Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,916 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You tell me. I'm just pointing out your scenario assumed she knew. She doesn't have to. Of course it is a risk, but any course of action from that point on is a risk isn't it? There's no risk free course of action. You tell the other person - they might give the game away. You don't tell - they might twig it. You put the evidence in the rubbish bag. You stash it somewhere else that may be discovered.

Probably it didn't happen, but you don't know it didn't happen.

The point being made with Alfie is how easy is it is to paint someone as a suspect, if you view all behaviour through the prism of suspicion by assuming they are the murderer.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭dmc17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

You're probably wasting your time. Oddessy has a record of portraying Bailey as a wronged saint. He even denied Bailey was a known violent hothead at one stage, despite Bailey admitting to beating up his partner on a number of occassions! Then argued for a couple of days that a hitman hired by her husband was possibly responsible, jammed gun and everything! Then said he didn't think it was Daniel who was responsible. Then moved on to questioning whether the neighbours might be involved. Something about going to the dump at the time. He'll point to everything and anything except the most obvious. So to answer your question objectivity is not his strong point!

Regards Bailey, if you go back over everything, there is far more to indicate his guilt than any other suspect..in fact the more you read about him the worse it gets!

As for Marie Farrell she is a proven fantacist...her statements are so unreliable that no serious person would believe her or even rely on her, except the incompetent gardai and one or two others.

Exactly.

The suggestion Daniel not coming to Ireland to view the body indicates guilt is one of the most pathetic. Daniel is on record as saying he was so appalled and shocked by the murder he couldn't bring himself to see her dead, and preferred to remember her alive. A perfectly understandable reaction given how she was murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Sounds like the story line to Hot Fuzz, a town council got together to carry out the murder. Everyone within a 10 mile radius is involved we just can't prove it yet. Maybe the rock was a meteorite and fell from the sky and she was just outside and closing the gate late at night. I still go with the guy who said a number of times he did it.

Absolutely no-one thinks he's a suspect including yourself. And no its not that easy to paint someone as a suspect.

I would say some of the most interesting pieces of self incrimination came from what Bailey said to Bill Fuller less than 2 months after the murder when Bailey first became a suspect.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30927348.html

Once more Bailey plays the sarcasm/black humour card but most people have seen through it. Bailey spelled out what Bill allegedly did to Sophie but using facts that only the murderer could have known and were not made public until I believe 2011 when forensics and post mortem evidence was released. No one saw the back of Sophies head and there was evidence she was chased down the lane due to blood on a stone half way down.

Fuller also could have not known this information so his testimoney is plausible. Interesting that Bailey said he first approached Thomas in a similar manner but she let him in.

Fuller also said Bailey and Jules had dinner with Sophie twice. We only have Baileys word for this, but Fuller was only relaying what he was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

And this is also why I think that there is a lot of evidence pointing towards that it was a Guard,

What evidence?

Come on, lay out the evidence pointing towards a Guard.

Regards Baileys "black humour", giving him the benefit of the doubt he was not a stupid man. He was for example a reasonably successful journalist in the UK at one time and also earned a law degree in Ireland.

So to go around repeatedly saying "I did it" was either monumentally stupid, since not everyone would see the funny side of this black humour after a horrific and tragic murder or else he was brazingly taunting people and felt he couldn't be touched regardless of what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Coercing a witness, giving drugs to transients to get close to Bailey, the Bandon Garda station tapes, all things which can't be denied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

You're saying all that points to that a member of AGS ?

The only person saying that witnesses were coerced is Marie Farrell.

Are we supposed to believe what she says now?

The only person with the Martin Graham story is Martin Graham, and for some reason his recording device failed the one day he was supposed to catch the Gardai in a "gotcha".

Even The Sunday World were not willing to run his story without more proof.

The block in the bag is, as they say in the West Cork podcast "what looks like hash", no one ever said it was hash.

