Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭ttowncat

If the match started at 4pm it would have been abandoned due to unplayable pitch. And yes, fair play to any lads who got through that slog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Well are ye all watching the Rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Grats

Talks of double bill in Supervalu Park next Saturday.

The KK line was shocking slow in replacing obviously injured players. Conditions were one of the worst I have seen the Offaly v KK Leinster final being the worst. I thought Cian Kenny did an awful lot of work for a sleight man. Congratulations to st. Kieran’s great win but I heard they had 24 wides Rory Glynn and Sean hunt were brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

If they are that's their business 🙄

At least there not accusing players of taking performance enhancing drugs through inhalers.

Jaysus you have some memory, don’t get me started on that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Hard to know what to make of that today and wouldn’t be quick to judge anyone in those atrocious conditions, apart from Johnny Murphy who baffled me at times although to be fair I suppose the conditions made it difficult for him too.

Much improved performance in the second half and never really looked like losing. TJ Reid savage again, he’s actually underrated if anything in my opinion. Hope the injuries are not serious.

Are we not getting a home semifinal may be i heard wrong. Well done St kierans great match conditions in Waterford were terrible for both teams dangerous.

Limerick had 3 home fixtures. Officially Kilkenny also had 3 as we owed Waterford a match in Walsh Park in lieu of they coming to Nowlan Park last year. Apparently!

4.30 in Cork next Saturday according to Will O'Callaghan from Off the ball

Tipp Clare in Portlaoise on Sunday at 4, Thurles and Limerick out of commission at the moment.

Interesting. Would it not make more sense to have Limetick v Kilkenny in Portlaoise.

It's actually on the GAA website now. That horrible trip to Supervalu Park again! At least it's on at a reasonable time.

Yeah taught that too, always going to be 1 Saturday and 1 Sunday for TV as final round of football is on Sunday, taught Ennis would have made sense for Clare Tipp once Tipp didn't object.

Given it's the most ridiculous post I've ever seen on a GAA thread it was hard to forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭mullinr2

Just what Kilkenny need is another beating by Limerick. I can't see anything other than a Limerick win

When you hit the Dunkettle round about another journey starts to get to the far side of the river to the pitch. Croke park would nearly be handier.

Before we played Waterford today we knew what the outcome would be if we won. So, what were we to do - lose the match! Other teams threw in the towel last year in the league and who contested both the League Final and All Ireland Final!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I have good news for you all. Dunkettle is all changed now with a whole new road layout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭kentu

sure we'd figure out nothing about ourselves if we just meet them in Croke Park later on in the year, may aswell have a craic off them now.

I don't think anyone will expects a Kilkenny win but we actually have nothing to lose facing into the game.

We know, we were down there just a few weeks ago and getting away from Supervalu Park was still a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

its a disaster , i was on to the limerick lads about it , the cork lads broke through like radio luxembourg on the same frequency to ask what was wrong with the place , its just the amount of hours you have to waste sitting in cork traffic seems to outweigh another part of the country be it dunkettle or one of there huge towns that have yet to be bypassed

This is what I’m saying all along as soon as the venue is announced that’s it we’re out of there f……g unbelievable bad supporters.

If it was in Nowlan park there would be some other crib.

Clearly a consorted effort to get games in Cork and justify the investment in the stadium, league final last year, the Munster final attempt last year the fact Clare wanted to play the best team in the country in their home ground over Cork spoke volumes. Then you have this game next weekend and that the Munster council have added a non sensical rota for Munster finals, match going supporters seem secondary in the eyes of some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,591 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Thanks for the updates/analysis on the game today lads, much appreciated.

Well, I attend all our matches and I am disgusted that it's on in Cork. We should have asked Limerick to come to Nowlan Park and we'd go there next time. Had their grounds been available I'd gladly toss for venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

Full disclosure on yesterday's game..I only heard it on the radio at work..before attending an u16 soccer match and getting home to watch the rugby..marooned would have me hung drawn and quartered

But..it seems we have found a new wing back or midfielder in Shane Murphy.

It.also seems luke hogan has something to offer.

Other than that I doubt much was learned yesterday in the boggy ground miserable weather

Those conditions do tell you what players appetites for hardship and desire to win are I suppose.

Hopefully the weather will be better for next weekend which should be a much stiffer test and show us where we really are. I suspect kilkenny will travel more in hope than expectation

I thought I heard last week that the group winners had home advantage. If that was the case Limerick picked the Cork venue, and Clare and Tipp should have been in Ennis. Last years league final was an embarrassment out numbered 10 to 1, It will be the same next Saturday

For whatever reasons people won’t go, it has to be demoralising for the players to have little or no support through no fault of there own.