Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hamas strike on Israel - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Toeuptony

No, they are not part of that mindset. This is why I qualified my comment with the term "the general Israeli mindset", which implies that it is the majority of Israelis, but not all, who share that opinion.

I loudly applaud those Israelis, and Jewish people around the world, who are vocal and demonstrating against the current military action. They are obviously not brainwashed into the Zionism mind virus that is responsible for the current atrocities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Well in the middle of the 17th century, 20-40% of the population was lost in about a decade due to Cromwell and diseases and famines resulting from that. Perhaps we should have given up then and accepted our status as lesser beings forevermore?

The discrepancy between the figures 20-40% coming from estimates due to the lack of proper records.

To Hell or Connacht Barbados Egypt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Ok, that’s fine. Personally I wouldn’t be a big “lessons from history” man. I think the last 20 years of history is all that really matters and that’s within a given situation: not comparing Ireland in the 17th century to Israel in the 21st. That would be just a personal thing.

We’ll find out anyway where more decades of Palestinian resistance will get them I’m sure. I don’t know how you see it but I see many many more years of war there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭gossamerfabric

Tune in next week when we hear how one Israeli citizen living in the US is in fear of their life after claiming to have received a whopping 20 robo-caller scam attempts in the last month in an obviously antisemitic campaign of harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,906 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

One would have to hope that the international community will look back at its failure to stop the current genocide and do more to prevent another one in the future. Eventually, you would have to hope, things will change (if any Palestinian is left living)

"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭dmcdona

El Al stressed that:

"the disturbances are not aimed at El Al planes and that this is not a security incident. The disruption did not affect the normal course of the flight thanks to the professionalism of the pilots who used alternative means of communication and allowed the flight to continue on the planned route."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,906 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

A mere 24 hours ago we had lads telling us that the Palestinians should leave Rafah and head to safer places like Mawasi where they would be safe

Well guess what's happening in Mawasi

It's genocide!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I've observed them all, for certain reasons, not a participant.

Well, no sorry, I did miss one

Oh I've observed them. And please don't make up things I didn't say.

The point i am making is that Israelis, both Government and Citizens do not feel safe at all in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,556 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

You did say it. For anyone who doesn't remember this particularly bizarre attempt at normalising IDF abuses of Palestinians, the discussion was in the context of photos that were posted of the IDF forcing a large group of Palestinian men to kneel on the ground stripped down to their underwear.

Screenshot.jpg

Nope. I said It's quite normal for police forces to put people on the ground, other posters disagreed, included one who's cousin is in the ERU, he claimed, and his cousin said Irish police would never do it because amnesty would be all over them.

I then posted a video, an ERU training video, that showed people cable-tied, face down on the ground.

because that's what police forces do.

I also posted about when clothes could be taken from prisoners at a crime scene.

So, quite normal behaviour for police when dealing with criminals and potential armed prisoners. I

So please don't lie about my posts again

Fair enough. I've only seen what's on the BBC/RTE and only probably only a few seconds worth.

What protesters protest about is entirely up to them. I wouldn't judge them on the basis of placards they are carrying, or not carrying, what scarfs they are wearing or not wearing. Its entirely up to them. If they want to carry "Hamas out!" cards, I'd be supportive of that myself. But I wouldn't judge them on what they weren't carrying.

Bear in mind, the news regarding Israel that people are reading/seeing/hearing in the few minutes they have each day is wall to wall about the deaths of Palestinian civilians. That is what they are protesting - protect the innocent. They probably know nothing more about the conflict.

It does not mean they are Hamas supporters though. And they see that there is only one attacking force - the ones with tanks, F16s, soldiers etc is Israel - that's why they call for an Israeli ceasefire. They don't see Hamas fighters running around, in tanks, flying jets and bombing Jerusalem and Tel Aviv.

Die hard pro-Israeli, Pro Palestinian, anti violence/genocide people will be better informed regarding the nuances of this campaign that only get a few seconds airing on the main news - and the understand that Hamas is a terrorist organisation and what they did Oct 7th was abhorrent and utterly condemnable. And Israel is perfectly entitled to go after them.

