Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Elon Musk hurting Tesla? (Mod Note Post #1)

The fact you care about that is sad. I'm secure enough and couldn't give a shïte what you or anyone else thinks about my choice of car, it's just a car. Anyone that does needs to grow up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,179 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

equally, I wouldn’t be caught near an Audi anymore. It’s disgusting what they done in the past.

“German car giant Audi’s predecessor company used slave laborers from concentration camps during World War II on a massive scale, a new report has found.

An historical investigation commissioned by the company — the last German auto company to do so, preceded by Volkswagen, Daimler and BMW — found that when Audi was operating under the name Auto Union, it struck a deal with the SS, by which more than 3,700 inmates from Nazi concentration camps were put to work for the company.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Woodie40

We are discussing an individual.

The foundation of this state was built on violence. Thankfully we have moved on, as has Germany, unlike the individual we are discussing and his disgusting viewpoints.

The past is the past, one lives in the present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Whether you like Musk or not, it's absolutely true that he has damaged the brand through his methods. His modus operandi is to strip out processes down to the bare bone and then break test everything. This isn't an analytical approach and almost seems childish. This is very apparent in what he's done with Twitter and will eventually crash that company.

The idea is to cut costs to the bone, but it inevitably will crash into the law of unintended consequences; something that's happening with Twitter (EU Commission et al). The shoddy build quality is also evidence of this approach. He's also mercurial. Doing things on a whim might be cute, but really isn't a good thing in a car manufacturer. The Cybertruck is an example of this whimsical approach. That thing looks like it was designed by a child. Maybe it was.

But probably the thing that has the most capacity to damage the company is how Musk finances his lifestyle and his purchase of Twitter and other toys. In order to avoid income tax, he takes his pay in the form of Tesla shares which he then leverages with his bankers to get loans (this isn't unusual btw, billionaires innit) which he then uses to live off. No income, no tax. But at some stage in the long run, the piper will have to be paid. However the more pressing issue is what happens if Twitter goes tits up. Morgan Stanley will want their money back and the only way he can do that is to sell Tesla stock. What then happens to Tesla (and Musk) could be very interesting.

TL;DR: Whimsy is fun, but I won't drive a car subject to its vagaries.

And there are people that will not vote Sinn Fein based on their past.

One cannot forget the past when shaping the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,995 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

To my earlier point, would you buy a Tesla if the company was run by one of the other generic CEOs who end up in charge or large companies?

If yes, then Elon has personally cost the company a sale and this hurt the company

If no, then it could be argued he hasn't caused any real brand damage

Your points are all valid btw, but it's important to frame them in the context of the question

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

Sinn Fein are not the only party with a violent past. Thankfully we have moved on and all parties PRESENTLY are pursuing peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭sk8board

to the favourable, he

I never said I care about you or your car - I care about my own principles and opinion of this ‘individual’ in making a decision about 2x €50k cars.

chill. Your car can beat mine at the lights something something something

I thought my TL;DR made that clear, but to be clear, no to Musk for the reasons stated.

Also I'd challenge the 'generic' adjective unless it just means uncontroversial. Some very clever people in charge of these companies, but more importantly, some very good teams. Something I understand Musk doesn't do very well.

You said you care about other people judging you based on your car choice.

We're going way OT here, but Sinn Fein's 'activities' lie well within my lifetime. Not going to forget that quickly.

Genuinely never said I care about this - I care about my own principles, and about any of my hard-earned euros lining the pocket of someone who I personally believe is the most awful individual. Buying a Tesla benefits Elon Musk in some tiny way.

its a decision about principles, not some sort of vanity debate about the car people drive.

If this was about opinions of other people’s car choices, we’d be debating why literally thousands of Irish car buyers in the past 15months bought a Yaris Cross!

Same for VW’s fraud, diesel gate and Mercs treatment of bus owners throughout Europe.

Most young people know nothing of it. People move on as highlighted on this thread. People cop on. In time musk will be forgotten about or nobody will care about the ceo of a company appliance they are buying.

Agree that people cop on and move on from the atrocities that certain groups or individuals carry out.

The same will be said for Musk in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,995 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

To be fair, I've been wondering why anyone would buy a Yaris Cross and would welcome a debate on that topic 😂

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

I'm sorry but you did and this is what I was replying too.

"a car is just a car to us, we don’t want to spend €100k on 2 cars and be judged for it. We just want a car"

I agree you should not be judged. Nobody should.

People should be able to buy whatever they like without being judged by numpties IMO.

Imagine judging someone because the car they drive. They are boxes that go A-B FFS.

I know what you’re saying - but (1) How many Irish car buyers cared less about diesel gate in their future buying decisions - I’d nearly compare it to EV buyers actually caring about the environment, versus their reduced running costs,

and (2) the only way the association between Tesla and Musk ends is for the Board to remove him, or he goes of his own accord.

for sure it’s not ending any time soon, and being led by such a massively polarising voice has the effect of, um, polarising buyers. Either way, you’re reducing your pool of buyers

Finally someone that gets it. Honestly the most ridiculous childish debate. The inconsistent principles that are applied here are hilarious.

One guy on here said he wouldn't buy a Tesla because of Musk but had no issue using twitter after Musk bought it. 🤦Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,457 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

That's not a principle, that's an opinion.

Don't insult the word principle.

It’s not the attack on Tesla or musk that I care about. It’s the attack on the people that bought the cars.

I personally couldn’t give a crap about the history of the VAG Group but I will constantly post it to counter against the anti Tesla group as the reasons for avoiding them seem to be the same.

Imagine been looked down on from an Audi owner who thinks their car is the pinnacle of premium knowing what they done in the past. It’s laughable.

Same goes for Chinese cars like BYD, owners dismissing their quirks but yet put Tesla down for their quirks.

Madness Ted.

VW sales were not affected at all I don’t think here. Were a very “shure it be grand” crowd. VW have the network, the financial provisions for buyers, they would never loose in fairness. Even with an inferior product. Although the current refresh versions are actually good and you can argue that they’ve learned from their initial launch into the EV market.

Would more people buy a Tesla if musk was done? Maybe. Small % increase though. The majority don’t care I would imagine that’s proven in the sales figures I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Musk is an obnoxious twat and for most people you might as well replace the name on the car with 'muskmobile'. That's the nature of a celebrity CEO.

To compare that to the situation at Mercedes is off the wall stuff

Personal opinion alright. Which you’re entitled to.

Off the wall that people look down on others over a car choice.

And a bit narrow minded.

This is literally from yesterday’s news re the share price’s continued ‘repricing’ - a prediction that sales growth might actually drop to zero this year.

Tesla is/was priced as a high-growth tech stock, and musk is its CEO - remove all his lies, bluff and bluster and it’s really hard to understand how he keeps his job if these numbers bear out (spoiler: he’ll keep his job as long as he wants to stay himself)

Elon musk is at the very least one of the factors in this stagnation in sales growth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,576 ✭✭✭eagerv

Have only owned a Tesla for two years but I can honestly state that nobody, as yet, has criticised my choice of car because of its' boss. Quite the opposite, many have told me that if/when they go electric that Tesla make the best EVs.😉.

Not particular love for Musk, but he has never done me any harm.. Not for this thread, but I would be more worried about the CCP..

Most people? Nobody I know, and it's a mistake to conflate your own opinion with that of most people. Most people I know are mature enough to seperate a car from the CEO.

He is probably a twat though.

People don’t mind CCP now as they bought some of their cars. So they overlook it.

Well said and articulated. The fan boys don’t like being called out though….