Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PK@rte.ie (again). The All New (Patrick Kielty) Late Late Show Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,589 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You fill in a form and then a member of the team will contact you. I know this.

So for the Late Late Show to have 'RA supporters' in the audience they would have to go through the applications and find the forms with 'I'm a 'RA supporter' 'Gerry Adams is my hero' on them and then one of the team would have contacted them (it says it there on the website) and invited them on. For one guest. 😁😁😁

rte.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭Francis McM

You are wrong yet again. You do not have to be as obvious as saying ""I'm a 'RA supporter" or "Gerry Adams is my hero". Each applicant can apply for 4 guests. On the application form you give your name, occupation, social media user name / profile ( FrancieBrady on boards would suit you, given you have 50,000 or 60,000 posts for sf ), they ask you to tell them about yourself, after that they ask you your passion / hobbies, after that they ask you your dream late late show guests, after that they ask you who is your Irish hero. You do not have to say Gerry Adams is your hero - after looking at your social media profiles, your passions / hobbies, your dream late late show guests etc, I'd say they would have a fairly good idea who your heroes are.

No surprise the audience were whooping on cue. Every time, as someone else said.

Gay Byrne would have been far more balanced. He would have have a more balanced selection of guests on who commented on N.I. politics, from McLean to McAleese to O'Neill to Rea etc - if he had to have Northerners on to comment on N. I . politics. And he would have interviewed them properly.

Wow, RTE staff are doing a real deep dig on applicants to fill an audience with 'RA supporters' for one guest??? Just Wow!

Gay Byrne was good, but he is dead and gone sadly. Was as opinionated and biased on certain subjects as anyone TBH

Well known to have 'views' planted in the audience and on the panels of his shows to ambush guests. Ask Annie Murphy or Gerry Adams about that. Both of those guests schooled him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Over the years the LLS threads on Boards have always been good value for the odd laugh but this is hilarious.

I've a picture in my head of an RTE employee sifting through LLS audience applications and depositing each one in turn into 1 of 2 outboxes entitled "Ra" and "non-Ra" 😂

Actually given the amount of work involved "looking at your social media profiles, your passions / hobbies, your dream late late show guests etc" and given that these applications have to be sorted in a matter of a couple of hours (when did people even know that Michelle O'Neill and Chief Commander Rea were going to be on?) it must be a team of 20 doing the sorting!!! 😁

The RTE staff on the Late Republican show do not have to do a "deep dig" on those who fill in the application forms / the family and friends of guests. Would be a fairly easy dig. Especially considering virtually all of the people who he has had on his show commenting about N.I.Ireland politics have been Republicans, from McLean to McAleese to O'Neill to Rea etc 

True, one of the most bizarre allegations about RTE I have ever heard and my goodness have there been some allegations.

I'll leave Francis to it. Don't want to bog down another thread with her paranoia's.

If Kielty wanted to be even handed, he should have had the other joint minister on, Emma L.P. That is what Gay Bryne would have done.

You do not think there were Republicans whooping and clapping on cue on the Late Late last Friday night? Then listen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Eibhir

No Gay Byrne wouldn't. When he interviewed Gerry Adams in 1994 he didn't have a Unionist with him.

Your posts are getting really silly now.

When Ian Paisley appeared on the Late Late show in 2009 I don't think there was a Shinner present to balance things up.

Even his great friend Martin McGuinness didn't appear with him.

I seem to remember another occasion when he appeared on an RTE chat show and was given a very very easy time of it by the host who just happened to be ... his own daughter!!

Yes.

Rhonda on Saturday Live 1987. There wasn't one Republican in the audience 😂

You are right, when he interviewed Gerry Adams in 1994 he didn't have a Unionist with him, but neither did he give him an easy ride and neither where the hand-picked audience literally whooping and clapping on cue. In those days you did not have to give your social media profile, your list of Irish heroes etc on your application for a late late show ticket.

Even though Byrne sometimes had debates where most of the panel were nationalists, whenever he had a debate on N.I., at least he sometimes - not often, but the odd time - had on his show politicians from the other community in N.I.

Listening to the likes of McLean, McAleese, Michelle O'Neill, Stephen Rea etc talking or commenting on Northern politics gets tedious after a while - you know what they are going to say, especially when they are always unchallenged.

Well done Gay Byrne, fair play. No wonder he had a higher number of viewers.

Post edited by Francis McM on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Just been looking through the application form. At no point does it ask if you are in the ra!

Kielty asked to be Grand Marshall of St. Patrick's Day parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Congratulations to PK.

That's one to tell the grandchildren about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,485 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Curious as to whether any of the previous LLS hosts were Patricks Day Marshals ... I couldn't find a list.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,394 ✭✭✭corkie

Link not Dublin.

Jason Byrne and

Brendan O Carroll

have been in past.

Post edited by corkie on

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Next best thing...it asks on the application form for your name, occupation, social media user name / profile ( FrancieBrady), tell ask you to tell them about yourself, after that they ask you your passion / hobbies, after that they ask you your dream late late show guests, after that they ask you who is your Irish hero etc etc.

Have to fit in to the audience on the Late Republican Shows guests like McLean, McAleese, Michelle O'Neill, Rea etc.

Tonight Kneecap will be on, from west Belfast. (as if there were not enough Northern republicans on commenting on political matters up north already)

Before the end of the season prepare your hands to give a loud Late show welcome and whoops to Mary Lou McDonald, the Wolfe Tones etc.

Are Kneecap on tonight? That's brilliant, really want to see their award winning documentary and hear what they have to say. Fair play Kielty and producers.

Kneecap?

This thread's gonna be great craic tonight. Was gonna head out for a few pints but might stay in for the entertainment here!! 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,222 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Quick, FrancieBrady’s distracted over on the ‘Callan’s Kicks’ thread 😀

Kitteh, puppeh etc.

Untitled Image Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭TokTik

Kneecap, balaclava Jedward. No thanks. Slating the Brits, then crying when their begging bowl wasn’t filled by them.

'Puff Paddy'

(checks calendar to make sure it's not 1997)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,740 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Hi all - hope all are well

his intro is gone muck

Knuckles McGinty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,740 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

His son was just on a week or so ago

he seems like he has had a pint ?

or is he always like that ?

Was that banshee of whatever the most overrated yolk ever ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Pat Kenny was a Hot Air Marshall. Lifetime honorary too.

Banshees was a load of bull IMO. All this crap about depth and pushing boundaries.