How Israel goes about that is where the disagreements and polarisation starts.

You literally tried to normalise public humiliation of a group of Palestinians by saying the Gardaí do this all the time with terrorist prisoners and then started all these mental gymnastics when multiple people called you out over it. Continue on digging though, I couldn't care less.

I doubt very much this incident was anything more than an observable event - the reason it makes Israelis nervous is because that suits them. When there are videos of the Israelis lining up the deck chairs, firing up the barbecue and getting the music on so they can see the slaughter in Gaza, they are most certainly not afraid.

I'd bet the Palestinians in Gaza and the West Bank feel far less safe.

Seems Israel's got the hump with Ireland. No mention of all the other EU states (except Hungary) calling for ceasefire.

Relations Between Ireland & Israel Hit Unprecedented Low | Daniel O'Dowd | The Blogs (timesofisrael.com)

So, only the US voting against. All others, bar the UK, voted for - UK abstained.

Consensus is getting closer.

As reported here by other posters, but worth highlighting that IDF have been instructed not to film revenge videos.

Note - the instruction was not "do not carry out revenge killing", just make sure you don't film it.

So crack on lads - keep sniping women, surrendering civilians (in the back), take out as many sheep as you can and double points if any of the kids are less than 12 months old.

Utterly depraved and the stain on Israel darkens further.

IDF Chief of Staff Herzl Halevi called on army officers to uphold certain values while fighting in Gaza. "We must be careful not to use force where it is not required, to distinguish between terrorist and non-terrorist, not to take anything that is not ours – a souvenir or military item – and not to film revenge videos," he wrote to senior officers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,451 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Your self-righteousness is adding absolutely nothing to the discussion. A nation under stress doesn't have the capacity to worry about what someone like you might think when facing existential threats on a daily basis but you will happily seize upon it as an opportunity to demonize them.

If this was the other way round and Palestinians set Israeli cars on fire, they'd be dead.

Settlers just get "investigated" - and we all know what that means. A great big nothing burger.

Haaretz:

A security source told Haaretz that Israel is investigating whether settlers who entered the village of Burka near Ramallah overnight into Tuesday set Palestinians' cars on fire. This comes after an Israeli was lightly wounded earlier on Monday evening when an explosive device was thrown at a vehicle near the village, the IDF said.

whataboutism

Nope. I explained what police forces do when dealing with potential terrorist/armed groups. Those are the facts.

I couldn't care less what you think either, because you clearly have no idea about what police forces do.

I've said it before about South Africa.

Reports today are that most children in Gaza are either sick or starving or both. The numbers of deaths will start to rise even if Israel stops its genocide. The die is cast.

South Africa can at least say " we tried". Many other countries are at least starting to wake up and realise this just has to stop or we are all devoid of humanity for simply letting it continue.

South Africa got the ball rolling. Others to their shame are very late to the party. Ireland at least made noises near enough to the start of this campaign - and made it crystal clear that they support Israel in self-defence and utterly condemned Hamas.

Sure that's a nonsense excuse to allow any police or security to act with impunity. Anyone can claim that any other unidentified person is a "potential terrorist".

If you are stopped on your way home from work tomorrow, two guards drag you out of the car, pepper spray you and beat you unconscious with their batons then don't come back whinging to us. You could have been a potential terrorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Israel are not facing an existential threat from Hamas. They haven't since Oct 7. On Oct 8 the Israeli border was secured.

More Israeli's civilians have died by the hands of the IDF since Oct 7 than by Hamas.

More Israeli civilians have been killed by Hezbollah since Oct 7 compared to Hamas.

The existential threat being trotted out is just a lame excuse for what's looking more and more like a genocide as each day passes.

Existential threat? Please do elucidate.

And I certainly do not need to demonise Israel - they're doing a grand job of that on their own.

Barbecues and raves set up so they can watch live, in real-time, the slaughter of innocents. I don't need to demonize that. Res ipsa loquitor.