Switching electric/gas providers (see first post for links)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,559 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Were you with EI and enticed into accessing your usage data through their app? If you did they changed the meter status to active (MCC12) it was a very sly move by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Buffman

Great to see the Flo BWG getting renewed downwards, nice drop in rates and standing charge.

I still remember some posters were on here giving out last year about how much some people (myself included) were recommending it to people, but I guess time has proved our guesses about the future prices to be arguably more correct than incorrect.

Just to be pedantic, it was actually when it went viral on FB that the poo hit the fan and it was fully pulled for the remainder of last year.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭SocialSpud

I triggered a switch from Energia to Electric Ireland and got a call from Engergia saying they'd give me a 31% discount, back dated to December plus €50 cashback. Day @ 28.81 incl Vat, Night @ 13.82 incl Vat.

Very happy with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭John arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Prefect_1998

Quick Question, If your in Credit with Electric Ireland because of the Credit from our Taxes, does it move if you switch to lets say flowgas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,220 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

you will be issued a refund after your final bill

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭beachhead

I renewed with Bord Gais dual fuel on a 24hr standard meter-MCCO1 Cannot see BwG/Flogas being cheaper if I could get it with BWG standing charges higher.BGE is 8.94c unit and e131.69 standing charge for gas and 27.44c unit and 218.78 standing charge.BWG/Flogas 8.13c and 151.19 gas and 23.44c and 257.?? electricity.BWG deal fixed and BGE variable.Rates must drop again this year but when

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Buffman

Ye, that's where it's important to take your actual/estimated usage into account, taking those electricity figures roughly, based on the €39 difference in standing charges and €0.04 difference in unit rates you'd have to use over 975 units before saving any money on Flo BWG rate. So what maybe a good option for high users is not so good for low users, as well as one being fixed rate and the other variable.

As to when any drops might come, how long is a piece of string. Personally I think the suppliers will now think they've done enough to keep the Gov off their backs for now so it might be a while before we see anything significant, hopefully I'm wrong though.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

That's what I thought,Buffman.I won't use over 975 units or I hope not.Even easier to dismiss the gas costs.I'll stick with the variable rate on BGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,477 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Sneaky bastards. Out of interest, if one could have any meter at this point, what would be the most popular option do you think ?

A lot of people don't realise they are changing to a smart with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,477 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Surely in the case of Denis160 earlier, if simply utilizing the app triggers 'Smart' activation, and this was not what the customer wanted or indeed was prompted would be the case, they have serious grounds for recourse should they choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭denis160

Didn’t check but will do, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭John arse

Ah didn't read your post properly you were out of contract since December I take it?

I am with EI & my contract is up with them, hence the move and yea what you say is possible, and if that’s what happened I wouldn’t have been aware of it activating anything. Anyway if reverting it 🤔?

I got a generic email

‘Thank you for your application to switch your energy supply to Flogas.

Your welcome letter with your account details will be issued via email in the next 14 days. There is no need to contact us during this time, we will be in touch should we require any additional information.’

Today I got the email to say I couldn’t avail of it as I only had the option of smart meter tariffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Yep was EI who switched me to mcc12. Was mcc01 my first year with energia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭Gooser14

Why are they allowed to switch you to MCC12 without you requesting or authorising it? That has to be wrong given it can't be reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,232 ✭✭✭✭L1011

You get "asked" if you want to get interval data from them and get activated if you say yes. I'd seriously question if it meets the standard of informed consent

ESBN will provide that data to you without activation, I've two MCC01 smart meters and get the data

Haven't a clue. I was 24hr rate always so didn't take notice.

Feck it anyway, interesting that when I was in to EI they offered me a fixed 24hr rate and not the smart 3 different level rate, how can they do that & not other providers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fedorafennec

Any provider could give a smart plan that the the same unit price all the time just like a 24 hour plan. Others just choose not to offer one. EI were particularly sneaky about switching people to their "24 hour" smart plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Shanegggg

Yeah, how can fixed rate plan with "energy insights" equal a smart plan. I applied and got rejected as Electric Ireland changed my meter to MCC12 once I signed up to their plan over 2-3 years ago. Had I known at the time I would have never selected that plan! I put in a complaint as it must violate our consumer rights and access to the free market when we are now restricted to smart only plans, I wonder what the CRU ombudsman has to say on the matter.

Not expecting much though, guess I'm stuck on a "smart plan" going forward :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 jcarv

Greetings frugals,

I managed to renew my BWG that I signed up last May this week to the new BWG rate. I currently have a Smart meter installed and gas as well.

I didn’t have an option for the smart meter in the website to renew, it only gave me the option to call them.

I then went to the dual fuel offer, which is a non smart meter rate. They emailed me saying I could not switch because I had the MCC12.

I simply took a screenshot of the smart rate and asked if they could sign me up for that one. They confirmed on the same day. And it is now on a 12 month contract until the 31st of March 2025. Happy days!

IMG_3846.jpeg