Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• This content has been removed.

Post edited by Unknown User on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,187 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I was delighted with last night's performance really focused and near manic in effort not sure of o Neill at 6 but fergal o Connor is going well and o dalaigh did well at 14.

Last two goals given away were sloppy but good learnings from the two lads involved.

All in all happy I thought we were more comfortable than the one point winning margin as I felt cahill came to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Happy losing ? Ye won't get 3 goals in the Gaelic Grounds and that is for sure. Same old Tipperary, starting like a train and finishing the game well. The middle third,not so good.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,187 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Assuming you're being nice as requested

TMO = Television Match Official

We have it in rugby and it works well for these situations

Ya a good win alright. ODalaigh looked very good.

From a Tipp perspective they seemed to have developed this knack against us of going toe to toe for 30 odd minutes, and apart from a few very soft goals, essentially lie down after that. They also seem to have discipline problems judged by the no of cards they got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,731 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Isn't that everyone except Clare in the majority of games over the last 5 years.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Clare are much closer to Limerick than Tipperary team. Tipp don't have the power to go 70mins or even 50. Tidy hurlers but it's a physical game.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭High bike

Dont feed the troll

Great to see Declan Hannon back on Saturday and Sean Finn on the bench is a real bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭moby2101

Interesting line up

CONeill should really be at home at wing back , he covers some ground, over 12KM last Saturday night.

Fantastic to see Hannon snd Finn available, big chance for Shane O Brien to impress.

Getting to the stage where we could field two seriously competitive teams

True the panel seems to be getting g stronger all the time but they'll all be needed as injuries to a few key players can be fatal.On Cathal O Neill he covered some ground last week for sure but his distribution was very poor I thought.I think he's better farther up the field.

Some effort from. 14 men today in those conditions and a ref that gave us f all.I presume the semi's will be a double header in Cork looks like it's the only pitch that's playable at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭moby2101

Allianz Hurling League Division One Semi-Finals

Saturday March 23

Limerick v Kilkenny, SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 4.30pm, TG4

Sunday March 24

Clare v Tipperary, Laois Hire O'Moore Park, 4pm, TG4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,907 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

no this is a better for everyone , motorway from ennis to 500 yards from the ground in portlaoise or stuck in traffic in charleville for 20 minutes , before a 40 minute walk the the ground i know which one i would take , i am sure the tipp lads are thinking the same , we played them in an all ireland 1/4 final pre covid and there supporters were still arriving 20 minutes into the first half as they were backed up along the dunkettle

its a lovely stadium the best in the country outside croke park ,but they dont even make an effort with shuttle busses or anything down their its proper joke , and if you park around the temple hill road area it will be night time before you will be home , its actually a shorter trip from west clare to portlaoise for me then it is to cork ,

Jaysus Windy ye have a real mental block about cork,ye have us home advantage in the Munster final last year rather than go down there and that didn't work out too well.Admittedly it's awkward to get there and home but in fairness look at the facilities there,and it not like there would be 40,000 there prob nearer to half that.Theres no guarantee Portlaoise will be in any kind of fair condition next week if we don't get a dry week,so u are risking injuries on a heavy pitch a couple of weeks before the championship.Id say if u ask the players which pitch they'd rather play on Cork would be the answer ,would be good practice for ye for later I the year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,731 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The whole "shuttle bus" thing is balls. The 202 runs very close to the stadium from the city centre.

Same with people talking about "the walk" to the Gaelic Grounds and ignoring the 2 bus routes. Do people not have Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

Adam English was outstanding today I thought.

the greatest lyric i have ever heard came in an obscure indie rock song from 1991 , "if i hadn't seen such riches i could live with being poor"

its 100% true , cork are so far behind the times in terms of infrastructure its a joke , in 2024 you cant get planning permission for a house with a fire place but you can build a stadium with no parking a two mile walk to the train station and about 3 bottle neck towns on the way home , or one giant bottleneck out in dunkettle ,

i am not a snob , 20 years ago it would be fine but if there are better options now go for them , and on the gaelic grounds , i actually think it would make more sense to play most games between the two counties there rather then 17.000 squashed like sardines in ennis , if i were deirdre murphy i would be looking for park na geal this year too to host our first round game but with the clare county board getting the bulk of the profits as it is our our home game

they tried it using the CIT car park as the starting point for one of our games a few years ago , but like you say it wasnt a mini bus service across the city and back it was the actual once every 30 minute bus run to temple hill road , how the hell would one bus every 20 minutes cover that same crowd on the way back after the game

the amount of people form clare i hear that get caught in the jetland is a joke after munster or clare games , never heard of the cratloe road

and on munster games the amount of people that walk to the ground form the city via the clondell road is crazy , clancys strand must only be for plebs...