And the Bandon tapes were not the treasure trove many hoped for, what they mainly reveal is Garda frustration with not being able to get more on Bailey, and Farrell's unwillingness to name who was in the car with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Why do the "Bailey is guilty" posters keep making up lies about posters who have a different opinion to them? Noone has "a record of portraying Bailey as a wronged saint" or even close. If you can't construct an argument without making up stuff, perhaps it's time to reconsider your stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Bill Fuller 🤣

This is the same Bill Fuller who was so paranoid about Bailey that he ran away screaming when he mistook a local farmer for Bailey? Solid witness there bud! And the tale about Sophie being over for dinner with Bailey and Jules - well, that's a new one for me! And like much of the most incriminating testimony at the French trial, conveniently "remembered" years later - and didn't Fuller get himself a free trip to France for his bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Yes it’s indicative of the kind of binary thinking you often see in relation to this case.

By pointing out the weak case against Bailey that automatically means you’re a “Bailey fanboy” or some kind of apologist for domestic abuse.

The same people seem to employ the same logic as the guards. “Well Baileys the only suspect we have so it must have been him.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Did you actually read the whole article you linked?

there was evidence she was chased down the lane due to blood on a stone half way down."

You're just making stuff up again . There was no blood found half way down the lane.

I’d love to have heard the conversation in the car, how it commenced, how it ended or segued away from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

A drop of her blood was found on a stone in the field 6ft in from the pumphouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Yes

The DPP surmised that Bailey didn't commit a frenzied attack based on lack of his DNA

If it's the Malachi Reid story you're referring to, like a lot of the reports just cherry picking bits to suit.

“I went up there and bashed her brains out.”

I don't know how the conversation commenced but Bailey's reply to a question from Malachi was something like;

'I was all right until they said "I went up there and bashed her head in" '. Obviously that part never made it's way into the statement his mother made at the French trial.

Malachi Accepted the lift from Bailey in spite if the fact bailey was at that stage suspected of murdering Sophie, and continued to do so after this "confession"

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

That's 4 witnesses now saying Bailey met or knew Sophie I believe

Bolger Alfie 90% french guy and fuller

Is there more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

How come you don't know how the conversation commenced but you know what Bailey's reply was?

Would it be more accurate to state you don't know anything about the conversation at all because you weren't there, but you prefer to believe Baileys version?

And you talk about cherry picking in the same post. LOL.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Probably posted in the last week I imagine as it’s a Feb 5th article :

“It is believed Bailey did admit to some of Sheridan’s producers that he did know Sophie and that they met during a literacy festival in Cape Clear but he then later denied that he had ever said it.”

This statement does concern me - I’d imagine the producer is telling the truth here.

I know the Gardai are going through many hours of amateur video footage of that festival in the mid 90s to see if there is footage of Bailey and Sophie together.

If there is, then sorry from my perspective it’s game over - I think for a lot of people an awful lot of faith in Baileys innocence, legal or otherwise, rests with him never meeting Sophie or at the very least, forgetting he had been introduced once- if it can be proven that he did indeed meet her at this festival , it will blow whatever credibility he has, apart.

DNA at the scene might be wishful thinking at this point but if they’re videoed together and talking to one another, it will likely be case closed. .

https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/hundreds-hours-secret-recordings-ian-28574596

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Yes, something like that would significantly alter the landscape of the case. Its new evidence which would then raise the validty of the existing circumstantial stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,862 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

No. The DPP determined there wasn't evidence to support the prosecution's assertion that Ian Bailey committed a frenzied attack. There's a subtle but important difference.

No idea what you're saying

It was a frenzied attack imo carried out by someone

There's also this confession he made to the editor of The Sunday Tribune during a serious conversation....

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/ian-bailey-told-newspaper-editor-5144646

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

No. Of all the alleged "confessions" this particular example is the most obvious clumsy attempt at sarcasm/black humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Bailey isn't guilty, he never was.

Only a jury can find him guilty and that never happened.

You're innocent until proven guilty. That's in the UK as well as in Ireland.

There is just speculation that he may have done it, but there is lot's of other speculation as well.