Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Should have been taking 3 there in front of posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

4 entries into their red zone, but 0 points. Not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Frustrating half, we spurned a boatload of chances to seal the BP. Hopefully we don't regret it, playing into a nasty wind in the second half. Scarlets were asleep at the start but to be fair to them have grown into it, our profligacy will have given them confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Absolutely not. Scarlets is less than poor. Wouldn't even figure in the AIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Be that is it may, need Connacht to be focused. Some great play but need to make chances count

The most disappointing thing for me is how unstructured our attack has looked at times despite running at a poor Scarlets defense. It's a great evening for running rugby and we should be looking like we can play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭testtech05

That may be but we have plenty of our own issues too.... Should have been out of sight by half time

Jaysus the ref has just robbed the Scarlets of a try there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,371 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Connacht have been crap since scoring their third try.

I don't think they're in danger of losing as Scarlets are worse. But this has been another poor performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭testtech05

Lucky enough call there I think but we won't complain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Looks like a few injuries towards the end. Hopefully nothing serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

Fairly ok performance. Really should have been out of sight by half time. Our attack could benefit from a bit more fixing of guys shoulders, comparing it to the Irish attack (which is a different level but my point of reference) we seem to throw the next pass a fraction too early at times.

Jack aungier has really come on. Great to see

About as bad as a BP win can get imo, pretty insipid stuff. Scarlets took ten minutes to start playing, which gave us a two score lead, once they showed up we struggled. The usual suspects like Forde and Prendergast were good, Jansen has a bit about him, and Hawkshaw at 13 had his moments. Smith had a pretty bad game but I like the cut of his jib, worth persisting with. Thornbury had no impact unfortunately, tough ask for him to come in cold after all the injuries he's had.

Tiernan looked like he was holding an injured wrist as he came off.

Dowling's ankle couldn't take any weight with heavy strapping.

two horrible performances on the trot.

I really hope that in his post match interview Wilkins shows some respect to the fans who watched that and calls out that performance as not good enough.

Extremely frustrating performance. Even when we scraped the bonus point try in a phase that summed up our performance we fell away then again in the last 20 minutes.

It's been a good weekend of results for us elsewhere but we are seriously stuttering at this stage and the last two games wouldn't fill you with confidence that we'll end up Top 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭TRC10

If Cathal Forde was half the player he was and played for Leinster, there would be no end to the media hype

Utter muck. don't know what Wilkins is teaching but that was awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

even our victories involve eating fingernails and calls to cardiology units. Not a good performance, but we endure. Reality is that we will need to find another gear to get the points required for qualification against Treviso, Stormers, and Munster - we're fighting them for our place. Lions will be a challenge as well. Fortunately we'll have Bundee and Mack back for some of those fixtures. Bundee owes us a couple of barnstormers - we see him to do it with great consistency for Ireland of late. Himself and Mack have the magic to get us over the line.

As for today, we made hard work of it. Liked Forde and especially Hawkshaw, Ralston as well. Still not convinced that JJ is maximising the back line.

Wilkins couldn't provide a baby on how to change a nappy. And note it is the parent who is supposed to do that. Wilkins needs to go

Watching that was hard work today. Some elements of our game worked reasonably well but we coughed up possession so cheaply at times. The crowd were definitely in the mood for a good game but all the life was sucked out of the stadium by the errors and resulting breaks in play. It was a good day for running rugby for the first 60 minutes and we still struggled.

I remain unconvinced by our attack. When it works we seem to be trying to run some kind of very fluid two phase attack with minimal distance between the lines of attack but the player running the holding inside line isn't fixing the defense often enough. You end up with lots of neat lateral loops and a wing running into space for the cover defense. Forde and Hawkshaw did well to break the line a number of days today but that's against a Scarlets team minus two out haves, two scrum halves, and a fullback. A more agressive connected defense would have shut most of those breaks down.

I worry that when we slot Bundee back in we won't get the best out of him as a result. That's what we saw earlier in the season.

Mack will be a huge additon. He has the ability to carve some mayhem out of any defense.

We'll need to be a lot better against the Lions in three weeks time. They're a better team than the Scarlets and haven't had the disruption of the 6N.

Tom and Tom are in fact the answers. David and Cathal are muck together. And Hawkshaw is by nature a utility player. He is certainly not a starting player.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭kita99

No one said about Connacht's atacking maul. Have they been taking to train for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Dillane to Munster rumours seem to have died down and with Molony linked to Bath, wonder what will happen with Roux? Could one of the two lads be coming back to replace Thornbury? Josh Murphy is coming back but with Butler and Boyle rumoured to be leaving, he will be needed at 6.

Would be an awful shame to see Boyle go. And Butler. And Farrell. And Daly. But then again what reason have they got to stay. This Connacht team is a stagnant mess with scrum halves and out halves that would struggle at AIL level. Why would you want to stick with a team that is clearly going nowhere, under a management team that is totally clueless, and selection processes that are a mystery to all.

I have watched Connacht go thru many a losing streak but these wins fill me with total dread on what is to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Lots of optimism here haha

Personally don’t think any of the lads rumoured to be leaving apart from Farrell will be huge loses when you take into account their wages and contributes recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭connachta

+ with Jansen, Gavin, SOB X.0, Devine, we need to give these guys gametime, for the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭b.gud

2 year extension for Forde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,663 ✭✭✭✭cson

What a bizarre take.

I don't see how you can call this Connacht team a stagnant mess if you've been following the team long enough to remember regularly finishing bottom of the Celtic League and almost defacto last regularly in the Pro 12 only finishing ahead of the Italian teams.

• Last 3 seasons: 20/21 = 3rd overall, 21/22 = 11th overall, 22/23 = 7th overall, won QF. We're likely going to qualify for the playoffs again & I wouldn't be surprised if we made a semi in the Challenge Cup given its Lions/Bennetton if we nick it against Pau.
    • New stadium on the way while at the same time getting great crowds - there were over 6k at the game this weekend, I'd say Elwood would have fallen off his chair if you'd told him we'd be getting crowds like that back in 08/09.
    • We have 2 of the first names on the Irish team sheet in Bundee Aki & Mack Hansen with Prendergast not going to be too far behind them if I was a betting man. A far cry from when we were lucky to have Gavin Duffy in the extended squad.
    • The brand of rugby we play is night & day from the earlier years and is great to watch as a fan. You can see the foundations that Pat Lam laid a decade ago in the EDB try from the week, fantastic offloading rugby.

Now that's not to say there's been missteps, off the top of my head the main ones would be:

• We got the post Pat Lam appointment wrong, Kieran Keane set us back a few years, we probably stuck with Friendy a year too long but he was a great coach for youth development, look at how many came through in his time as well as the masterstroke of bringing Mack over. Jury is still on on Wilkins, but you can't judge him on 1 year.
    • Jack's contract was a mistake, we knew what we had with him at that point & you just can't have the kicking percentages he has at this level of the game regardless of what he does in open play. OH has been a problem position for us and that's not going to change until Jack's contract runs out. JJ has been decent and a good option to have.
    • I can see the rationale behind moving on from Marmion, Bladey was on the bubble of the Irish squad and playing the best rugby of his career. He's hasn't hit those heights & his decision making just hasn't matured to the level of an elite player.

Overall I don't know how you couldn't think that were going in an overwhelmingly positive direction, and important to point out that its on a fraction of the budget that the other 3 have.