken much to replicate them again .

in terms of second point, I’m critical of the past Garda investigation in 1997- as im sure most people are- as we don’t know the approach of current Garda review, then jury is out from my perspective . If they continue to submit the quality of evidence submitted previously, and as discussed by the DPP, then really I’ll have lost all faith in this investigation- but I’d be leaning towards Bailey not involved as there’s just too much convolution to the whole thing. It was never up to Bailey to prove innocence, it was up to authorities to prove guilt and they haven’t come close to doing that

It’s not that I’m saying “someone else did it” per se- more that given the extraordinary number of hours, months, years devoted to investigating Bailey, if the evidence is as flimsy as previous, then it’s clear Gardai should have widened the net on day one and kept “an open mind” throughout - if the evidence doesn’t stack up yet again then we’re no closer to the truth and quite simply, the list of suspects is whatever the armchair detectives say it is, simply because there will be nothing to prove otherwise- so you can take your pick between an ex lover, a neighbour, some mafioso druggie person, either French or Irish, a known prowler, a Garda, an unknown prowler or whoever else has been talked about.

Just a question - we know that Bailey did cut down the trees on the Sunday and kill the turkeys, I don't think that is disputed. We also have a number of statements referring to the fact that he didn't have scratches on the Sunday night. However we have already discussed the fact that AGS only submitted evidence, both to the DPP and to the French authorities, that bolstered their case against him. We also know that there was a great deal of information that was not disclosed. Do you think it possible that in that undisclosed material there may be witness statements that say that Bailey did have scratches on his arms on the Sunday night?

I wonder were these dogs left outside that night as many dogs are in the country. Or were they barking incessantly inside indicating they may have wanted to go out?

I wouldn’t discount this “evidence” as I know certain dogs will only bark for particular reasons- you’d need to speak to the owners to really establish in each case the circumstances and how well they knew their own dogs

The Dogs angle is interesting as per the web

'Dogs have much more sensitive hearing than humans, hearing sounds four times farther away than we can. They can hear higher frequency sounds, can more easily differentiate sounds (e.g. they may recognise the sound of your car) and they can pinpoint the exact location of the sound.'

If related to the murder it would imply a late night or very early in the morning attack(s) 12 to 3 or so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭head82

Edited due to having got my days/dates wrong.

If there was statements in undisclosed documents stating Bailey had scratches on his arms on Sunday night, would it be of any great significance?

Considering the lack of DNA at the scene, is that not sufficient to somewhat if not necessarily completely disregard him as being present at the scene?

Where were these people located I wonder in relation to where the murder took place? Certainly some dogs will react to prowlers and others won’t - if the barking was unusual in all 3 instances then yes it would have made for interesting reading - but why barking for 3 hours? If a prowler say was progressing from point A to point B, then the dogs should really only have barked for a limited time and at different times you would imagine as the prowler moved passed the homes of these people?

Perhaps someone was crying out for a long time? Also one dog barking triggers dogs nearby to join in.. I would think that most would think that the attack was 5-15 minutes long and was one incident. Perhaps it continued over a prolonged period in two stages with Sophie hiding in the field for a time and even a killer calling for back up?

Bailey's version of the scratches and tree is also supported by Jules and Saffron Thomas.

According to the DPP report:

* On Sunday 22 December 1996 Bailey was seen by a local farmer, Liam O’Driscoll, “pulling a Christmas tree. He was accompanied by one of Jules’ daughters at the time.” There is no doubt but that Bailey cut the tree on Sunday 22 December 1996 and in fact dragged it home.

* Richard Tisdall in his statement 190B recalls seeing scratch marks on one of Bailey’s hands on Sunday night 22 December 1996 (prior to the murder but after the cutting of the tree and the killing of the turkeys).

* On 28 December 1996 Gda. O’Leary asked Bailey how he cut his hands and Bailey explained while cutting the top off a tree to make a Christmas tree. Bailey then took off his jacket and Gda. O’Leary noticed that the scratches were on the backs of both hands and up as far as both his elbows. Bailey’s willingness to assist the Gardaí is indicative of innocence. He made no attempt to conceal the scratch marks. As distinct from his observation the previous day Gda. O’Leary says that they were not cuts only scratches and they were healing up.

It should also be noted that multiple witnesses say Bailey after the murder and did not notice scratches e.g.

* Con O’Sullivan a butcher who alleges he met Bailey on 23 December 1996 does not refer to seeing any scratches on him.

* Ronan Collins and Dylan Fairbairn on 24 December 1996 were in Bailey’s house and neither noted the scratches on Bailey. (After the murder).

* Persons who dealt with Bailey on the days after the murder was committed, such as Conn O’Sullivan, Eddie Cassidy and so forth do not mention noticing scratch marks on Bailey’s hands. Mike Browne a photographer was with Bailey for a substantial period on 23 December 1996. He describes the clothing Bailey was wearing. He makes no mention of seeing the scratches on Bailey.

Then if crying out surely someone would have heard? Maybe not who knows as it was isolated afterall - yeah all good points- it’s like this whole case has points to it that can neither be proven or discounted 😀

There were reports of a fox crying out too, it sounds somewhat human and it may have been. Could have triggered the dogs

I wonder though, would a fox crying out be such an unusual occurrence as to upset the dogs that much?

Yeah I knew an elderly neighbour once who was talking about hearing a banshee cry out at night - it was a fox alright but he still remained convinced it was a banshee - poor lad, long gone now.

Sometimes like a baby screaming in my experience :(

Hmm, January is mating season so according to that link, that is the time the foxes are noisiest. If it was an early start to a mating season, we'd have expected the dogs to go react on more than one occasion? So to me, my instinct is that the source is likely to be something else.